Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

MEININGER Hamburg City Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 3096 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 3096 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Jun 2017
6.9

Definitely more of a hotel than a hostel. Due to renovations the only shared space is the guest kitchen or the lobby. Also the showers are those awful push ones that squirt for about a minute then shut off. Not really in the city of Hamburg but really close to the train station.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thanks a lot for take your time and give us your feedback. We are nearly done with our renovations, we hope to welcome back here in Hamburg. Greetings, your MEININGER-TEAM

17th Jun 2017
8.3

Was under construction when I was there. But great location. And good atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thanks so much to take the time to rate us. Would be nice to have the chance to host you back. Greetings from Hamburg, your MEININGER´-TEAM!

  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jun 2017
9.4

Great, as always! Previously, I stayed at a 8-bed dorm at Meininger in Cologne and Vienna, so I knew what to expect. It's clean and friendly. When I told the receptionist that there was some problem with the shower in my shared room, he immediately sent someone to repair it. One problem was that the kitchen was not very well-equipped: the knife was blunt and there were not enough pans. Although, it's not a big issue for me. Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2017
5.7

I really did not enjoy my stay here. Especially for a solo traveler this is not a good hostel to stay at. Mostly big tour groups of children stay here, so it is very loud in the morning because they usually gather outside and you can here them through the window from your room. There is no common room or events to meet people. There is a kitchen which is the only plus. People keep saying that it is like a hotel, which it is, but I rather just shell out cash for a nice hotel then.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest! we are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. At the moment we don't have a common area because of the renovation but we are nearly done with that and the space will be provided. Thanks for giving us your feedback

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Jun 2017
8.3

Hostel not "Central", however U-Bahn is very cheap and accessible. Hostel staff in general were very pleasant and helpful. The hostel is currently having renovations, which did limit the social spaces to... just the rooms. Showers fantastic with constant hot water, and shower head placed very high - helps if you're tall like me! Beds very comfortable, bring an extra pillow though. Excellent value for money. Received a partial refund when placed in an 8 bed room with (was booked in for a 6 bed)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for take the time to rate us. We hope to have the chance to host you again!! Greetings from Hamburg. Your MEININGER-TEAM

  • Consuelaamh
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jun 2017
8.3

It really is more of a hotel than a Hostel. The hangout area was being redone when we went so we didn't get to enjoy that but it was still a really nice place to stay. We washed our clothes there which was fine but the dryer took forever to dry all of our clothes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest,Thanks so much for take the time to rate us. We hope to have you back in another time. Greetings from Hamburg, your MEININGER-TEAM

30th May 2017
10.0

Perfect! It will be perfect if they can offer membership system. That was my second time to stay in their group hotels but they can't find out my information directly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for take your time and rate us. We hope to keep on having the opportunity to host you. Greetings from Hamburg, your MEININGER-TEAM

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
28th May 2017
8.6

This is more of a hotel than a hostel. They do have dorm rooms, but not really a common area. The private rooms are really spacious!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you for your comment. Hope to see you again. TEAM Meininger

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2017
8.6

I think it was expencive. But we had two good nights here, and can't complain about anything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you for your comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again. Your TEAM Meininger

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th May 2017
7.4

They are constructing. Maybe after they finish is more comfortable, now, common areas are not that interesting. Good rooms, good wifi, still, expensive on the weekends. I would come back if needed. Location for my needs was excellent, near a small downtown and train station.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guests. Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you again. Greetings from your TEAM Meininger

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.