X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Luxembourg City Hostel Reviews

2, rue du Fort Olisy, Luxembourg City, Luxembourg

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
2684 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Very modern and clean hostel. Good location for walking everywhere. All that's missing is more of a social atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you very much for staying with us and leaving us some feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the facilities and hope that you had a good time in Luxembourg despite feeling a lack of social atmosphere. Unfortunately these things can very much depend on fellow travellers and the season. Wishing you the best for any future trips!

77%

Good Youthhostel standard like it is also known from Germany, alas too much school kids making it a noisy and crowdy place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you very much for visiting us and taking the time to write a review. As you know, youth hostels are meant to be for everyone, including groups consisting mainly of kids and teenagers. That aside, they also make up for a significant and important part of our guests. We do, however, completely understand your point of view and can only hope that had a good time in Luxembourg anyway. Thank you for your comprehension and good luck for any upcoming trips!

83%

The hostel is about 10 to 15 min walk (uphill and pretty steep) to the old town. I took the bus from the airport to the centre and walked 30min to the hostel through the old town. The old town is small and easy to navigate. The hostel itself is very clean. wifi only works on the ground floor. This way people wouldn't stay in the room all the time. Free breakfast was simple but not bad, consisted of cold cuts, cheese, bread and spreads, cereals, juice and coffee.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to rate us. I'm glad to hear you seemed to enjoy your stay at the hostel and it was refreshing to see someone acknowledge and understand our policy regarding WiFi. Indeed, the idea is that people mingle and get to know each other in the common areas, rather than just sticking around in their dorms. It also helps significantly limiting noise in the rooms. I hope it worked! ;-) Kind regards from Luxembourg

83%

The lack of internet in the rooms, the lack of power sockets near the bed (and the fact that there were only very few in the lobby itself) was a significant shortcoming of the hostel. Furthermore, at least one staff that I interacted with was quite rude.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for staying with us and leaving us some feedback to improve on. While the lack of WiFi in the dorms is a conscious decision on our part (to encourage people to mingle in the common areas), the amount of power sockets in the dorms is indeed a fair point brought up by you. I can only apologise and hope it wasn't too much of an inconvenience. Also, don't hesitate to contact us and let us know what went wrong with the staff member! Kind regards

74%

Good hostel, clean, good facilities. I enjoyed my stay. The only thing I have to complain is that an incident happened when I arrived: I did the check in around 10:30AM, they just gave my key and said nothing more, then I imagine "GREAT, the room is ready already". I locked my things in the room, and just left for a walk. When I came back, i realised they broke my padlock and removed my things from the room because the cleaner thought it was a guest that didnt left. Not very welcoming...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give us some feedback. As you correctly pointed out, the issue with the padlock was a mistake on our part and it shouldn't have happened. All we can do is sincerely apologise again and rejoice in the fact that you nevertheless enjoyed your time with us in Luxembourg. We hope you had a great trip through Europe and wish you all the best for future trips!

54%

This hostel has no customer service whatsoever. The staff was not welcoming, you take your own sheets, make your own bed, clean your own table at breakfast, etc. The bathrooms are shared and serve a lot of people. It was warm and uncomfortable. I wish there were other hostel options in the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, We are sorry if you felt the staff was not welcoming and hope you managed to enjoy your stay nevertheless. We also invite you to contact us directly and let us know what went wrong from your perspective. We are surprised, however, that it was such a big issue for you to have to take your own sheets, make your own bed, and place your used dishes on the cart. For the price you pay, we simply cannot offer the same services as a hotel. I hope you understand. Kind regards from Lux

91%

Excellent hostel in a beautiful part of old town Luxembourg City (couple minutes walk to the Bock Casements and Grund). Free breakfast was included, as were sheets which was a plus, and all of the staff members were friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you very much for such a positive review. We're delighted to hear you had such a good time and thank you for recommending us! Glad you liked the location near all the main sights, too. Wishing you the best for the rest of your trip!

97%

good stay! recommend!

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for your visit and for recommending us! Good luck for the rest of your trip! :-) All the best from Luxembourg

94%

We had a great time! Beautiful views from the rooms! Thank you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for staying with and leaving such a nice comment. We're glad you had a good time and it was a pleasure to have you over. Safe travels and all the best from Luxembourg!

