X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kunming Cloudland International Youth Hostel Reviews

23 Zhuan Tang Lu, Kunming, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1406 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Paid 35Y per person in a 8 person dorm with the HI member card. Nice hostel, well located, very clean. Hot drinking water, hand soap and toilet paper are free. Small laundry service for 10Y. Dorms are nice and have very big lockers. Lot of info about possible trip around the city. But : - Wifi is awful. Maybe you'll be able to open a webpage during the day when there is nobody in the hostel. But during the morning or the evening, you can forget it. - Staff is a bit unfriendly.


97%

A truly perfect hostel, big, spacey, amazingly clean, and run by the most helpful staff possible. Ranks among the best hostels in China without a doubt. Loads of foreigners everywhere, perfect common areas to hang out and get to know people. Food is pricey but not overpriced, the Swiss breakfast is excellent. I'll definitely stay again.


100%

great accommodation, nice hospitality, tasty food......I love everything in this youth hostel. Will definitely recommend to my friends.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Kenya
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

If you" looking for a very homely stay ln cloudland ,the facilities are well.many places to shop and eat and very easy to meet other travellers.

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

excellent place to chill out and meet new people !


100%

Nice weather in KUNMING and clean hostel.

  • 22nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

I wasn't especially impressed with Cloudland. It didn't really have the atmosphere I'd associate with a hostel, this could just be because it is quite large. For a hostel of four stories two bathrooms are insufficient, having a bathroom on each floor seems like a no-brainer, that said, that's just the way the building is, not much they can do there. One problem that would easily be fixed is wifi - four stories and only 1 working network, 2 provided. A network per floor is a reasonable request.


91%

Friendly staff. The western food on the menu is good. The rooms are clean. We rented bikes, which seemed great until a pedal fell off. The hostel has pingpong and a pool table.

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

staff at the hostel made my holiday a wonderful experience. I was traveling alone at kunming I felt right at home. The hostel included games, drinks and lots of fun.

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

A great place to stay in Kunming. The rooftop patio is especially nice to wind down in the evening on. Otherwise, clean, good social areas, good beds, and a good location to explore the city from.


100%

great everything!

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Myanmar
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Very nice place. Staff was helpful and they also offer services such as booking bus tickets which will save you a trip since all the city's bus stations are a bit far. It was a good place for quiet rest and chatting and there are enough buses to get you around. Closest subway station I found was on Beijing and Dongfeng dong lu and it was a bit of a long walk. Lots of places to eat (shaokao, noodles, KFC, markets...). I had a very good stay here.


91%

Great building. Lots of nice places to relax. Good food at reasonable prices.

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

I recently stayed here just for one night with my daughter. The hostel is within walking distance of most of the city sights and our en-suite room was big and clean. However-big negative, the water in the shower was stone cold and the water in the basin gave up altogether. The staff did not speak much English and were not particularly helpful. It all felt a bit busy and impersonal.


54%

I don't understand why this hostel is rated so highly. The staff are disinterested, the hostel unclean and the facilities poor - with broken toilet seats and dirty water tanks. During my stay the water was cut off - hot and cold - for a full day. This was not the hostel's fault, but given that no guests could wash or drink, they could have had the common sense to give a free or discounted bottle of water each for the inconvenience. Look elsewhere.


80%

It is only a five min walk from the club area and food area. Jessica was really helpful with everything. I had a great stay here. Their food was okay but there are so many great resturants in the area, especially dai food.


94%

Only stayed overnight but had a good atmosphere and helpful staff. Not sure about the location as it seemed out if the way but easy enough to get to the train station!


89%

Good enough in everything!


94%

We stayed here twice, once in a double room, once in one of the dorms. The double room was especially impressive in terms of value for money, much better than what you get at cheaper hotels (even in Europe). Dorms were solid.


91%

Great place to stay, helpful staff and cheery atmosphere, the rooms are spacious and beds clean and comfy. Facilities and location are perfect, only thing is the shower room has a pretty bad smell due to the drainage! Coffee was decent but breakfast pretty average, better to head to somewhere like Salvador's!

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(113 results)


View all Kunming Hostels

Please give us your feedback