X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

J-Hoppers Hida Takayama Guesthouse Reviews

5-52, Nada-machi, Hida Takayama, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
784 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

The rooms were way too small for 6 beds! Furthermore, you could hear everything from the toilet - not really relaxing. And I really missed a gathering area. All in all ok, but I don't know where this awesome feedback from others comes from.


66%

I ended up not staying since they missled me to think that the night parade of the takayama festival, the reason i went to takayama, was April 15. Therefore i cancelled my reservation and wax fully refunded. I would be happy to be refunded from hostel world as well. Best regards Eado Hofstetter

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

We only stayed for a short time during the Takayama spring festival, but the hostel was great, I had a decent sized bed that I could put my luggage next to. The communal area was cozy with a heated table. Toilets and bathrooms were clean. Best of all was the location, 3 minutes walk from the station.


89%

Stayed for 2 night, family of 5 in "family room" - great experience. Special thanks to Nick for cheer

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your honest review and feedback. We're glad to hear that J-Hoppers provided a great family experience for you during your holiday break. We also hope you enjoyed the Takayama Spring Festival. We would be delighted to have you stay with us again sometime in the future! Arigato Gozaimasu!

100%

The place was clean. Staffs were nice and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your honest review and feedback. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at J-Hoppers Takayama. We hope you decide to stay with us again sometime! Arigato Gozaimasu!

97%

I love J-Hoppers Hostels. They are always clean and the rooms are comfortable enough for what you pay. Also, the staff is always so friendly and helpful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your honest review and feedback. We are glad to hear you had a comfortable and welcomed stay. We hope that you decide to stay with us sometimes again in the future! Arigato Gozaimasu!

94%

The hotel staff was really helpful, we enjoyed the stay very much.

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your honest review and feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at J-Hoppers Takayama. We hope you decide to stay with us again sometime in the future! Arigato Gozaimasu!

100%

J Hoppers Takayama was my first hostel experience and I thoroughly enjoyed it! It was a short walk to the train station, the staff were very friendly and helpful and I stayed in a private room which was very clean and comfortable. The bathrooms were also very clean. For budget accommodation it was perfect :)

  • 27th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your honest review and feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your first hostel experience with us. We have a variety of hostels and guesthouses in western Japan, so if you ever travel Japan again, we hope that you decide to stay with us! Arigato Gozaimasu!

86%

a really convenient walk from the train station and a useful landmark (opposite the post office) should you ever need a reference point to navigate. the staff were friendly and helpful too with regards to accommodating your needs. the only bad point was the shower in the morning which takes 10-15 mins to warm up. Other than that, i'm a satisfied customer! will definitely go back!


100%

Jhoppers hida takayama the best Awesome staff.great night sushi n karaoke English communication no problem Cleanliness tip top Hamazushi the best sushi ever Love this place


86%

lovely staff.

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your honest review and feedback. We also want to thank you for your kind compliment to our staff. We try our best to be as helpful and informative as possible. We hope you decide to stay with us again sometime in the future! Arigato Gozaimasu!

94%

Great staff and conveniently located!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your honest review and feedback. We are indeed conveniently located in the center of Takayama City. We hope you decide to return to Takayama J-Hoppers sometime in the future! Arigato Gozaimasu!

80%

staff was very accomodating, clean surroundings, overall wonderful experience :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your honest review and feedback. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at J-Hoppers Takayama. We hope to see you again sometime in the near future! Arigato Gozaimasu!

100%

We arrived Hida Takayama in winter with heavy snow but we feel very warm like home when we step into J-Hoppers. We feel comfortable and relax. We love Takayama and J-Hoppers.

  • 15th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your honest review and feedback. We are delighted to hear you had a comfortable stay with us here in Snowy Takayama! We hope that you decide to stay with us again sometime in the future! Arigato Gozaimasu!

97%

downside: i got a bed in dorm room at 3rd floor and the showers are on 1st floor. upside: everything else other than the showers location. and the staff: AMAZING! they helped me to book tour and bus to Tokyo. the reason i didn't give 100% review is that most guest were group tour from Taiwan/ HK and none of them speak english

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your honest review and feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience of the showers being located on the 1st floor, however we plan on having the elevator back in service sometime this year. That said, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and tour with us! We hope to see you again sometime in the future! Arigato Gozaimasu!

100%

Unbelievably helpful staff. They helped us make reservations for restaurants in Tokyo, including explaining in detail all of my girlfriend's dietary needs / food allergies. Because of the J-Hoppers crew we had an exquisite, perfect meal. And the room was nice, as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your honest review and feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here at J-Hoppers Takayama. We pride ourselves on being as informative and helpful as possible. Please visit us again sometime in the future! Arigato Gozaimasu!

89%

The staff was great ,and the room was very comfortable (Japanese style). Our only facilities complaint is that the kitchen area was a bit too small/cramped. Also - It would have been good to have better lockers that did not need own lock.

  • 12th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your honest review and feedback. We are sorry to hear that you weren't impressed with the lockers we provided. However it should be noted that we do supply padlocks free of charge that you can collect from the reception. That said, we are however delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you decide to stay with us again sometime in the future! Arigato Gozaimasu!

83%

We had a great stay - staff booked our tours for us, which meant that we maximised the use of our time whilst in Takayama. The family room we had was lovely and washing facilities were just what we needed! The only drawback was that the nearest convenience store was a 10 minute walk, but that is not something that the hostel can do anything about!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your honest review and feedback. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us at J-Hoppers Takayama. Our Japanese style family bunk rooms are indeed perfect for 3 or more people or couples that are travelling with children. We hope you decide to stay with us again sometime in the future! Arigato Gozaimasu!

80%

All staff is very friendly and helpful. The owner of the hostel held a dinner party at the night which i stay at the hostel. We all enjoyed the dinner so much as many of the guest from all over the world join together and share each others travel experience in japan. The bathroom is separate between male and female which is the strength point to me as a solo female traveler. However, there is no lift so you will have to prepare to carry the bulky luggage by hand and climb the staircase.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your honest review and feedback. We're glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us here at J-Hoppers Takayama. We're also delighted to hear you joined us at our monthly dinner party. We regret that there is no elevator service available here, however we always offer assistance to anyone who requires help with moving luggage to and from their room. We hope you decide to stay with us again in the near future! Arigato Gozaimasu!

83%

A good place to stay. Cleanliness makes the hostel excellent to me. The only drawbacks would be the lack of an elevator and an unlocked luggage room. Staff are nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your honest review and feedback. Our luggage room is purposely unlocked for the convenience of customers to access it whenever they wish, we do however provide lockers that are free of use if you wish to store any valuable items. We can't apologize enough for the inconvenience caused by the lack of an elevator. We are looking into this. However, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you decide to stay with us again in the future! Arigato Gozaimasu!

« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Hida Takayama Hostels

Please give us your feedback