Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Luxembourg City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 2,941 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 2,941 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.9
Luxembourg City Hostel Located at 2, rue du Fort Olisy, , Luxembourg City.
Luxembourg City Hostel
Luxembourg
Luxembourg City L-2261 2, rue du Fort Olisy
82% 2941
49.6131083 6.1379349
Luxembourg City Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2016
6.0

Some rooms smell terribly. The wifi doesn't work half of the time, due to the huge amount of people that use it at the same time. Location is however excellent, close to the center of Luxembourg.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • CanadianBoy
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Sep 2016
4.6

Don't try to do laundry at this hostel. We paid €7 to get access to only 1 set of washer and dryer. We had to wait hours to get our turn AND the dryer took over 2 hours to properly dry our clothes. Wifi does not work in the rooms and there is no real common area besides the restaurant. Would have been fine if this place did not cost so much. I expected better

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Sep 2016
9.4

Amazing hostel that looks more like a hotel. Don't be fooled by it being a few km from the centre; it is in the middle of everything a tourist wants to see. The staff are incredibly helpful and there is a pool table, affordable cafeteria, ping pong table, etc. Rooms are super spacious. Shower and laundry could be better. Avoid laundry here unless you have 5+ hours. One last tip: when the directions to the hostel say take a right after the bridge, they mean the steep pedestrian-only path.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, thank you so much for staying with us and showering us in kind words! We're very happy to hear we were able to meet your expectations and hope you had a good time over here! The city centre is actually really close and just a few minutes walking distance, but you're right that the touristic sites are closer than that. We hope you enjoyed the location and visited everything that you had planned! Thank you also for your suggestion for the directions; We used your feedback and updated them accordingly! Laundry doesn't really take that long. It totally depends on the programme you select as there are dozens to choose from! :-) Kind regards from Luxembourg and hopefully see you again some day!

12th Sep 2016
8.3

Kind of expensive for a hostel, but considering it is Luxembourg, it is the best price in town. Location is very relaxing and scenic, albeit not in the old town. You can make a long walk or short bus ride to old town or to the pubs at the end of the valley. Outside lounging area by ping pong table is great because you are under the cool looking bridge with arches. In house bistro is good value and a pleasant atmosphere. Restaurant patio gives views of forest valley and old fortress/bridge.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, thank you for visiting Luxembourg and choosing to stay with us. We're happy to hear you had a good time overall and hope you enjoyed a few good games of ping pong. :-) The Old Town and city centre are really just a few minutes walking away. Although uphill, we are just around the corner, and the oldest part of the city (The UNESCO World Heritage Bock casemates) are only about 300 metres away actually. We can also assure you that we do our best to keep prices competitive and low. But as you say, it's Luxembourg! Thank you though for pointing out that we're the best price in town! Hoping you have a great trip through Europe and wishing you all the best for all your upcoming destinations!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
8.0

Nice hostel but slightly pricey for facilities offered. Parking can be a nightmare if hostel is full.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to rate our hostel. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! We would like to point out that we try to keep prices as competitive and low as possible, but Luxembourg is by no means a cheap country. For what's included, we are considered ridiculously cheap for this country, and we also have our own many costs to cover. As for the parking, however, we don't usually experience any problems, especially given that we have a second, large parking area behind our building. Perhaps you overlooked that? Kind regards from Luxembourg

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
8.0

Nice quiet and clean hostel in convenient location. Very good value with breakfast included. The girl on check in was absolutely fantastic, however I later overheard another staff member making openly racist remarks in the open foyer which was very bizzare and reflected horribly on the establishment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave us some very important feedback. We are beyond puzzled about the latter part of your comment as it doesn't fit to any of our staff. We (literally) have employees from every corner of the World. Following a thorough check and various conversations with our staff, we still have no idea who could have possibly said something along those lines. In any case, we offer our sincere apologies. We appreciate that you also pointed out the things you really liked and hope you had a pleasant stay overall. It would be great to have you over again some day!

9th Sep 2016
9.4

Great staff and location! The hostel is clean and spacious with comfortable beds. However, the showers had low water pressure. I would definitely stay there again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, glad you liked it over here and nice of you to say that you would come back. Here's to hoping we'll have you over again some day! Until then, good luck for the rest of your European adventure!

  • lumlum3084452
  • Hong Kong, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2016
8.3

The staff is very helpful. Clean and tidy. But there's only wifi in lobby. Not very convenient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We're happy you enjoyed your stay even though you would have preferred to have WiFi in your room. Back in the days, our thoughts were that people should be encouraged to mingle and get to know each other, hence limiting the WiFi to the common areas. We do acknowledge, however, that the demand for internet access has increased drastically and have recently decided to expand the network to the whole building. Unfortunately the installation is not yet in place though. We apologies for any inconvenience and hope you still had a good time in Luxembourg! Good luck on your European adventure and hopefully see you again some day!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Sep 2016
6.6

This was another place that made me feel more like a customer than a guest. The staff didn't really offer any tips, or even offer a map - they just processed me and left me to it. There also isn't really a common room - there's some common space but nothing is set up to facilitate people talking to each other - it seemed like it suited groups well but not solo travellers like myself.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave us some feedback. We're sorry if you felt the staff didn't give you as much attention as you deserved as one of our guests. We would like to point out, however, that maps are available for free and neatly piled up on both ends of the reception desk, clearly visible to anyone checking in or standing at the reception desk. While we're sorry it wasn't specifically pointed out to you, we must say that we haven't yet experienced anyone "not getting a map". Thank you for pointing it out though. As for the lack of a common room, we are rather puzzled by your comment. When you get through the front door, our large common room is situated on the left, fully equipped with sofas, Wifi, a large TV, a book exchange, and a pool table. Again, we're sorry if it wasn't specifically pointed out to you, but it's there. I'm sorry we didn't fully manage to meet your expectations and wish you all the best on your future travels. Kind regards from Luxembourg

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Sep 2016
8.0

Decent hostel, free breakfast was a bonus. Good location can easily walk to the centre.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.