X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

International Travelers House Adventure Hostel Reviews

1658 Front Street, San Diego, CA, San Diego, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
264 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Free breakfast and sometimes free Barbeque

Owner Comment (Hide)
We run our barbeque on a Sunday night, but do provide free dinners on the other nights, we hope you were able to experience them.

83%

Clean place. Friendly staff. I would stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We would be glad to have you stay again when you're next in SD. We are always trying to work on things, and work hard to keep the place spotless and work with our staff to make sure everyone gets the most from their stay! Thanks for your comments.

83%

Only needed a place to sleep for a few hours before catching a flight at 6 in the morning. Was perfectly reasonably for this purpose, the guests were quite and the vibe around the place quite chilled. The 10 block walk (15-20) to downtown was a bit on the longer side but I think this was reasonable considering the price (and probably doable without complaining when you've not been on your feet all day like I had been at the time).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear that you had been on your feet all day, we all know how tiring that can be. There are also some great bars and places to eat around us in Little Italy that we could show you next time. Thanks for your feedback, and we're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to rest before your early flight.

97%

Free dinner every night was amazing. Lovely atmosphere. Would loved to have stayed longer :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We wish you could have stayed longer as well! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and the free food so much.

89%

I enjoyed my stay at ITH, they have free breakfast and dinner, staff were accomodating, they have free activities

  • 6th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and got to make the most of what we have to offer!

66%

The staff here were a little hit and miss. They loved to party so music in the hostel was always too loud so hard to do anything but listen to that. It was clean and a sociable place and they also had free breakfasts and dinners. Some of the food depending on who was on duty was fab.... I won{t mention names and single staff out as some where not that great and ignored you when hung over.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear that you found our staff hit and miss, we do address these issues so that we can always improve, thanks for your feedback, We're aware that sometimes it can become a little too loud, and we always do our best to enforce our quiet hours. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the food, we do our best to provide another opportunity for travelers to meet.

83%

Overall, it was a good experience. It's a small hostel but it has a great location and it's easy to walk into downtown San Diego. The staff were friendly, if not overly inclusive, and the bathrooms were always clean. The beds were comfortable and a little squeaky, but nothing a pair of ear plugs couldn't fix. My only complaint was that one night they had a social evening outside and people were singing loudly and smoking weed until nearly 3 in the morning.


91%

The staff is wonderful! The place is very laid back and has cool vibe. There isn't much security but the people are all respectful of space and property. I loved the experience! I highly recommend it for any adventurer. :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, the staff always like to hear the good feedback. The security is one thing we are certainly trying to work on all the time and another reason we always have a staff member around to keep an eye on everything. Very happy to hear that you loved your experience!

89%

Absolutely amazing! Can't wait to go back. People were great, very helpful, free breakfast and dinner, very clean, comfy beds, Great vibes.

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're looking forward to your next visit, hopefully it will be soon! Thanks for you feedback, we're glad you enjoyed our free food and had such a comfortable stay.

1 2 3 Next » last »
(49 results)


View all San Diego Hostels

Please give us your feedback