Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

MEININGER Hamburg City Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 3060 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 3060 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2017
8.6

We stayed here for a Hamburg game. Coming from the US and staying one night it was worth the money. Get a private room if you have over 2 people in your group

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you for taking you time. We're glad to hear you liked our Hotel. Maybe we can welcome you in one of our hotels some time again. Greetings, your MEININGER-Team

28th Apr 2017
7.4

I only stayed at Meininger for one night, but I enjoyed my stay! Location is pretty far away from the city center if you're walking, but it's only a 5 min walk to subway station. The room was really large so I had space for all of my stuff, although I didn't see any lockers in the room. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was clean! Staff was friendly. I would stay here again!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2017
9.4

I liked this hostel a lot. It is a little outside the city center but not too far by the S-bahn. I actually really loved the neighborhood. It is more residential and quiet and I thought it was beautiful. Also, it is a 30 walk to Sternshanze (hip nightlife) or the cool area just north of Reeperbahn. The dorm bunk beds are top of the line (big, quiet, built in lights and plugs). The only disappointment is their main lobby area was being renovated so there wasn't a place to hangout or meet people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2017
8.0

The Meininger (Hamburg) was a comfortable and pleasant stay. The rooms were very clean; the staff very friendly. The only downfall to someone may be the location relative to the city center. You must take the BAHN, however, it is a ~10 minute trip so really not much of a hassle. If you are looking for a "standard" hostel with bar/community space/meeting people, however, this may not be the spot for you as there is no bar/dedicated community space. Nonetheless, I would still recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Andrew, thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a good stay in our hotel in Hamburg and we are sorry that we are not able to offer a bar / huge lobby or similar at the moment. It is because of our construction work right now but soon we will have a great new lobby, bar and so on. Hope to welcome you then again here soon, your MEININGER Team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
8.3

The hotel facilities were spotless and the staff lovely. Wifi worked well and the beds were comfortable. However, the hostel much more like a hotel in that it had a very sterile atmosphere. There were renovations being done at the time so the only 'common room' area was a couple of sofas next to the reception. Not very inviting. Also there was no lockable storage inside the rooms which was quite inconvenient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
6.6

Mixed room: The presence of unknown girls disturbed me somehow.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Nikola, thank you for your comment. For your next stay, you are able to book a single room for your own. :) Best regards from Hamburg, Your MEININGER-Team

22nd Apr 2017
7.7

The location was quite a bit away from the main sites in the city, but the rooms were large and clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Alaina, thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback. By public transport you can reach the city center of Hamburg in 10 - 15 minutes and the train station Altona is just a 5 minute walk away from our hotel. Greetings from Hamburg and we hope to welcome you here again soon! Your MEININGER Team

11th Apr 2017
8.0

The hostel is nice, they were reconstructing some stuff in the ground floor when I was there so they weren't in their best shape. Location is not the best but ok. Staff is friendly. Overall I'd say it's a good place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • tombaker665954
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
11th Apr 2017
8.6

Always recommend staying here, always very clean and friendly staff. Also 24 hour reception which is handy if you get in late to Hamburg. Having some building work so the reception is in the bar now but will also use this hotel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Tom, thank you very much for your feedback. Hope to welcome you again in our hotel soon, your MEININGER Team

  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Apr 2017
10.0

It was a great place to stay! Very clean, and organized, while I was there the kitchen was being restored, but they had these very good take away breakfasts. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Elizabeth, thank you for your awesome feedback, we are more than happy to hear that you had a good stay with us. Greetings from Hamburg and we hope to welcome you here again soon! Your MEININGER Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.