X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Kunming Cloudland International Youth Hostel Reviews

23 Zhuan Tang Lu, Kunming, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
1070 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Very Helpfull staff.

  • 18th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, How are you ? Thank you for your booking and give us review . It is glade to help you booked your ticket , and now our hostel is more beautiful ,haha many flowers were open looked very nice ! Welcome to come back! cloudland yha jane

83%

The hostel was very nice. Unfortunately, the staff was sometimes rather unfriendly. The night staff also does not speak any English, which made it hard to communicate when I arrived late and then left early another morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for your bookking and give us review . Sorry for your trouble , also thank you remind us about our service , our night people not speak English and now before the reception staff after their work, we will be chick how many booking is not arrive then wrote a note to the guest tell the information what they can do when they arrive at late . thank you every way . Take care and welcome to come back! cloudland yha jane

89%

Lady in the check-in booth could smile a bit to let customers feel more welcome.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, How are you ? Thank you for your booking and give us review . Smile is the easy word that everyone can understand you are friendly ,about this we have a meeting to learn it ,thank you ! Welcome to come back ! cloudland yha jane

100%

the hotel is very nice,thank you!

  • 9th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, How are you ? Thank you for your booking and give us review . It is very happy to hear that you like our hostel .Next month our hostel staff will be a short travel may be can meet you in dali ! haha.. Welcome to come back ! cloudland yha jane

100%

Loved this hostel, Staff was very friendly. Would 100% stay again

  • 24th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • North Korea
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel is amazing. It has everything that backpackers need during their trip: washing mashine, clean rooms, games, wifi and guide books. It was very comfortable to eat in the hostel because food was cheap and tasty. Staff was helpful and polite. In the whole the hostel has friendly atmosphere


100%

Very nice place, excelent location

  • 19th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Overall a good hostel,


91%

Seemed that we arrived at a busy time as staff didnt even say Hello. Otherwise quite helpful and nice hostel!


74%

The hostel is not that well located for me but the common area is really nice. Negatives points: when someone leaves early, the staff comes right after to change the sheets, which is good but not when it's 7h30 and everybody is still sleeping! I had booked a 6 beddorm room, but they tried to put me in a 8 bed dorm telling it's the same price, which is not true. The washing machines were out of service and there were no place around the hotel to do the laundry.


91%

Great, friendly staff, very comfortable place for studying and also having fun. Everything great-felt like a home, muchbetter than the Hump hosfel. If i had to give any feedback i would say::Food portions could be a little bigger, cocktails were not really cocktails and locks on the door were sometimes inefficient. Overall great stay, thank you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Thank you for your grade and very happy to know that you like our hostel ! We just had the lessones for our bar staff to learn how to made the cocktails , thank you for your remind . Take care of yourself and welcome to come back have a look ! cloudland yha jane

83%

This was a lovely hostel. The food was great! The only downside is its location: it's far from everything! But it's a great place to relax and catch some sun. Definitely recommend Moon Dog, the expat bar a few streets over!


83%

A good hostel. Strange that the atmosphere was good and people very social, even if the staff didn't really contribute - did their job, but seemed grumpy and definitely didn't volunteer any extra advise or help.


97%

Great hostel! Atmosphere great, and helpful staff. A little hard to find.


100%

The best hostel , the coffee is also excellent.

  • 29th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice staff, good location

  • 29th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Togo
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Very helpful staff, but there paper cups left a lot to be desired

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your booking and give us review . It is glade to know that you like our hostel , we just imprived our hostel , we will be try to do better and better , Thank you for your suggestion , we have no paper cups before ,but some times the guest need it ,so we by some keep in the bar, just the people asked then we give .Welcome to come back! Take care of yourselves ! cloudlanf yha jane

89%

Pretty hard to be negative about this place. Pretty sweet hostel with good seating areas all over. Nice and sunny up top and good courtyard down bottom. Could probably do with a couple extra showers and the internet was barely usable. And staff on the counter could relax a bit more. Otherwise can't complain with this one. Super cosy by those fires in the morning and beautiful in the sun in the arvo.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your booking and give us review . It is glade to know that you like our hostel , Thank you for your suggestion , because of the chinese new year our staff have some time can go back home stay with the family ,so other staffs will be more busy than other time .Welcome come back ! Take care of yourselves ! cloudlanf yha jane

100%

Thanks for the stay, we had a good time

  • 23rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear YA CiZHANG, Thank you for your booking and give us review . It is glade to know that you like our hostel , we just imprived our hostel , we will be try to do better and better , when you finishes your trip , Welcome to come back have a look , Take care of yourselves ! cloudlanf yha jane

86%

I was very impressed when we arrived at this hostel. We showed up at five in the morning and we were able to go to our room immediately and even get a few hours of sleep! Unheard of in any other hostel I've stayed in. The place was clean. There were big clean blankets on the beds to keep us warm at night. There was hot water available. Each bed has a locker, light and personal outlet. No complaints here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sarah Roberts, Thank you for your booking and give us review . It is glade to know that you like our hostel , we just imprived our hostel , we will be try to do better and better , Welcome to come back one day ! Take care of yourselves ! cloudlanf yha jane

« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Kunming Hostels

Please give us your feedback