X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kunming Cloudland International Youth Hostel Reviews

23 Zhuan Tang Lu, Kunming, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1431 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Value for money good hostel w

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

food is very good,close to the city center really nice stay

  • 18th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

lovely room ,walking for 10 minutes you can find good restaurant.

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

comfortable hostel and friendly.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

reception was very helpful liked a lot of thing in this hostel, location was very safe.

  • 10th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Good, standard hostel. Good atmosphere. Good location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
How are you? Thank you for your booking and stay in our hostel . It is very happy to know that you like our hostel , we will be try to do better and better. Welcome to come back ! Take care and enjoy your trip ! Kunming Cloudland YHA Jane

83%

I really did like the rooftop terrace :)

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Matthias Fuhrich, It is very glade you like our hostel ,and i like the rooftop terrace also ,it is a good place to enjoy the sunshine , and talk with the friends on the night . Thank you for your booking and stay in our hostel . It is very happy to know that you like our hostel , we will be try to do better and better. Welcome to come back ! Take care and enjoy your trip ! Kunming Cloudland YHA Jane

91%

Stayed at Cloudland for 2 days. Staff is helpful and patience 98% of the time. Most of the staff is speaking English and have accurate and good information about stuff to do in Kunming. Stayed at a dorm - for my taste it was a very good experience, clean, locker included, good price, hot shower and comfortable bed. Recommended. Enjoy :)

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • omrifr
  • Israel
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
How are you? Thank you for your booking and stay in our hostel . It is very happy to know that you like our hostel , we will be try to do better and better. Welcome to come back ! Take care and enjoy your trip ! Kunming Cloudland YHA Jane

100%

every thing is very good.

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your booking and stay in our hostel . It is very happy to know that you like our hostel , we will be try to do better and better. Welcome to come back ! Take care and enjoy your trip ! Kunming Cloudland YHA Jane

77%

5 yrs ago, Cloudland used to be a great hostel with very helpful reception staff. Now, only their fulltime reception staff is very helpful but their part-time staff only does the most basic work of checking in guests. Also, present day guests seem to smoke a lot & they smoke in the common corridors......due to the structure of the hostel building, it means that cigarette smoke can affect guests at the end of the same level corridor and even those in upper & lower floors.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your booking and stay in our hostel .Thank u for your remind we will be improve our servers ,sorry about the smokers, in our bar we put the not "no smoke area all day" and "smoke area" two part no smoke on the day time but smoke on the night . some time the guest not really do like what we say but our staff will be tell them when we saw it . we will be try to do better and better. Welcome to come back ! Take care and enjoy your trip ! Cloudland YHA

69%

The common areas are not smoke-free, some staff are more friendly and helpful than the other.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your booking and stay in our hostel .Really sorry about the smokers, in our bar we put the not "no smoke area all day" and "smoke area" two part no smoke on the day time but smoke on the night . some time the guest not really do like what we say but our staff will be tell them when we saw it . we will be try to do better and better. Welcome to come back ! Take care and enjoy your trip ! Kunming Cloudland YHA Jane

71%

Paid 35Y per person in a 8 person dorm with the HI member card. Nice hostel, well located, very clean. Hot drinking water, hand soap and toilet paper are free. Small laundry service for 10Y. Dorms are nice and have very big lockers. Lot of info about possible trip around the city. But : - Wifi is awful. Maybe you'll be able to open a webpage during the day when there is nobody in the hostel. But during the morning or the evening, you can forget it. - Staff is a bit unfriendly.


94%

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Cloudland. I had considered moving to The Hump Hostel (just for variety's sake), but I'm glad I didn't. I stayed for 5 days and the atmosphere of the hostel is really relaxing. The food is good, with a good beer selection. There are lots of places to hang out in the hostel. Rooms are very nice, and both rooms and bathrooms/showers are clean. The location is made more ideal by the proximity of a big park, outdoor market.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

A truly perfect hostel, big, spacey, amazingly clean, and run by the most helpful staff possible. Ranks among the best hostels in China without a doubt. Loads of foreigners everywhere, perfect common areas to hang out and get to know people. Food is pricey but not overpriced, the Swiss breakfast is excellent. I'll definitely stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your booking and stay in our hostel . It is very happy to know that you like our hostel ,and our breakfast also can order on the night time , our kitchen open at 08:00am until22:00pm, thank you again, we will be try to do better and better. Welcome to come back ! Take care and enjoy your trip ! Kunming Cloudland YHA Jane

100%

great accommodation, nice hospitality, tasty food......I love everything in this youth hostel. Will definitely recommend to my friends.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Kenya
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great food at the connected restaurant.


100%

If you" looking for a very homely stay ln cloudland ,the facilities are well.many places to shop and eat and very easy to meet other travellers.

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

excellent place to chill out and meet new people !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your booking and stay in our hostel . It is very happy to know that you like our hostel , we will be try to do better and better. Welcome to come back ! Take care and enjoy your trip ! Kunming Cloudland YHA Jane

100%

Nice weather in KUNMING and clean hostel.

  • 22nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your booking and stay in our hostel . It is very happy to know that you like our hostel , we will be try to do better and better. Welcome to come back ! Take care and enjoy your trip ! Kunming Cloudland YHA Jane

69%

I wasn't especially impressed with Cloudland. It didn't really have the atmosphere I'd associate with a hostel, this could just be because it is quite large. For a hostel of four stories two bathrooms are insufficient, having a bathroom on each floor seems like a no-brainer, that said, that's just the way the building is, not much they can do there. One problem that would easily be fixed is wifi - four stories and only 1 working network, 2 provided. A network per floor is a reasonable request.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(107 results)


View all Kunming Hostels

Please give us your feedback