X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

MEININGER Hamburg City Center Reviews

Goetheallee 3-11, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
2199 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

People at the reception were very friendly and always ready to help: The rooms were nice and clean, but they should be a bit warmer when it is cold in winter!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and comments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here in Hamburg and that our staff was able to help you with everything. We are sorry that your room was a bit too cold during your stay. We are trying to find out the reasons for this and hope to fix it soon. We hope to welcome you back during your next trip to Hamburg. Best wishes from your MEININGER team in Hamburg!

86%

We enjoyed our stay. It's perfectly suited for big groups (we were with 24), lots of space to chill out. The staff was also very friendly, that's a big plus!

  • 30th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guests, thank you for your comment. Of course we remember you and your group. We hopte to see you soon at our Hotel in Hamburg. Your team from Hamburg

77%

if u are alone city center is better but not so bad there is a train station near Wifi was very bad in the room


34%

This hostel like all three I have been to has no atmosphere, the "bar" was not attended and no music so nobody hung out there. For a person traveling by themselves I know I rely on something to meet other people besides your roommates. The staff at these hostels don't interact with anyone I work in a hostel in London and know the importance of this making the customers feel welcome! Also the lockers in my room were all broken Wouldn't recommend these hostels to ANYONE!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your comment. We are so sorry that you wasn´t happy with your stay. You booked during the christmas time. Normaly the most backpacker books during summer time an the hostel/hotel is full of backies. We offer our guest our nice guestkitchen, free games, at one time in month a big event specially for our young backpackers. Our helpfull staff helps you 24/7 to give you some sightseeing or nightlife recommendations. Your Meininger Team

97%

Meininger is a great Hostel chain. It is a combination between hostel facilities and good quality, new 3 star hotel facilities - perfect for a city break when you just want a base and feel safe and comfortable. I haven't been to any of the other Meininger hostels, but fellow travelers had and were particular about booking the same company when available in the cities they were touring.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Madame, we are glad that you had great stay at Meininger. Thank you for the goog comment. We hope to see you soon. Your Team Hamburg

89%

Very good hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, we thank you for your comment. We are pleased to hear that you like MEININGER and had a great stay with us. We hope to see youa again! Your Meininger Team from Hamburg

100%

Great hostel with first class services and professional staff. I highly recommend the place, sad I have missed the Christmas biscuits and glühwein on the day I checked out. Maybe next time. I will definitively come back to this hostel if I have to travel to Hamburg again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Madame, we thank you for your great comment. We hope to give you some christmas cakes next time. :) We looking forward to see you! Your Meininger Team Hamburg

91%

Maybe the room is a little big so the radiator doesn't work so well. The location is really convinient.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Madame, thank you for your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope to welcome you again. Your Team Meininger Hamburg

97%

Everything about the hostel was great - huge dorms with lots of space, helpful staff, good kitchen, etc. The location is not in the city centre, it's in Altona to the west. There is an S Bahn nearby so it is easy to reach the city quickly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sir/Madam, thank your very much for your good comment. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We would be happy to see you again. Your Meininger Team Hamburg

94%

Good for a short stay to explore the city. But a little too big to meet other travelers in community area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your comment. We are glad that you had a great stay. Thank you. Your Meininger Team Hamburg

80%

Smart, clean and secure hostel no doubt. However staff are very hotel like, general atmosphere is not very communal, only saw someone staffing the bar once. Cant argue with the price however.


100%

We had an amazing stay at Meininger Hamburg, whilst spending a weekend in Hamburg for the Christmas markets. It was easy to find (a two minute walk from Altona S-Bahn) with a 24 hour, manned reception desk. Although it's big it didn't feel crowded or noisy. Our group had a combination of twin, family and all female dorm rooms and everyone was happy with their choice. The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of space in the rooms so you didn't feel on top of one another.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at MEININGER. Also we hope to welcome you at MEININGER again. Kind regards Your Team Hamburg

74%

Great location, very clean.

  • 7th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We hope to see you again! Your Team Hamburg

97%

Staff we're awesome, rooms so nice you'd think you were in a five star hotel, only down side is it doesn't quite have the hostel vibe. But besides that great value awesome people everything you want and more

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your good comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again at Meininger Hotels. Your Hamburg Team

94%

So comfortable here, nice to have the bathroom and toilet separate. Big spacious rooms, could have run laps around it. I never got the breakfast, there is Lidl just in the train station beside mcdonalds, it was cheaper so I usually got supplies from there. Nice walk down to the Fischmarkt, can walk all the way to Miniatur Wunderland, only took about 30/40 minutes. Easy to get here from the Airport too, very straight forward. I would stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Also it is nice to hear that you be pleased with our position. We would be very happy to see you again at MEININGER. Kind regards Your Team Hamburg

94%

Nice staff, good atmosphere and really central. We enjoyed our stay a lot.

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your good comment. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Also we hope to see you again at MEININGER. Your Team Hamburg

1 2 Next » last »
(36 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback