X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Brussels City Center Reviews

Quai du Hainut / Henegouwenkaai 33, 1080 Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
2841 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

I enjoyed my stay at Meininger. The location is good, walking distance to inner city. I have a few comments regarding how I think the service could be improved. It would be nice if towel was included, although it's reasonably priced to rent it. It would just be an extra service. The breakfast is good, but a little expensive. For that price, I would also expect scrambled eggs, bacon/sausages/beans or something similar.


91%

This is a massive hostel. The room layout was great - it's always a perk to get a free standing bed that's not a bunk! Each bed has it's own charger and lamp, which is awesome. For some reason, there is no door separating the sink area in the bathroom from the rest of the room, so if you get up early or decide to wash up late, you're pretty much forced to wake everyone else up. The hallway doors also slam very loudly when closed normally. Very clean and put together. Good stay.


77%

The rooms were great. Each bed has its own plug and each room has its own bathroom. The bar is a great place to hang out and the entire facility is great. It's not right in the center of town, but it's a close enough walk that it was fine. With that being said, the staff was extremely rude. They were not helpful at all. We asked for recommendations and they critiqued our choices of activities/restaurants. They also made snide remarks when we asked questions. They need a new staff.


80%

Good but expensive, only stayed there because everything cheaper was full. Felt more like a hotel than hostel


94%

I really enjoyed this hostel. The old brewery is an excellent setting for a hostel. The staff were good craic on check-in and very friendly. The rooms were very clean and modern and WiFi in the rooms is always a big plus. Shower was EPIC!!! My initial impression of the area was that it was a small bit dodgy.. but it was fine. Had no issues and people around the area were very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend this hostel.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

It's a very nice Hostel, just a little bit impersonal, but highly recomendable.

  • 22nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Ms, First of all thank you for your feedback. We feel sorry that you find our hostel impersonal. We try to have a great variety of guests here and we are making the effort everyday to be a homelike place where one can be comfortable at the same time that can meet other people. Hope to see you soon at Meininger!

91%

good place to meet new friends!

  • 22nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Mr, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy that you find a lot of new friends in our hotel. We want to be a homelike place where one can meet other people. Hope to see you again at Meininger. Xiexie!

86%

This hostel is very impressive. Very new, clean and modern. Rooms are really big and spacious (even the 10 bed dorm) and have great security! It really is more like a hotel than a hostel - which means it's very comfortable, but lacks a bit of character and charm. So it's not really great to meet people. The kitchen is also too small for a hostel so large, and there was only 1 shower for the 10 bed dorm. The 7.50 euro breakfast was good, wifi was good, bike hire was good and the bar is big.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Mr, First of all, thank you for your nice words about our hostel. We feel sorry that you didn't find our kitchen big enough, sometimes we have a lot of people eating at the same time and that it can be really crowded. On the other hand, we do have a big dinning area as well as our bar, where you can also eat. We try to host different types of people in order to create a good atmosphere. Hope to see you again in one of our Meininger's!

74%

Its a very good hostel with a high quality. The bedrooms are spacious and the bedroom are ensuite and the bathroom is very good . The beds are very confy and hot so you can have a very good sleep during the winter Ths staff are very helpfull

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Mr, Thank you for your words about our staff and the feedback. We try to make as much as comfortable our guest's stays working every day step by step. Hope to see you soon in one of our Meininger hostels.

94%

The metro is by 7 mins walking. There are several affordable eating choices nearby. Very clean, and when I say clean, I mean clean. The bunk beds are very good since they are heavy, when one person moves you don't feel it. Very good installations, looks line new, friendly staff. The mattress was not very confortable.


57%

The staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. A few customers ahead of me were complaining about their rooms and they did nothing to resolve it except offer a different room at a higher rate. The facilities were alright but the walk at night back to the hostel is a few min walk from the nearest metro station and it can feel unsafe.

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Beautiful hostel that feels more like a hotel. Were in a spacious four person room with private bathroom. Everything is new and looks like it's from Ikea. Beds were comfortable and they even provided towels!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Ms, First of all we thank you for your feedback and your nice words about our hostel. Hope that we will see you and your friends in one of our Meininger's aroun Europe.

100%

Great hotel! Very enjoyabl .

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you very much for your review! You just made our day :) We hope welcoming you soon in one of our MEININGERs again!

89%

My friends and I stayed here for one night after a week of traveling. We were pleasantly surprised by how nice this hostel was. It was very clean and the room was big enough for all of us, unlike many of the other hostels we had previously stayed at.

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Bit of a dodgy area. Seemed like breakfast was included when booking although wasn't. Staff were rude on check in. Lovely rooms though that are huge with modern facilities. Guest kitchen was disgustingly filthy and felt dirty using items from there. Would look for other accomodation when returning to Brussels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, We are really sorry you have experienced your stay with us in this way. We have to admit we have had some understaffed busy days, so we are really sorry our service has been not like it should have been... The guest kitchen is normally cleaned twice a day, etc... We hope you will still give us a chance and try us again in the future. So we can make it up to you! Cheers!

94%

The hostel is also a hotel, so it is very nice. Clean as can be. No smells or anything gross like that. Beds were comfy as were the pillows and blankets. The bathrooms are clean and nice! No need for shower sandals here! The shower closet thing even has a towel warmer! Would stay again if I return to Brussels. The location is about a 15-20 minute walk from the city center, but DEFINITELY worth the savings!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Well hello there! Thank you for taking the time to share some positive feedback :) We are glad we could make your stay with us this nice! We are looking forward welcome you soon again in one of our MEININGERs around Europe!

80%

Huge place. It definitely seems as a hotel. Not the perfect place to meet new people that are also traveling. It does provide all the accommodation necessary to have a great stay. Beds are comfortable and the rooms are enormous. Not a hostel environment since you also find families, kids, and school excursions that are staying at the same place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sr, We thank you for your feedback and for your nice words about our hostel. We do have a great variety here at Meininger, this is our concept. We want to be a homelike place where one can meet other people either at the bar or the guest kitchen. We feel sorry that during your stay you didn't find other travelers. Hope to see you soon in one of our hostels.

71%

Not really a hostel, it's a hotel with dorm rooms. No fun atmosphere at all, tons of kids around, and kinda expensive. Beer is cheap though. My only complaint is that my room didn't have a locker for my backpack, so I had to leave it at reception my whole trip.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are sorry you didn't like the atmosphere around the hotel. We are a big house, and certainly in this period we welcome a lot of school groups for their study trips. The prices vary along with the market (offer and demand) so during the weekend or other busy days the prices can increase or decrease according to demand. There are lockers in every room, to be closed with your personal padlock. We hope to see you again!

89%

A great place to stay in Brussels, the staff are great and friendly. Its a busy place so its not quiet. Great stay first time around but on return, unfortunately had an incident where a fellow traveller opened my locker which is why security has been marked as average - did not feel lockers adequate to feel my belongings were safe. But this is only a reflection on the thoughtless person not the place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Ms, First of all thank you for your feedback and the nice words about our staff. We do have a big variety of guests here at Meininger, that's why sometimes you can find people that don't understand to respect the others. We are sorry about your insecurity problem. Hope to see you again in one of our hotels.

83%

Good place but many loud people party in the halls at night

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sr, We feel sorry that you have experienced noises during the night. We try to do our best, that's why our staff do check around each floor in order to avoid groups of loud people, but sometimes unfortunately it's very busy at the front office. We thank you for your feedback, hope to see you soon at Meininger.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(248 results)


View all Brussels Hostels

Please give us your feedback