X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Killarney International Youth Hostel (An Oige) Reviews

Ring of Kerry Road, Fossa, Killarney, Co. Kerry, Killarney, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
691 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Lovely common rooms with plenty of comfortable seating (knee rug was a bonus on chilly night). Dining areas large and clean with big kitchen area. Breakfast was adequate - would be better with some fresh fruit and none dairy alternatives for milk and butter. I enjoyed my stay here.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Very helpful staff and great spot out of town, so no noise !

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Be aware that it's a ten Euro taxi if you arrive after the last bus. Positive, there is a morning bus to The Gap of Dunloe at 1000 arrives 1030 you are planning to walk Carrantouill as I did. That's a cracking walk and the hostel in the Black Valley well placed at the end of it.

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice, quiet place, but then again I was there in late September, so don't know what it's like earlier in the summer. My experience was good though.

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Beautiful hostel and beautiful grounds. Loved the old library and sitting rooms. Nice staff and pretty helpful, good location.


69%

Sehr gute ruhige Lage inkl.Parkplätze, Preis/Leistungsverhältnis sehr gut,


100%

We spend some wonderful days in Killarney. The hostel is an old mansion located in beautiful natural scenery. Even though it is a bit out of town, there are good bus connections and nice routes for hiking. The staff and manager are very friendly and helped a lot to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Everything in the hostel is very clean and the kitchen well equipped. It is perfect for families and people who would like to spend some relaxing days in Killarney. We had a great time!


49%

Had a very unpleasant stay in Killarney. There was an extremely noisy group of schoolkids taking over most of the floor i was on. There was no effort by staff to curtail them. Also the plumbing was poor in all bathrooms, the toilets wouldn't flush properly and were generally dirty. Ive stayed in An Oiges other hostels and they were far superior to this one. I would have complained to staff directly but there didn;t seem to be any around by when i was leaving the next morning.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The three day's were great. The national park is brlliant and the best way to see is by food or bike. My familie enjoyed everything and we're looking forward to come back again.


100%

Amazing place, we really enjoyed being there, in the middle of the hills and the trees. We found exactly what we were looking for at this lovely manor. People is very nice also, the welcoming is warm and the facilities are clean.


89%

Very nice place in a manor, great kitchen. But it was quite cold in the room and too much mattress springs !


97%

Thanks for a great stay , The Puck lads


77%

A good hostel


97%

very heplful & friendly staff, great venue in beautiful surroundings with plenty of activities to keep you busy and yet relaxed. having a car is an advantage but not a necessity.

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Staff is not trained, not friendly. Location is great, with rabbits in the park, and the price is ok.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

The building is great, very beautiful and surrounded by forest. But its location is very inconvenient because is far away from the city center. The hostel must rent bikes to guests in order to facilitate their transport to the city center.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Quite a way out of main town (not walking distance). Plenty of on-site parking. It's an old mansion in nice gardens which is pretty cool, adjacent to a high-ropes adventure course. It's popular with school groups and tour groups as well as families - expect kids galore. Massive dining/lounge areas. Security was really lax, perhaps because they're out of town. Staff member was friendly. Wifi only in main areas, not in my room. Showers were terrible! Pretty typical for a hostel.


37%

although the main buliding of the hostel was a gorgeous old manor house the building that we stayed in had been repainted on the outside but was run down on the inside. Our room had stains on the ceilings and spiders everywhere. The showers were see-through which meant that if yuo showered beside a person they could see everyrthing. We only had one staff member that treated us nicely the entire time we stayed there.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We had such an enjoyable stay - what a gem of a hostel - perfect in every way and bonus to find High Ropes there too!

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Lovely old building with good facilities in very beautiful part of Ireland. Time to update the beds.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(40 results)


View all Killarney Hostels

Please give us your feedback