X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Lub d Bangkok Siam Square Reviews

925/9 Rama 1 Rd., Wangmai, Patumwan, Bangkok, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
2282 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Exit 1 from National Stadium skytrain stop. Very convenient, and the staff are absolutely lovely

  • 3rd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location next to the MBK! Friendly hostel with a good atmosphere!! Staff were very helpful and informative. Shared bathrooms are excellent and spacious. There are bathrooms on each floor. There is also the availability of a travel desk downstairs. I would stay here again!


69%

I stayed here last year and the place has declined in service, cleanliness and overall aspect . Not a boutique hostel anymore just a hostel

  • 24th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Quality hostel, met loads of likeminded people and have kept in touch with them throughout my trip, location is perfect as its right next to the national stadium Bts skytrain station, furthermore the area of Siam wasn't busy at nighttime therefore you can also get a good nights sleep if wanted


66%

Nice hostel ac didn't work in our room and was extremely stuffy because no opening window. Other than that issue was very cool looking and comfortable .


71%

location and room condition were nice but toilet was seo smelly when I stayed there for 4days. receptionist were not helpful.

  • 10th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Our private room for 5 nights was extremely clean with decent air con and a safe under the bed which made security far better. The communal toilets had no faults and was clean 24/7 along with the rest of the hostel. Having a sta travel desk in reception helped and all of the staff were helpful and nice. There was not much of a communal area just the lobby in reception and the outside smoking area so it was hard to meet people. location was great with the skytrain and MBK shopping mall opposite.


89%

Great hostel in good location, right next to BTS station and bus stop opposite to get to Khao San Rd, Grand Palace etc. Easy to meet people and staff are helpful. Bathrooms and dorms are very clean. Dorms have air con and big lockers for bags. Stayed over New Years so bit expensive but worth it for the location, atmosphere and great facilities.

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Location is good to catch the sky train or walking distance to the shopping malls. God size locker, good wifi connection, clean and comfortable bed. There is no window in the room but it's not as bad as it sounds- well lit.

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ethiopia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

The A/C unit remote wasn't very functional, the staff should make sure it's updated in each room. Also, the key card was worn out, the staff should also verify that each one is in good working shape.


83%

Hostel is great value for money. Stayed in a double room felt like a hotel. Had own shower and toilet.


97%

IT was great !!


86%

Great location, really clean and tidy. Had to wait til 2pm to check in but can leave your bags. Helpful staff and theatre room is good for chilled evenings.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are grateful for your positive feedback. Hope you enjoyed your vacation in Bangkok! Happy travels, Janice Y. & the Management team

86%

Very popular hostel with tons of people. Booked a private room and wasn't disappointed. The staff are overwhelmed with the amount of people that come in daily which affect the genuine service one might expect from a hostel, some staff members will answer your questions to the point where some will go the extra step and provide advice and recommendations. Overall enjoyed my stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You have described the challenges service staff face in operations so well. We read your comments with appreciation. Thank you very much for your understanding. Have a great year of travels in 2016! Happy travels, Janice Y. & the Management team

86%

A very good location right next to a sky train station and to a good shopping area. Nice clean common areas as well as shared bathrooms. Private room was comfortable but slightly cramped.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your time and effort in writing this feedback. Thank you and we hope to host you and your friends in the near future. Happy travels, Janice Y. & the Management team

46%

Not worth the money at all! We found a way better hostel for 1/3 of the price! The rooms are teeny tiny jail cells and they put perfumy air fresheners everywhere which reek up the entire hostel. I was on a top bunk and smacked my head on the ceiling every time I sat up. The showers were ok - but the toilets were open in the room where the showers were so you could hear everything! Not good location. Not worth the money!!!!!! Don't go!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are truly regretful that your stay was not comfortable as we would wish to create. We have since completed the maintenance work that caused the strong smell and all rooms are now odor free. We have noted the rest of the feedback and will be sure to consider them for our other Lub d branches or when an opportune time comes for us to enhance our product offerings here. We greatly appreciate your comments. Happy travels, Janice Y. & the Management team

34%

3 of us were travelling together and booked our reservation together but somehow got placed in separate rooms, the rooms are super tiny! No room to move around and smelt horrible. Staff spoke very little English/didn't understand. And it's over priced for 600bht a night and no free breakfast. Not worth it at all. We needed up relocating to the Bed Station hostel. Tour desk is unless, and no tour information. Only thing to do in the area is shop. Near nothing else.

  • 21st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We make every effort to accommodate guest requests,. However, there are instances where we are unable to confirm due to reasons (i.e. unavailability, lack of advice/ resources etc) Please do accept our apologies for the dissatisfaction your recent stay has caused you. We have since taken action on the smell issue and rooms are now odor free. Rest assured that all of your invaluable feedback have all been well noted and has been personally conveyed to concerned departments. Happy travels,

94%

I was really impressed with the facilities. — everything was very clean, beds were comfortable, bathrooms were nice. Also the staff were awesome and there is a Travel Agency right inside the lobby! Downsides: being in the top bunk was a bit of a struggle and the place wasn't as social as I had hoped.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your thumbs up of our services and product. We strive to get guests to forge new friendships among fellow backpackers either thru our daily social activities or other factors. We hope to welcome you again in a more sociable setting next time. Happy travels, Janice Y. & the Management team

91%

Good hostel right by Siam Paragon and MBK. Staff generally very helpful (some more than others!) very clean facilities and good wifi access. Was about 30mins from Khao San road in the evening traffic


71%

The hostel is pretty modern and clean. But the staff is the worst ever. They are not willing to help you, don't know how to give information and poorly speak any english (for a big and famous hostel like that, they shoul). The only guy who speaks english (clearly not a thai guy) never smiles when talking to you. I felt that everytime I had to talk to the staff I was kind bothering them. Oh, and it says they accept credit card but when you get there the machine actually does not work very well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for making us aware of our service deficiency during your stay. You showed us where we can be better, in terms of handling inquiry and providing a sense of welcome. Please accept our sincerest apologies - we have since dealt with it thru continuous training. We are actively providing English classes to our staff and saw improvement on their proficiency level as the class progressed. Thank you once again for your invaluable feedback Happy travels, Janice Y. & the Management team

« first « Prev 1 2
(40 results)


View all Bangkok Hostels

Please give us your feedback