Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

MEININGER Hamburg City Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 3037 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 3037 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Apr 2017
10.0

It was a great place to stay! Very clean, and organized, while I was there the kitchen was being restored, but they had these very good take away breakfasts. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Apr 2017
7.7

The hostel was pretty nice overall! Stayed for one night to break up our bus trips. There was construction going on while we were there but it really did not affect the quality of our stay which was nice. It is quite the walk from the city centre even though it's called the 'Meininger Hamburg City Centre', we were told it would be almost a 40 minute walk to the actual city centre or we would have to take a train/bus. As we did not have that extra time we did not make the trip unfortunately.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Chelsea, thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback. We are glad that you were satisfied with your stay in our hotel. Next time just take the train to the city centre, it just takes 10 minutes then to get from Altona to the city centre. :) Best wishes from Hamburg, your MEININGER-Team

  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Apr 2017
8.0

It was very clean and the beds were comfortable, didn't like the showers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Alejandra, thank you for your feedback and kind regards from Hamburg! Your MEININGER-Team

6th Apr 2017
7.7

It was under renovations, which detracted from the atmosphere a bit. It isn't located close to anything special, but it's only a few minutes' walk to the train station, and the trains in Hamburg are fast and incredibly easy to use. So, don't let the off-set location deter you from staying here. There are cubby holes and a hanging rack in the rooms, but they're not lock-able with your own padlocks, so very small lockers can be rented for a fee on the first floor. Great bathrooms in the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2017
7.7

I was pretty disappointed that there weren't any outlets for top bunks, had to use one behind a locker to charge things. On the floor I stayed one elevator wasn't working (pressing button didn't call it) so I had to use the other one. They advertise having a bar but it's just a bunch of coolers you can buy beer from. Otherwise a decent stay, everything was pretty clean and room doors are secured by key card.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Ahmed, thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback. We will consider the points you mentioned and try to improve these as fast as we can. Hope to welcome you again here soon, your MEININGER-Team

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Mar 2017
9.1

O hostel parece ser novo, e muito bem montado. Camas muuuuuuito confortáveis, com um Quarto excelente. Os armários eram grandes, e cabiam minha mala dentro, tranquilamente. O único porém é que ele fica um pouco afastado do centro, mas cerca de 10min de uma grande estacao de Metro e trem, que tem várias comodidades associadas (Mc´donalds, mercado, restaurantes, etc). E tem um REWE Supermarket ao lado, o que ajuda muuuuito. O staff é extremamente simpático.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
9.1

Beautiful design, need to take U-bahn to get to other attractions, supermarkets nearby, but no power socket for upper beds

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
6.9

I booked a bed in a 8-bed mixed room. This option at this hostel is perfect for partiers collapsing in a bed after a night in Sankt Pauli OR for a large group that can book a room for themselves---but maybe not for others. The security was minimal, only some rooms have lockable lockers. The rooms are big, with no option for single-sex. It was very loud even on weekday nights. Pros: It was clean, easy to reach with the S-bahn, and the staff was helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Beatrice, thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback. Just to let you know: We also offer a female dormitory. :) If it is to noisy, we are more than happy if you inform our staff so that they can solve the problem (we have a 24hr reception). We also have lockers in our ground floor, which you can use for a fee. Best wishes from Hamburg, your MEININGER-Team

12th Mar 2017
8.6

The bar was closed while I was there, so very limited social opportunities as a solo traveler. Location was good, close to public transport and a train station. Kitchen was fine, pretty small but not many people were using it so it never ended up crowded. Very much a hotel rather than a hostel, feels like they just stuck a bunch of beds in what used to be a suite

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Iris, thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback and greetings from Hamburg! Your MEININGER-Team

5th Mar 2017
8.9

Very good hostel, one of the best I've stayed in (particularly considering the price). One downside was the lack of lockers in the rooms, they instead have the type you pay for on the ground floor. Personally I'd much rather pay slightly more per night and have regular lockers in the rooms. The only other con was the price of the buffet breakfast... it was very standard buffet stuff, but more expensive than most I've been to.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Harry, thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback. We will consider the point with the lockers for our next construction works. Hope to welcome you again in Hamburg soon, your MEININGER-Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.