Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

J-Hoppers Hida Takayama Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1396 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1396 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
3rd Aug 2017
10.0

Absolutely brilliant. I've actually extended my stay as there's so much to see in Takayama and J-hoppers provides a great base. The staff are some of the best I've experienced in Japan, wonderful service, so helpful and really make an effort to go over and above and make you feel welcome. The facilities are also great. Plus they can arrange cheaper bus travel to Kyoto and Osaka. Thankyou J-Hoppers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Jul 2017
10.0

I've spent 3 really relaxing nights here. It is a wonderful hostel which provides everything you might need in your trip (even ear plugs, for free!). The staff is amazing, genuinely kind hearted people. Extra points for the beds. There is a space next to every bed and when you draw the bed's curtains it feels like you have your very own tiny room. Loved it! See you next time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
17th Jul 2017
8.9

Lovely crew near the old town with a well equipped kitchen and offering a tour to nearby Shirakawa-go cheaper than the public bus with English commentary.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jun 2017
8.9

A really nice hostel. Stayed in a Japanese style room, which was nice and comfortable. Staff was helpful and the hostel is very close to old Takayama.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2017
9.1

Overall in the room very nice.except floor is dirty

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th May 2017
10.0

Liked the bed and blankets, very effective at keeping you warm in the cold weather there. Staff was friendly and attentive to our needs too. Wifi was stable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th May 2017
10.0

Loved how close it is to the train station yet easy access to town still. They seem to own the tour company to shinakawa-go so you can get a 4,000 yen discount by staying there- worth it for me. It goes at 8am and 1pm so I arrived at 12pm on the train and was able to do the tour same day. Clean beds with curtains and plugs. Didn't love the showers only being on ground floor but not a big deal really. Great staff and spot, def recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lucasmamoru
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th May 2017
9.1

Stayed for two days @ J-Hoppers and loved it. The hostel is between the Takayama Station and downtown, so everything is easily accessible. The dorms were really clean and (thanks God!) the beds were silent, so, no problem if someone is sleeping and starts moving. The staff is great and they put real effort explaining to you what to do and where to eat in Takayama. Nothing fancy, nothing luxurious. It is a simple but well-kept hostel with amazing people. Would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Mar 2017
8.9

Near to takayama station with walking distance They gave us pamplete for halal/muslim friendly place to eat so that we wont be starving 😝 If u want to go for a tour to shirakawago better opt for morning tour as less crowded in the early morning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.