Hostelworld.com

Luxembourg City Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 2,777 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 2,777 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.8
Luxembourg City Hostel Located at 2, rue du Fort Olisy, , Luxembourg City.
Luxembourg City Hostel
Luxembourg
Luxembourg City L-2261 2, rue du Fort Olisy
81% 2777
49.6131083 6.1379349
Luxembourg City Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2016
10.0

Excellent place to stay. Central location. Good suppers in the restaurant with tasty deserts. Dorm room door is a bit loud at night

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd May 2016
9.1

The hostel can be a bit tricky to find at first (Keep going 'down', Google maps had me walking 'up' the Rue du Fort Olisy toward the city walls which is incorrect.). While it was a workout to walk up the hills and steps in order to get 'up' into the main part of town (I recommend the elevator just behind the Uptown Bar for a shortcut!), it was a great jumping off point for exploring the old town. It was clean, had good storage lockers, and comfy beds. Not much more you could ask for!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you for staying with us and leaving us with such positive feedback. It's true that the topography of the city can make it rather confusing to find (and get to) places even though it doesn't look far on the map, so we're happy you figured out how to navigate around this place. :-) They're actually almost done building a second elevator up into the city centre, so that should further facilitate things (especially for those with heavy luggage). Hope you had a good time here and wish you the best of luck for the rest of your European adventure!

  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
20th May 2016
4.0

debra and one staff which i havent ask the name bec i was tired was d rudest staff ive been to in all hostel ive had stayed- didnt give me a sheet,a map,and i have to ask them and when i ask them they are annoyed and both of them talk in their language and d facial expression was terrible when i ask them again about bed sheets,i had to elaborate that theres no bed sheet in the place u had mention that where i shld take it-they also said they dont know about any tourist area,juz check d map!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, we are sorry to hear that you perceived our staff as rude and that our hostel did not meet your expectations. As we are eager to find what went wrong, we would be very (very!) happy for you to contact us directly and give us a detailed account of what happened in order to ensure that it doesn't happen again. Wishing you the best of luck for the remainder of your trip through Europe!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
9.4

This was my first hostel experience and I was very impressed. The building was very modern and clean and the staff spoke English, French, and German very fluently. There is no limit on the age of visitors so there many older people there for a night or so on a business trip. This wasn't a problem for my group as the only older people we came in contact with were quite nice and were traveling with their families. All in all, it was a great experience and I will definitely be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, thank you for trusting us with your first ever hostelling adventure! We're thrilled to hear that it was a pleasant, non-traumatising experience and hope your time with us has encourage you to give other hostels a go in the future as well. ;-) It's not the most luxurious way of travelling, but it's affordable and you (usually) get to meet fellow travellers! Good luck on all your upcoming trips. We hope to have you over again some day!

  • Alexfls9
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
17th May 2016
8.0

Really nice hostel in a nice location but not too close to the centre. If you are looking for something peaceful and practical the hostel is perfect but not the best socially. That being said, we enjoyed our time and would definitely stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hiya! Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave some feedback. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your time here and hope to have you over again if ever you're back in town. We're not at all far from the centre though -- it's just that the hill can be a little impractical for those with heavy luggage. ;-) Kind regards from the staff,

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2016
9.1

This hostel is very clean and quite modern. All of the staff we dealt with wefe friendly and answered any questions we had. The one downside is the lack of wi-fi in the rooms. You can only connect in the common areas and the restaurant. Other than that though, this hostel was great and the location was only a 5 minute walk from the Grund area of town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, thank you very much for your visit and kind words. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your time in Luxembourg and home the rest of your trip through Europe goes as smoothly. As for limiting the WiFi access to the common areas, the idea was to encourage people to get to know each other and bond there. It also helps limit the noise in the dorm rooms. That being said, however, we acknowledge the continuously increasing demand to have WiFi in the whole building and we are currently doing what's necessary to fulfill the necessary requirements. Kind regards from Luxembourg!

13th May 2016
4.9

Hostel is decent when it comes to facilities and sleep. However the negatives are the location being away from everything, staff are also pretty rude, wifi doesn't work outside main lobby, hours of breakfast are much earlier than standard hostel. Also this hostel states it's a youth hostel however there are families and old people there. Very misleading. I won't be coming back.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave some feedback. We're sorry the hostel didn't meet your expectations and hope you still got to enjoy your time in the country. The location is something we're actually rather proud of. Given that we're right next to the city's UNESCO-Zone and that it's just a 6-7 minute walk up the hill into the old town, we certainly don't think of ourselves as being "away from everything". As for the other guests at the hostel, we can totally understand that you'd like to be among other backpackers and young travellers such as yourself. Seen as meeting people is an essential part of every backpacking trip, we see your point of course. That being said, however, welcome everyone into our hostel, including people older than yourself as well as families. We also believe that no one should be excluded from the benefits of affordable tourism. Consequently, we sometimes have tons of backpackers in our hostel and sometimes we don't. We're sorry this didn't suit you, but quite honestly, it's not something we can (or would want to) change. Wishing you the best of luck for the remainder of your trip through Europe and a safe flight home across the big pond.

8th May 2016
7.1

Alright place to stay. There's not too many hostels in Luxembourg, and this might be the cheapest. Some families and older persons here. Not exactly a backpacker/youth hostel. One of the staff members (But only this one) was pretty rude and not at all accommodating. One other one was friendly as possible! The other staff was alright. Mixed bag there. No kitchen or real common area. Restrooms smelled a bit and the showers weren't that great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th May 2016
7.4

Wifi only in lobby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th May 2016
7.1

The room is okay but the wall is like piece of paper so you can hear everything in the corridor. And that night there are some boys shouting and running after 1 oclock so everyone in my room hardly slept at all. Breakfast is bit simple. Location is perfect.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.