Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Koala International Youth Hostel

  • No.58, Bei Hai Road, Tunxi District, Anhui Province, Huangshan, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 283 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 283 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Aug 2017
8.0

We stayed here as a base for the mountains and local towns and the hostel room was amazing, private room for very cheap, with private bathroom, great air con, a tv and FREE washing! (Such a bonus) Can't fault the room but unfortunately this hostel felt more like a hotel and there was no atmosphere. However if you just want a base for trip elsewhere and you happy with an early night to rest the knees then it is perfect. The staff are lovely and the location is ok, but far from the centre

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2017
8.6

Koala Youth Hostel was the perfect place to spend a night on my way to HuangShan. The location is just across the street from the local train station, which was very convenient. They allowed me to arrive later than their last listed check-in time. The front desk staff was waiting for me when I arrived, and even though it was almost midnight, they took the time to help me plan my trip to HuangShan the next day. They helped me book my bus ticket back to Changzhou as well. Overall, super helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2017
9.4

The staff was very helpful and made my trip to Huangshan so much better than it would have been otherwise. Note to future travelers: if you take the high speed train (gaotie), it drops you off at Beijing North Railway station, which is separate from the main train station where the hostel is located. You can get to the main train station by taking the 1 or the 12 bus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2017
9.4

This was one of the best hostels I stayed at in China. The staff were great! All four staff members could speak English well, and they were so friendly and helpful. The owner is young and has only had the hostel for about a year. He is really trying to improve it and is making great changes. It is very close to the train and bus stations. It is quite a distance from the high speed train station, but there is a bus stop right across the street from the hostel that goes to/from the station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2017
7.7

It's a good place to stay. The staff speaks English, the atmosphere is cool. I recommend it for young adults. The rooms were not very clean, there was no toilet paper and no soap on our rooms. The beds were comfortable and the place it's not perfectly located but a taxi to old city it's no more than 10 yuan.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th May 2017
9.7

Perfect place to stay before and after a trip up the mountain. Staff are lovely and super helpful with planning. Pretty quiet given a lot of folks are out hiking for most of the day, but enough people around to make friends. Keep in mind that the hostel is next to the main railway station, not the north railway station (which is where the bullet trains stop). You can take a bus from the front of the north station through town to the main one, either #1 or #21. Same route takes you back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2017
9.4

Really nice place and staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Francoislabonne
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
13th May 2017
10.0

Great place. Great people. The guy at the front desk might be the nicest person I've ever met and spoke English pretty well. Clean facilities and spacious rooms. Great experience! Loved it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • anamariavlad
  • Romania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2017
10.0

I highly recommend this hostel, its close to the old street, clean, big rooms, small goody bag in the bathroom and the staff is going above and beyond to help you with everything from clean clothes to booking trips and other hotels further on your trip. They just made us feel so comfortable and made our trip much easier with the advice and help and their big big smiles on their faces. Loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2017
10.0

Just there for a quick rest. Was nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.