X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Kunming Cloudland International Youth Hostel Reviews

23 Zhuan Tang Lu, Kunming, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
1141 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

the hostel is great! clean rooms with big lockers, not too noisy

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Cloudland was a really comfortable, very homely and clean. The things that let this place down: staff.. Unhelpful. When asking for directions/advise they just say get a taxi. When you could have walked in 5-10 mins. Also they were uninterested in helping you leave the hostel.. Even just for a day outing to return later. And WIFI is poor.. If you are the kind of traveller who relies on internet access to book trains etc. you will find yourself irritated with how slow the connection is


74%

The room is good. The staff always replied to your questions without looking at you or with a very short word.


100%

Love this place!

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Everything ok, dorm and sheets were very clean. Two things I didn't like that much: first there are a lot of dorm rooms, but only very little showers. Second: I was relaxing in their bar area one afternoon when suddenly they turned the music on so loud I almost fell out of my chair. Impossible to think straight or read a book with that noise. Asked them to turn the volume down a bit. Answer of the staff: "I'm sorry, that's impossible". Why? "Because in the night music is loud." Rude and impolite


94%

Great place! Specially the atmosphere, and the rooms were much nicer than I actually expected.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

I normally not give the comments to where I stayed. However, I have to leave the comments on this time. This hostel is THE WORST EVER in my whole hostel experience. When I checked in, a staff girl forgot to give my passport back. I got panic and check out everywhere, everything. Finally I went back to counter and she give it back. No apologize at all. It seems too hard to come to my dorm to get it back to me. Counter girls not smiling at all. and one of them is very bossy style.


100%

They are really cool and helpful 。

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Yoon Sin Yi, How are you ? thank you for your booking and giving us review . We wish you have a nice trip in Lijiang , and take care of yourself , the weather in Yunnan is rainning season , take the umbrella with you ! Welcome to come back ! cloudlan youth hostel jane

100%

Our room was very clean and the beds were comfortable,, excellent facilities at coffee shop and bar.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Larasjohn Karsdes, How are you ? thank you for your booking and giving us review . It is really happy to know that you like our hostel , nice talking with you at that afternoon about the tea ,if you come back hope have time drink the tea together . We wish you have a nice trip in Lijiang , and take care of yourself , the weather in Yunnan is rainning season , take the umbrella with you ! Welcome to come back ! cloudlan youth hostel jane

71%

Hostel has some trip advices, but information is wrong - some of the staff said that. Information is difficult to copy (take a photo) since it's under a glass. No coffee before 8:30 at the morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Maija Kantola, Thank you for your booking and sorry for the trouble with you . Actually our bar open at 07:30 am and the catch works at )8:00 am , you can have the coffee at 08:00 am , now we make sure the morning at least one staff stay inside the bar , the guest can order . Enjoy your trip! CLOUDLAND YHA Jane

100%

Awesome place!The hostel seemed very secure and they kindly let us leave our luggage with them for a day, The staff were very lovely and helpful, speaking good English. The bar was very nice 。

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Leffranc Liess, How are you ? thank you for your booking and giving us review . It is really happy to know that you like our hostel , we were glade to do something can help the guest easy on the trip, we can keep luggage 3 days for free but long need to pay . some times we keep the luggage too long... . We wish you have a nice trip in Lijiang , and take care of yourself , the weather in Yunnan is rainning season , take the umbrella with you ! cloudland yha jane

100%

the staff were helpful when asked,I will go there again。

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Anguilla
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Marie Sarah, How are you ? Thank you for your booking and giving us review . Welcone to come and next time you can stay longer ,we have the ping-pang or pool table match every week , you can join us! Take care of yourself . CLOUDLAND YHA Jane

80%

Staff were all very professional and helpful.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Very clean, comfy beds and large lockers but horribly slow WiFi... They also overcharge you for train and bus reservations, so do it by yourself. Staff friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your booking and review . Sorry about the Wifi , we will be try some way to improve it . Welcome to come back ! Take care ! cloudland yha jane

100%

vrey good youth hotel.Staff very helpful.The bar it's relaxing.Wiff it's not so good

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It is really a beautiful place, nice atmosphere, nice staff, they are really helpful.Just the wifi here is a little slow. But can't stop my love for this place.

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Room and Breakfast was very good.

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I have to say this is a wonderful place, just felt so relaxed here. maybe since its quiet environment that makes me enjoy it very much. By the way, there is a cute cat here, so naughty to catch the ball when we were playing the table tennis. Strongly recommended.

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very beautiful hostel. Inspiring!

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Helpful and friendly services. The room is in tip top cleanliness and excellent condition. Great place to stay .

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(53 results)


View all Kunming Hostels

Please give us your feedback