X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Hamburg City Center Reviews

Goetheallee 3-11, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2421 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Everything was very clean. The hostel is far from the downtown area, but it is very close to the train station that takes you downtown which is pretty convenient.


37%

No rooms assigned. finding a bed is a free for all.My room, all10 lockers had been broken into and were unusable. drunks outside till 5.30 am and at 6 am the front desk girl comes in with a guest whos bed was being used by someone else. After being basically told too bad, I got up packed my bags and told him to use my bed. I paid for two days stayed one restless night and left without repay to Frankfurt. The downstairs safes have 2 dollar locks and are out of sight of reception. Security is ZERO

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for takind your time and write us a review. Actually, it is the first time we ever have heard something about using beds from other guest. In this case, the reception is busy 24/7 so you can talk to us any time, therefore we have bedcards aswell. We know sometimes, when the people are coming back from a party in late hours, they do not have the biggest respecet in that moment for other guest, but we are always there, if guests have any problems! best wishes!

77%

The room we've stayed in was very spacious with a nice bathroom. The hostel is close to the station, close to some restaurants and shops. If you feel like going to the city center you gonna have to take a train to there, but its like only 10 minutes away. Staff were helpful and the vibe is okay. I would say more for family than young people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your great review! We would be very happy to welcome you again here in hamburg. Best wishes, your meininger team hamburg

94%

It's a bit of a walk away from things, but definitely manageable. I would recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you so much for your great review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Hope to welcome you again here in hamburg, best wishes! your meininger team hamburg

83%

Beds and blankets are amazingly comfortable. The location is nice and quiet, so you can get a good sleep. The breakfast is a good value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for taking your time and rating us! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us and would like to welcome you again! Best wishes, your meininger team hamburg

54%

Yes I stayed in the hostel for two nights. I was very disappointed in the hostel as they stuffed up my booking. Which was sorted after a long wait in reception. The wifi was shockingly unreliable. The location was great. The staff were very unhelpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you so much for rating us! We really need to apologize for the inconvinience you had at the reception, i really can not tell you how that could happen. We would like to welcome you an other time here in MEININGER Hamburg and wish you all the best! Your Meininger Team Hamburg

83%

Good location in a very safe area. Well kept with a helpful staff. More like a shared-room hotel than a hostel, and location is a bit far to walk downtown; however the harbour is easily reached by train. Solid experience.


83%

This place is more like a hotel than a hostel.


83%

It's not as central as advertised. It's in the center of Altona, near the Altona Hbf/train station, which is a long walk from the main Hbf/ the actual city center. Still, it's a cool neighborhood. Just check a map before you book.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for rating us! Actually the hotel is in the city center , most of the people think that city center means it´s right at the central station but its not. The hotel is in an are which is very near to all the important touristic attractions. Hope to welcome you an other time here in hamburg! Best wishes

94%

Highly recommend

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you so much for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Hope to welcome you again here in hamburg! Best wishes

94%

More like a hotel than a hostel, very comfortable and relaxed. Near the centre of the Altona area which itself has a bunch of bars and shops, but the nearby train station also gives you quick access to the centre of Hamburg.


97%

One of the best hostels I stayed at in Europe. Great location, very clean,nice staff and overall nice atmosphere. The even had free laundry facilities! Definitely recommended!


91%

A good place to stay at. Very comfortable and close to Hamburg-Altona station. Very quiet.


66%

too expensive 36 euro !!! with no breakfast included, and not really in the city centre .

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Initially we were put in an 8 bed room (6 beds and 2 camp beds) when we'd booked a 6 six bed room, which we felt was unsafe, but when we bought this up with reception we were moved straight away. Other than that a good stay. We have stayed here before when in Hamburg and would almost certainly book again.


80%

It's a hotel with shared rooms, but it's certainly clean, secure and cheap. It has a equipped kitchen, availeble to guests. It's located in a shooping area of the city, five minutes away from the city centre by S-Bahn.


60%

Doesn't have a good atmosphere and is not too close to the city center, but taking the train in is no big deal. Seems to host a lot of stag parties. Wouldn't stay again because of the hotel feel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for taking time and rating us! Actually the hotel is in the city center, most of the guests think that city center means central station, but its not. From the hotel you can reach all the main touristic attractions. We hope to welcome you an other time here in hamburg, best wishes!

74%

It's a huge place, more of a budget hotel than a hostel. Don't go expecting a party place with loads of people hanging out but for what it is it's a perfectly pleasant place to stay


89%

The rooms were comfortable and an excellent social environment. We particularly enjoyed the ensuite bathroom and daily cleaning. It was a disadvantage that the top bunks were not made up, whereas the bottom bunks were. Staff ranged in quality from helpful to clueless. One of our group found the 'cupboard' arrangement for beds to be odd, given that it isolated some guests from others. Staff initially did not take our complaint seriously. The lockers were shoddy and need to be replaced.


89%

Really nice hostel, more like a hotel! Facilities are great, kitchen was excellent and the staff helpful. Only downside was the bar is only open on certain days but there is a supermarket right around the corner where you could get a few drinks and use the bar area to socialise. Not a bad location for Hamburg and would definitely book again!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(75 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback