Hostelworld.com

Luxembourg City Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 2,806 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 2,806 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.9
Luxembourg City Hostel Located at 2, rue du Fort Olisy, , Luxembourg City.
Luxembourg City Hostel
Luxembourg
Luxembourg City L-2261 2, rue du Fort Olisy
81% 2806
49.6131083 6.1379349
Luxembourg City Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Jun 2016
8.9

Positives: -very clean, the sheets were in individual bags and there were no stains -plenty of bathroom stalls and showers -friendly staff -plenty of lockers -free breakfast -they pay attention to roommates, I was put with another sole female traveler -not noisy -nice view and close to The Bock Negatives: -a bit out of the way of the central village -at the bottom of a big hill that you have to climb up every time you leave -not a ton of security

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
17th Jun 2016
6.3

Not the kind of place to go to party, which was good for me at the time, but it's not where you would go to meet new people. More of a hotel with dorm rooms. To be fair that's what you expect out of a YHA hostel, and they don't advertise anything different. No activities for hostel guests like walking tours or pub crawls and nothing recommended at check-in was a bit disappointing. Large groups of small children coming in and out. Location is good, though. Wifi only works on the bottom floor :/

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Jun 2016
8.3

A perfect location just a stones throw away from the beautiful old city of Luxembourg. Comfortable beds, and very friendly and welcoming staff. The wifi does not work in the rooms but that hardly matters in such a beautiful location. I would recommend this to friends and family.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, thank you for your kind words; it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the beauty of our old town. We're also glad it wasn't too much of an inconvenience for you to only have WiFi in the common areas. It's a work in progress! :-) Good luck on your next trips and hopefully see you again some day!

  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jun 2016
8.6

Friendly and helpful staff, clean, great atmosphere and beautiful view from the rooms. Absolutely awesome hostel, only two things I didn't like. The one there is no wifi in the rooms, only downstairs at the common area and the restaurant. The other is the shower... That's a joke though. At least it was clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave some feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you very much for your kind words! Not extending WiFi to the dorms had been a conscious decision at the time. We meant to encourage people to mingle and get to know each other in the common areas (and also to help limit noise in the dorms). We do, however, acknowledge the continuously growing importance of being connected and have recently decided to extend WiFi coverage to the entire building. It's not in place yet though, so we thank you for your comprehension and hope it wasn't too much of an inconvenience. Kind regards from Luxembourg and good luck on your future travels!

  • Jasonha19871411
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
11th Jun 2016
6.9

I had one problem and that was the Hostel Reception staff. I arrived at 1030 and was told to return at 1330 to check in (Fair enough I'm early). I arrive at 1430 and get told to come back in 10mins?? 1500 I come back and ask for a towel, they say come back in 10mins as they are cashing up. I asked can I take a towel and return later to pay, No you must pay then take towel on my return?? This could be a better place with some basic customer service up skilling and some staff with common sense.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give us some important feedback to improve on. We were sorry to hear you didn't feel welcomed by the reception staff and would like to offer our apologies on behalf of the whole staff. The first time you arrived your room simply wasn't ready because you arrived long before check-in. And unfortunately 15:00 is the exact time of our shift-change. But please don't misunderstand us at this point: We're just trying to offer an explanation, as working the on the reception desk of a 240-bed hostel can be quite challenging. We hope you still enjoyed your stay in Luxembourg and hope to have you over again some day. Until then, we wish you all the best for any upcoming trips!

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
7.4

nice, but poor location

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2016
9.1

This was my second time visiting Luxembourg city and my second time staying at this hostel. This place is super close to everything that you need to see when you are in Luxembourg city. The hostel staff were very friendly and helpful. However, you only get wifi in the lobby and not in your rooms, which was inconvenient. Otherwise, it is a very nice place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, thank you for staying with us -- again -- and leaving us with such kind words. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and find the location of the hostel convenient. As for the WiFi, we're currently undertaking the steps to have the whole building covered. Hopefully by the time you come here for a third time, we'll have it sorted. ;-) Great that you decided to come visit again, and good luck on your future trips!

  • laceykrum
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2016
8.3

It was very nice and super awesome that all the staff members were fluent in English (never taking that for granted again) I will say I wish they advertised more goings on in the area. I didn't really know what to do activity wise and they didn't seem to know much either :/ would've enjoyed it a lot more if the advertised tours or random exhibits going on.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, thank you for staying at the Luxembourg City Hostel and leaving us with some kind words. We're happy to hear there was no language barrier and hope that you enjoyed your stay even though you felt the staff didn't inform you as well as you would have hoped. Wishing you the best of luck for the remainder of your European trip! Warm regards from Luxembourg

5th Jun 2016
7.4

The staff on reception could be more welcoming and outgoing, I felt like I was being interviewed for the room! It's located a bit of the way but a the same time it is a nice location. The building is nice and modern and very clean!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave some feedback. We hope to have met your expectations despite your feeling 'interviewed' for the room. We'll forward your comment to the responsible staff! Glad you liked the location as it's something we're very proud of. There might be a little hill in between, but we're actually very close to the old town and city centre. Good luck on all your future trips and hopefully see you in Luxembourg again some day!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
30th May 2016
8.6

It was a decent place for a couple nights. A kettle or microwave would be nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, thank you for staying staying with us and taking the time to leave some feedback. We don't have a kettle, but boiling water (for tea or soup) is available at the bar free of charge. A microwave is also available if you need something heated up. It's not standing around, but we would have been happy to warm something up for you! I know this information reaches you a little late, but we're just going to have to hope that you come back some day. ;-) Until then, all the best of luck for your future travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.