Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

MEININGER Hamburg City Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 2,861 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 2,861 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5
MEININGER Hamburg City Center Located at Goetheallee 3-11, , Hamburg.
MEININGER Hamburg City Center
Germany
Hamburg 22765 Goetheallee 3-11
83% 2861
53.5544208 9.9380350
MEININGER Hamburg City Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Aug 2016
7.4

I stayed in a decent number of hostels in the past weeks and most of them had lockers where you could store your valuables. However MEININGER does not have those, thats why it gets 3 in security. It is quites far from the center. Even though you are close to the Altona Station you can stay in other hostels in the city with similar facilities and conditions, namely DJH Jugendherberge Hamburg "Auf dem Stintfang" (I stayed there for one night so I know what I am talking about).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Aug 2016
4.6

The name for this hostel is an outright lie. Hamburg City center is a specific place, which this hostel is nowhere near. This place is a twenty minute train away from the city center and has nothing remotely interesting for a traveler close by. Also, it was empty. You will not meet people here, it just isn't built that way.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Aug 2016
8.3

This hostel really feels like more of a hotel than anything else. It is very clean and well kept and the rooms are large with large lockers for your gear which we found great. It was also great that the front desk is open 24hrs if you are arriving late or early. The breakfast is a nice touch and it's a decent deal for being able to stay and eat all morning if you want... The location isnt central but it is close to a train station. Overall we had a great stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2016
10.0

Awesome Hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Aug 2016
7.4

Clientele accused us of not flushing toilet. A man from the USA spent all day on a Macbook in the kitchen.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2016
9.1

Great place to stay. The room was spacious and clean. Qute close to the train station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kivind
  • Costa Rica, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Aug 2016
8.3

Hostel feels more like hotel. No atmosphere at all. Facilities were very good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
9.4

Just thought this was a bit overpriced, but other than that great!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
27th Jul 2016
9.1

The hostel was really comfortable and clean, much like a hotel. Although it wasn't in Hamburg city centre, it was right near the train station which meant it was really easy to get to for backpackers like us! The kitchen facilities were brilliant although there wasn't a tin opener, and there was also a large common room and bar.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
4.6

Lack of transparency re room charges, therefore had to pay up to 100% more per night - up to €49 to share with 8 others (2 who had to sleep on a cracked vinyl couch - poor them), very stuffy, no air circulation, noise from bar until 3-4 am, etc, worst value for money I've ever had to pay. Will avoid 'mien ingot' in the future and would advise others to access as a last resort only.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Your Meininger Hotel Hamburg

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.