77%

It was a very clean and efficiently run hostel but the place had the atmosphere of a wake. It consisted of families, and older travellers. If you are travelling alone and looking to make a few friends for your time in Luxembourg don't pin your hopes here. Also it didn't have a guest kitchen which surprised me quite a lot.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review. As we are a family-friendly establishment with special family rooms and furthermore don't impose an age limit, everyone is welcome here. I'm sorry if it didn't turn out the way you had expected or didn't have the vibe you were looking for. We did used to have a guest kitchen for most of the hostel's existence, but we replaced it with an in-house restaurant due to bad experiences. Kind regards from Luxembourg

40%

hostel staff is ok but staff in hostel restaurant so bad. no choice to stay at another hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry if you were unhappy with the staff in our restaurant. Don't hesitate to contact us and let us know what exactly you were unhappy with, and we'll do the best we can do to improve on whatever issue you may have had. Kind regards from Luxembourg and good luck on your future travels

86%

A large hostel with all the right facilities. Friendly and helpful staff. The location is difficult to find and get to and from, and the directions were not helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave us valuable feedback. I promise I'll look over the directions in the next days. All the best from Luxembourg!

97%

Rooms were very nice, breakfast was great, location was excellent, staff very helpful. The only complaint I have is there was no wifi in the rooms. Otherwise, great hostel, would stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for staying with us and leaving such a flattering review. I'm glad to hear you had a good time and would happily come back. I'm hoping the lack of WiFi in your room wasn't too much of invonvenience; The idea behind it was to encourage people to mingle and make friends in the common areas, and also to limit noise in the dorms. We do, however, acknowledge and understand the need for people to stay 'connected' when travelling, so your feedback will be taken into consideration. Best,

83%

My Partner and only stayed for one night in Luxemburg. All together it was good! The stuff ist nice and the location ist great.The rooms and bathrooms are really clean and everything is in good conditions (instead of the showers). Nothing big to complain. The only thing is that the doors are really noise so you wake up when somebody enters or leaves the room. And the showers ( at least in the first floor) didn't quite work as the shower head was missing. But it's a clean and quiet hostel.

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We're happy you and your partner enjoyed your stay. If you contact us and let us know which room we were hin, perhaps we can have a closer look at the door and perhaps install a new door stopper. My apologies also for the broken shower head. Kind regards from Luxembourg

74%

It took 25 minutes to complete the check-in process.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for your feedback concerning the check-in process. We would love to hear from you and know what went wrong for it to take so long. Obviously it shouldn't (and doesn't usually) take that long, and we can only apologise. Kind regards from Luxembourg

69%

We were two people staying in a 6 bed dorm. There were 3 other guests in the room at the time. These guests appeared to be living at the hostel full time which was an interesting experience. They had their things scattered all around the room and we felt a bit like we were intruding on their space. The breakfast was very good, a good range of options available to suit all tastes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for stopping by and taking the time to rate us. Unfortunately, unless someone notifies the reception, we have very limited insight into how people behave in the dorms. We are sorry if you felt unconfortable in your dorm and would have been happy to move you elsewhere had we known. We can also assure you that no one is permitted to live at the hostel full time and we have strict regulations to prevent this. We hope you still enjoyed your stay! Kind regards from Luxembourg,

66%

Staff seemed to not care about any guests. Every time I asked a question it would be a chore to get an answer. The hostel was new and very nice though. Another problem was that there were not enough outlets in the room for everyone. Also they kicked me out of the common room at midnight. So I went to bed, but then there were people yelling and screaming outside of my window. Much more noisy than I was being when I was sending emails. WiFi didn't work in the rooms

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for staying with us and leaving us very important feedback. Not having WiFi in the rooms was a conscious decision to limit noise in the dorms, but for everything else you wrote we can only apologise. We can assure you that we do care greatly about our guests, and following your review we also had a chat with the night guards last night to find out what happened, as everyone who is still staying the night is free to stay in the common room whenever they want. Kind regards

91%

Their laundry room close after 11PM

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review us. Indeed, following the many incidents in which people put their laundry in the washing machine and then just went to bed, we decided to lock the laundry room during the night. When necessary, however, the night guards can open the room at any time at request. Next time, don't hesitate to ask! :-) Kind regards from Luxembourg

80%

Located close to Old city and within 500 metres of a bus stop. You need a bus to get there from the train station or airport. Not much atmosphere but has everything you need and reasonably priced for Luxembourg.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave some feedback and tips for other travelers. The train station isn't actually that far, but given the topography and confusing layout of the city, we do recommend that people take a bus. Hoping you had a good time in Luxembourg! Kind regards and all the best,

94%

Cleanliness, good service from staff, breackfast included.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola! Thank you very much for staying with us and leaving us and rating us so highly. We are happy you were pleased with the staff and service provided! Kind regards from Luxembourg

(67 results)


View all Luxembourg City Hostels

Please give us your feedback