Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

MEININGER Hamburg City Center

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 2,829 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 2,829 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
MEININGER Hamburg City Center Located at Goetheallee 3-11, , Hamburg.
MEININGER Hamburg City Center
Germany
Hamburg 22765 Goetheallee 3-11
83% 2829
53.5544208 9.9380350
MEININGER Hamburg City Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Jul 2016
7.1

Rooms are nice, big and clean. But it feels more like a hotel than a hostel (even if I am in a dorm). So if you are looking for a place to call home, with a cozy atmosphere, this is maybe not the best place. Staff is friendly though and there is a guest kitchen and a bar. It is close to the S-Bahn station or you can walk to the city center but it takes a while.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jul 2016
6.3

Definatly not in the city centre its another train journey and a 10 mintue walk away

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Jul 2016
6.9

Very very clinical and sterile. Beds, toilet and shower all great however. Wouldnt call it a hostel. More of a hotel. No lockers available in the rooms you need to pay for them and they are ridiculously priced.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jul 2016
5.4

Located in the suburb of Altona not Hamburg city centre despite it's misleading name. You will need to get a train every day which is quite expensive in an otherwise very walkable city. There is no hostel atmosphere at all, the building is a giant hotel chain with dormitories and 20+ rooms per floor. There were multiple school trips staying in the building at the time too which also takes away from any hostel atmosphere. Overall the room was pricey, but clean. Not great for backpackers.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were not quite satisfied and that you were missing the hostel atmosphere. However we would love to welcome you back :) Sincerely, Your Meininger Hotel Hamburg

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jul 2016
7.7

This is more of a hotel than a hostel the only resembilence of a hostel is that it has bunks in the room. Lots of young families and no atmosphere what so ever! However the place was clean and there is a kitchen to use, rooms are spacious and beds were pretty comfy

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there and thank you for your review! That is true, we are a hostel-hotel mix. Therefore you will find a lot of characteristics of a hostel but then again also of a hotel. Nevertheless we hope to welcome you back in the future! Best regards, your Meininger Hotel Hamburg

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Jun 2016
10.0

very clean and tidy room, plus generously spacious ! love the room allows you freely move around and still has loads space left!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you :) Glad to hear you had a great time!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 35 reviews
26th Jun 2016
9.1

Great rooms! Big and spacious with comfy beds. Good wifi. Ok location, train station in walking distance. Very clean and modern

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you :) Glad to hear you had a great time!

26th Jun 2016
9.1

Great hostel! Cover all the facilities you need in order to get comfortable, kitchen guests, luggage room (payed), bar, pool table, bathroom and shower in the room, big lockers in the room too.. The only bad thing is the location, you can't go anywhere by feet.. but the main station outside the city center is 5 minutes so you can everywhere easily by metro

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, your Meininger Team Hamburg

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
8.3

Hotel or Hostel - Meininger is somewhere in between. Professional friendly staff. Clean and good facilities. Unfortunately the implemented paid storage lockere, so better include this in your Budget.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your nice review! We are glad to hear that you liked the Meininger concept and we are looking forward to welcome you back :) Best regards, your Meininger Team Hamburg

  • RaginCaigen
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
8.3

Great place to stay in Hamburg! People were not very friendly but that is ok. Going into town was hard due to the distance but there was a station close to the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Thank you for your comment! We are sorry to hear that you were not quite satisfied with our staff! Nevertheless we hope to welcome you back and proof you wrong :-) Best regards from Hamburg, Your Meininger Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.