X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

International Travelers House Adventure Hostel Reviews

1658 Front Street, San Diego, CA, San Diego, California, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
213 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

We had an amazing stay here. All the staff were so helpful and friendly and the free food and activities are great! The rooms are clean and warm, just great. I would definitely return to this hostel on my next trip to SD!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, the food, and the activities so much. Thanks for the kind words, and please do come visit us again on your next trip to SD. Safe travels!!

100%

Well, if you are fortunate enough to find yourself staying at this establishment you will no doubt understand why it goes without saying that this joint is probably the best hostel in San Diego. I've done some serious traveling in my day and have never come across a more caring and friendly staff such as what they've got going here. How anyone could have a bad time staying here is beyond me. Hosteling at its finest; looking forward to stopping in again soon. Cheers y'all!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your kind words! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and our staff so much. We look forward to the next time you stop in again as well!

83%

Free breakfast and sometimes free Barbeque

Owner Comment (Hide)
We run our barbeque on a Sunday night, but do provide free dinners on the other nights, we hope you were able to experience them.

83%

Clean place. Friendly staff. I would stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We would be glad to have you stay again when you're next in SD. We are always trying to work on things, and work hard to keep the place spotless and work with our staff to make sure everyone gets the most from their stay! Thanks for your comments.

83%

Only needed a place to sleep for a few hours before catching a flight at 6 in the morning. Was perfectly reasonably for this purpose, the guests were quite and the vibe around the place quite chilled. The 10 block walk (15-20) to downtown was a bit on the longer side but I think this was reasonable considering the price (and probably doable without complaining when you've not been on your feet all day like I had been at the time).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear that you had been on your feet all day, we all know how tiring that can be. There are also some great bars and places to eat around us in Little Italy that we could show you next time. Thanks for your feedback, and we're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to rest before your early flight.

97%

Free dinner every night was amazing. Lovely atmosphere. Would loved to have stayed longer :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We wish you could have stayed longer as well! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and the free food so much.

89%

I enjoyed my stay at ITH, they have free breakfast and dinner, staff were accomodating, they have free activities

  • 6th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and got to make the most of what we have to offer!

66%

The staff here were a little hit and miss. They loved to party so music in the hostel was always too loud so hard to do anything but listen to that. It was clean and a sociable place and they also had free breakfasts and dinners. Some of the food depending on who was on duty was fab.... I won{t mention names and single staff out as some where not that great and ignored you when hung over.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear that you found our staff hit and miss, we do address these issues so that we can always improve, thanks for your feedback, We're aware that sometimes it can become a little too loud, and we always do our best to enforce our quiet hours. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the food, we do our best to provide another opportunity for travelers to meet.

91%

The staff is wonderful! The place is very laid back and has cool vibe. There isn't much security but the people are all respectful of space and property. I loved the experience! I highly recommend it for any adventurer. :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, the staff always like to hear the good feedback. The security is one thing we are certainly trying to work on all the time and another reason we always have a staff member around to keep an eye on everything. Very happy to hear that you loved your experience!

89%

Absolutely amazing! Can't wait to go back. People were great, very helpful, free breakfast and dinner, very clean, comfy beds, Great vibes.

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're looking forward to your next visit, hopefully it will be soon! Thanks for you feedback, we're glad you enjoyed our free food and had such a comfortable stay.

100%

Great staff, free breakfast and dinner, and free events every single day! And good central location. Stay here if you come to San Diego!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your recommendation, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay!! Please come stay with us when you visit San Diego again.

94%

This was by far the best hostel I've stayed in in North America. The staff made everything easy and enjoyable and offered free activities pretty much every day of the week. Great set up and cozy vibe.

  • 3rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your kind words! Our staff here really love the place, and work hard to ensure that everyone gets the most out of their stay.

91%

Great location. Only $10 cab ride from the airport and walking distance to Balboa park and the gas lamp district. Really good Italian restaurants and cages a few bloks away. Easy to meet other backpackers and great free activities. Go on the Torrey pines walk and the sunset cliffs tour with Bobby!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're lucky to be within walking distance of so many great areas to visit. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the free trips!! They provide another great opportunity to meet the other guests and staff.

91%

Has a great time staying there. The hostel has a great vibe. It is very easy meeting new people. So if you want to meet people all around the world and you like celebrating then this is the place for you!

  • 20th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's always nice to hear where people have a great time staying here. Thanks for your comments, hopefully you can come celebrate with us again soon.

100%

Excellent hostel with a great social vibe and good common spaces. The free dinners help bring everyone together at night so there is always a good group of people to have a few drinks with! It is very easy to meet people and make new friends. The daily & nightly activities are good also, on Saturdays they do a day trip to Mexico which was great fun!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments! Glad to hear that you enjoyed the free meals and activities. We certainly try to create an atmosphere where it is easy for people to meet and make new lifelong friends.

100%

One of the best hostel experiences I've had. Only wish I could have stayed longer. Highly recommended!

  • 8th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Come back and stay with us anytime you like, hopefully for a bit longer next time!

89%

This hostel is like no other that I've stay in because of the people and the staff. This place gets under you skin and you never want to leave which is why so many of the staff were originally guests. The location is great and you can get anywhere quick. Several of the staff members are extremely knowledgeable about the city and there is a decent about of interaction between guests at this location and at their other location. It was great to have breakfast & dinner prepared for us which saved $

  • 24th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks again for staying with us! We enjoyed showing you an awesome time in San Diego!! Come back soon in the summer, and we will be doing all of our beach activities that you can join us on like surfing, snorkeling and sailing!!

86%

This is a very nice and clean hostel with super friendly and helpful staff close to the airport. You can sit outside in a small garden. The breakfast is better then in the most hostels. The make great tours and they have additional to the breakfast a free dinner on a come first basis. We stayed one night and had a very good time. Thanks a lot.


100%

Hardly any hostel can get 100% from me, but this one definitely deserves it! This is an amazing place where you feel like part of the family. The staff is awesome, everyday activities are fun, free breakfasts and dinners (!!) are yummy! This place has all the necessary facilities and there's literally nothing to improve. Will miss Adventure Hostel and all the team! High five guys, you're awesome!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for being so kind! We are so glad that you had so much fun at our hostel! Everyone works hard to ensure that we show you an unbelievable experience during you visit! Come back soon for some more fun!!

100%

Excellent place, thanks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Awesome! So glad to hear that you thought our place was excellent. All the volunteers work so hard at providing a cool place for the guests! Come see us again soon! :) Cheers, Bobby Owner

« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all San Diego Hostels

Please give us your feedback