Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kathmandu Madhuban Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 204 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 204 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th Jun 2017
9.4

Great place to kick off your travels at. The location is great too, located in the heart of thamel so all the coolest bars and restaurants are within walking distance (French bakery across the road is the best). The rooms are comfortable and clean and the owners are happy to dispense advice and help out with any and all queries. They even helped me plan my entire trip across 10 days in nepal. Great people, always have a smile on their faces and always ready to help and accomodate.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jun 2017
8.3

Good location right in the heart of Thamel. Staff were excellent. The breakfast was fairly basic but good. Wifi was slow but so was the wifi everywhere in Nepal. Nice rooftop area and the library was very useful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2017
10.0

We stayed one night at the Madhuban Guesthouse before continuing on to Pokhara. After a long period of travel from the U.S., we were treated to a nice, relaxing stay in a very convenient Thamel location that allowed us to explore countless restaurants, shops, and cultural attractions. The staff was very helpful and accommodating to all of our needs and questions. We would definitely stay at the Madhuban again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • immerjeetkular8728
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th May 2017
9.1

Stayed in 3 bed private room with en-suite. Large room with lots of space, television, best wifi I have experienced whilst travelling so far. Showers nice and warm. Less than 5 minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of Thamel. Polite hosts with valuable information and maps. Computer and printing available if you need it. Breakfast is basic but free!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • littlelad27
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Apr 2017
8.6

Very good wifi, excellent hot shower, clean. Shame the beds were very hard (but it is Asia) and could do with more bathroom facilities. Very helpful staff, good location and a nice rooftop area

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Apr 2017
10.0

The staff was nice and helpful. The location was good. I took 10 minutes walk from the hostel to the Durbar Sq. There were a few restaurants next to the hostels. It was convenient to finds something to eat. The room was clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2017
6.0

Misunderstanding with the accommodation dates when we arrived despite emailing them previously. Hotel offered us another hotel for the same deal but the rooms were damp, smelly and appeared uncomfortable so we lost our deposit and went to find something else.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Feb 2017
9.1

Super friendly, helpful staff. Location is ok, just outside Thamel, so fewer touts and a bit quieter. Really though, all the dogs in Kathmandu bark from around 11pm until Midnight or later, so no helping that... Nice open-air rooftop area with tables and chairs. Hot shower is very very hot!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
9.7

Great location, just off the busiest streets of Thamel. Very friendly and helpful staff, hot showers, and plenty of nice restaurants just around the corner. Great place to stay if you're looking for something a little bit quieter than many other guest houses in Thamel. Will definitely return!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.