X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Inkosana Lodge Reviews

R 600, Champagne Valley, Drakensberg, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
57 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

My husband and I reserved the hut with the ensuite bathroom and we absolutely loved the quaint room that we had. It's basic and bare bones, but it made us get out of the hut and go sit and enjoy the views (stunning!) and the fresh air as well as to meet other travelers. Highly recommend if you need a place to lay your head that's quiet, safe and beautiful!

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Inkosana is a great place to stay, with stunning views and a warm friendly homelike atmosphere. Ed was most helpful with hiking advice and the staff were friendly . We thoroughly enjoyed our stay . Thank you

  • 14th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

A very great hostel in the heart of the astonishing Drakensberg. I can only recommend to stay at this very nice hostel.


94%

Excellent stay, made very welcome, helpful with hike tracks. Lovely homely feel, huge dinners and breakfasts. Will be coming back for sure!


100%

Excellent location and atmosphere


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

There are a few hostels in every country that are completely spot on... And Inkosana is one of them! The owner Ed is absolutely amazing... Anything from what trail to hike to cooking a fabulous dinner.. Ed is so accommodating and helpful. Everything in the lodge is thoughtful and pays attention to detail, as everything is in the perfect spot! Thank you Ed for an amazing time, and I look forward to my next visit to Inkosana!!


91%

We stayed at the Inkosana Lodge March 27 and 28, 2015 and found it to be a most excellent hostel. In addition to beautiful surroundings, a thatched rondavel room and superb vegetarian meals, Inkosana provided the right atmosphere to connect with other travellers and share information. The staff was helpful and provided good advice for hiking trails as well as exploring the area.

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

A little paradise.. The owner and his creative and cultivated way of leading the place makes you feel good all of your stay.

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Very clean, very neat, friendly and professional. Thank you !!


97%

Great facilities in a stunning location. The Champagne Valley is a resort-type destination, and Inkosana's the best budget option. The lodge is clearly the owner's baby--he's always around and eager to offer advice to visitors and hikers. He can be a bit pushy with his opinions about the best hikes though, so take his advice with a grain of salt. For ex, he told us not to bother with a short walk to some falls @ Monks Cowl, but we loved them. Beautiful place, nice atmosphere, high recommend


97%

The host Edmund, was a treat with his colourful stories as well as his guidance on which hiking trails to visit. Wish we had more time to stay and visit.

  • 12th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

The lodge is good as a start point for hikers in champagne valley. Breakfast is optional and for my opinion a little rip off for what you get (maze and some bad juice, but no eggs). Ed, the owner is extremely helpful and have a lot of mountaineering knowledge. It's a good place, but don't expect luxury- it's a mountain lodge.


100%

I couldn't even imagine this place to be any better. It's superb in every way imaginable. The host prepares supper every night, and he's a wonderful cook. Definitely worth staying in for the meal.


91%

We have a nice stay, beautiful place

  • 23rd Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

The hostel is nice, but you NEED to have a car to get around. The dinner is delicious!!!


94%

Very friendly host!

  • 30th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

very nice double room, friendly and helpful staff, drakensberg mountains just arround the corner. recommended!


97%

Amazing hostel! Beautiful location and facilities


94%

good food, well equipped kitchen, splendid view, especially when in the pool, Ed can tell you all you want to know about hiking, food, etc....


80%

We booked 2 beds in a dorm for 4 nights. We got the whole room just for us two (manager placed new people in other free rooms). Big plus for that! There are no lockers in the room. Rooms are nice, spacious and clean. Big advantage: there was an electric heater! It was freezing cold at night (August). There's also nice lounge with magazines, fireplace, etc. The lodge is situated close to Monk's Cowl entrance (15 min by car). Staff is very helpful but not very knowledgeable on hiking trails.


« first « Prev 1 2
(36 results)


View all Drakensberg Hostels

Please give us your feedback