X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

J-Hoppers Hida Takayama Guesthouse Reviews

5-52, Nada-machi, Hida Takayama, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
1230 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

This is a really nice place and so warm which was lovely to escape from the freezing temperatures outside. My only criticism would be that you have to make & strip your own bed... For the price of the place I wouldn't have expected this


100%

Clean room, nice staff

  • 16th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

A great place to stay, close to the train station and centre of town. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Thank you!

  • 1st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Good hostel and resonable price.

  • 1st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff's so nice. He recommended many good place around the hostel to me. If I have an opportunity to visit Takayama again, I will should J-hopper!


91%

The hostel is good, very clean


77%

Very attentive staff, pretty large single room and clean place.

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Good location, spacious room ( compared to other hostels in Japan) and v helpful staff! Only down side is the toilet is located only on the first floor. Otherwise, great stay!


100%

Thank you for another enjoyable stay at a great price.

  • 23rd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Had a great experience, staff spoke English well and the facilities were great, we were even given directions to onsen and food locations

  • 22nd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location and value for money. Everything was smooth from checking in to checking out.

  • 21st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff really friendly and helpful! Perfect location!

  • 21st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Average. Nothing horrible, nothing amazing. Clean place if you just need somewhere to stay


100%

Thanks for the warm welcome , we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • 14th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very appreciated the staff, very friendly and helpful.

  • 9th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Macau
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Had a good stay. The place was usually packed. It's centrally located around the train station. The entire city is walkable. The Hida village is about 2km away, also walkable. No complaints.


100%

staffs are helpful and friendly like the first time i had come. thank you


97%

Had a fantastic traditional double room. The room size was good and the bed very comfortable, it surpassed all expectations.


83%

I just love the fact that you have staffs working graveyard shifts. Each one of them spoke English really well which makes it easy to communicate with. Plus, there is discount for Shirakawa-Go tour (must do!) if you book with J-hoppers


89%

really nice staff in a great location for a great price


« first « Prev 1 2
(38 results)


View all Hida Takayama Hostels

Please give us your feedback