X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Killarney International Youth Hostel (An Oige) Reviews

Ring of Kerry Road, Fossa, Killarney, Co. Kerry, Killarney, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
630 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

37%

although the main buliding of the hostel was a gorgeous old manor house the building that we stayed in had been repainted on the outside but was run down on the inside. Our room had stains on the ceilings and spiders everywhere. The showers were see-through which meant that if yuo showered beside a person they could see everyrthing. We only had one staff member that treated us nicely the entire time we stayed there.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We had such an enjoyable stay - what a gem of a hostel - perfect in every way and bonus to find High Ropes there too!

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Lovely old building with good facilities in very beautiful part of Ireland. Time to update the beds.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Very goo, nice people, but... bad indications to find the place. Nowhere in town, there was any signpost, so I had to phone two times before I was on the right way (I was travelling by bike).


80%

The house was great and very quiet! My only thing was it was about an hour walk into town and the shuttle or bus stopped running pretty early in the evening so it would be best if you had your own car. The staff was very nice though and it was clean!


94%

This hostel is great - the staff are friendly and helpful, it's in a beautiful old building, and pretty much everything you need is there. The one caveat is that it's not ideal if you don't have a car - you have to rely on an infrequent shuttle to Killarney or 10-15 euro cab rides. The upside to the location is that the area around the hostel is quiet, peaceful and picturesque.


83%

Staff were really excellent. Other people staying there a little stand offish or maybe I had a more romantic vision of hostels from 20 years ago! Saying that everyone was very respectful, kept the noise down and cleaned up after themselves.


100%

Outstandingly friendly, helpful staff. They lent us a bike lock.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

This hostel was very good value for money. The staff are extremely friendly and help in whatever way they can to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We were very happy and we look forward to returning there again thus year. The food was good. The rooms were clean. It was lovely and quiet.There are only two suggestions that I would make : pay attention to the grounds outside the dining room window and group the chairs in the TV room in small semi circles not one big one.

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Cool place, like a palace.


100%

Beautiful old mansion. Everything is clean, they have a big self-catering kitchen, a huge tv room and the staff is very helpful. 5 stars *****

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

First time to stay in a hostel. The setting was beautiful, but as an old house it is not well insulated therefore noisy - our rooms were in the second house which was perfect and much quieter. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. A great experience to see Kerry in a very cost effective way.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Old huge house out of town, nice big lobbies with comfortable sofa and TV Friendly staff. Very noisy, you can hear everything trough the walls (especially what happens in the toilets). door closing loudly. squeaky mattress. Breakfast 4€ or you can make your own in the kitchen Free Wifi only in the kitchen but not working at all during our stay. Free bed sheets Free parking Clean


97%

We really enjoyed our stay in Killarney especially because of the nice atmosphere of the place and the kindness and efficiency of the staff. It was just wonderful ! Although they have had tough days, they were smily and helpful. The room was clean and silent at night. Thank you so much. We will come back !


94%

Very helpful staff.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

You need a car to get here, it is not in Killarney town. However, this was a plus for me - didn't have to pay for parking in town. Although in saying this, the signage was pathetic and I found it really hard to find? Look for the signs to the rope course, the hostel is in the same place. Its very quiet, zero atmosphere to speak of. However, again, I wanted a quiet night in. Definitely suitable for families. Nice old building, big grassy area.


97%

Wonderful place.


97%

Good place.


71%

Staff were helpful and made suggestions of itineraries. Booked a tour for us. Would have liked some heating as the weather was wet and cold and after being outdoors some cosy warmth would have been welcome. Location was suitable for those who have a car and enjoy the open grounds, so it suited us.


86%

There were 2 large groups of young people there on our second night, but they were well supervised and did not disturb us at all. Come 9 pm it was very quiet. The staff were very helpful.


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Killarney Hostels

Please give us your feedback