X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Le Gite du Plateau Mont-Royal Reviews

185 Sherbrooke Street East, Montreal, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
440 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

I did wake up with a few strange bites after the second night


100%

Fantastic place to stay in the heart of Montreal. Staff extremely friendly and helpful, accomodations very clean and a fun place to stay. My second time staying there last weekend and will continue to go there. Marguerite

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

SUPER AMAZING! WE HAD THE BEST TIME EVER! AMAZING STAFF AND PEOPLE!

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I have stayed here on two occasions and was pleased both times. The front desk staff is welcoming, helpful and sets a good atmosphere (music, movies, sports on TV, etc.) It was fun to practice French with them, too. Given that it was the lull between Christmas and New Years, the place did not give off a party vibe. I appreciate this, and prefer to have my fun elsewhere and have a calm place to sleep. The main facilities are off limit between 11pm and 8am, which is helpful for a restful night.


80%

Nice location, staff and breakfast. There are not enough powr points or toilets though.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

There is a very dangerous change of floor level on the second floor (first) and I had a bad fall and narrowly missed a broken nose and ruining the rest of my trip. This MUST be remedied without delay. Also there was no way of contacting management for assistance at night -an emergency bell is needed. As I left early I left a note and expected to get an email apology at least but none as yet.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We are sorry to read this. We have verified but we did not find any dangerous change of floor, our building is very safe. Maybe the accident happened while you were busy carriyng your bags. Nevertheless, sorry about that and we are relieved to know you are all right

100%

The staff was terrific (spoke English) and made us feel welcome and comfortable. It's a funky place and fills up with lots of young people.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi.Thank you for this excellent review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel! We will be happy to welcome you again very soon.

100%

Loved it I will be back next time im in montreal

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Merci beaucoup for sharing your experience at the Gîte du Plateau Mont-Royal. It was also a real pleasure for us to have you. Come back whenever you want.

97%

Great service, a clean and homely hostel at a great location. Also, the best hostel breakfast I've ever had :) Bring your own padlock though. They sell them for a reasonable price, but you can't borrow them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi.Thank you for this excellent review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel! We will be happy to welcome you again very soon

94%

I came twice and I 'm waiting for the third one. A place I strongly recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thank you for choosing us and taking the time to share your comment. We are happy to know that you had a great time in Montreal and in our hostel. We look forward to your return.



View all Montreal Hostels

Please give us your feedback