Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

J-Hoppers Hida Takayama Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1371 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1371 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • ysanchezzz
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Jan 2017
9.4

Helpful staff! Fully equipped kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • melodicyeah
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 35 reviews
24th Nov 2016
8.9

Good hostel with good staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Oct 2016
5.1

The Japanese staff are very nice. The localisation of this guesthouse is good but I was disappointed about the security of the luggages. Something gets stolen from my suitcase. (a value of 100 dollars). The staff don't monitoring the room of luggages (In front of the reception). This place is open. Everybody can enter and go. One advise ? : Luggage should never be left unattended. Also be careful about the showers, so very dirty.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 42 reviews
27th Oct 2016
8.3

Great location, staff were incredibly helpful! Had a great stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Sep 2016
10.0

It was all perfect. The bed was huge and comfy, too! There's enough privacy for everyone in the dorm. The kitchen is also well-equipped with necessary appliances. The staff are really nice! Thank you! Wish I stayed longer in Takayama. Their Shirakawa-go tour is also a must!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
25th Sep 2016
8.0

Very nice staff. Halfway between the station and main sightseeing area whicheck was handy. Showers amd kitchen are kind of old but the rooms themselves are pretty comfortable

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Sep 2016
9.1

The hostel is very near to the train station, around 10mins walk. The hostel is a bit old... but the facilities are very clean so I think overall speaking, it is a good choice in takayama. The staff is extremely helpful and nice. They recommended me with a few suggested restaurant after I check in. Good choice is takayama.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Sep 2016
8.3

Great stay.l location is great. Close by to train station and family Mart and opposite the post office if you get lost. Facilities were also very good; nice clean showers, with free shampoos and soap; free use of computers with internet access; and cheap laundry service. They also have a beer vending machine a comfy communal area with smoking are out back. No curfew and they give you a code to the door. There's a member of staff there all night and they are all an amazing and helpful bunch.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.