X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Hamburg City Center Reviews

Goetheallee 3-11, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2372 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Overall I thought that the hostel was very good. Very clean & a friendly staff.

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Thumbs up!


71%

This was a nice hostel with spacious rooms. However, there aren't any lockers provided in the room for your belongings which is a safety issue when you are staying in a dorm with strangers. Didn't really have a "hostel" atmosphere but this was expected. Good proximity to the center and easy to get anywhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for rating us! Of course we have lockers in the rooms. Not in every dorm but for those cases there are safety boxes on the main floor, where you can leave your belongings free of charge. We would like to welcome you an other time here! Best wishes, your Meininger Team Hamburg

89%

Nice surprise of the state of the room, very clean, tidy and a modern appeal. Quiet setup with an average view of the city. Parking the car was quite handy and made it a lot easier to stay here, as was the close proximity to the Altona train and subway station. With the addition of a couple of nearby supermarkets and bakeries, our stay was an overwhelming success.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for Rating us! Good to hear that you had a great time here in Meininger Hamburg. We would like to welcome you an other time here in Meininger Hamburg! Best wishes, your Meininger Team Hamburg

94%

MEININGER is perfect. It is 10-minute walk to the metro station, which takes a further 3 to 4 stations to the city centre. However, everything else is perfect. Receptionists are helpful and even permit my friend paying a dormitory fee to live in a private room (because he booked a dormitory). It also offers a kitchen for guests. I like it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for Rating us! Good to hear that you had a great stay here with us! We would like to welcome to an other time here in Meininger Hamburg. Best wishes, your Meininger Team Hamburg

60%

There were BED BUGS in my bed! It was horrible! I had health problems for more than one week!

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

really great. met some new friends. Thanks.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank youfor rating us! Good to hear that you had a great time here in Meininger Hamburg! Hope to see you soon. Best wishes, Your Meininger Team

100%

Very convenient place to stay for a visit of Hamburg

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for Rating us! Good to hear that you had a great stay here in Meininger Hamburg. We would like to welcome you again here in Hamburg! Best wishes, your Meininger Team Hamburg

80%

This hostel is contemporary and new, with perfect cleanliness and bright decor. The tiny kitchen also doubles as the common room, which makes it rather cramped at mealtimes. My 8-person dorm had an ensuite bathroom. Close to the Altona station and many shops, but not within walking distance of Hamburg's central station and surrounding streets.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for staying with us and for rating! Good to hear, that you had a good stay. The walking distance to the Hamburg Main Station is round about 1 and a half hour but by train it is just 10 minutes away. So we would like to welcome you an other time here in Meininer Hamburg! best wishes your Meininger Team Hamburg

89%

Very good staffs here~~This is NOT my first time to stay in MEININGER. Sometimes when i have no other better choices, i choose this one. At least a better place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your rating and for staying with us again! So then, we would like to welcome you an other time or again here in Meininger Hotel Hamburg! best wishes your Meininger Team Hamburg

94%

The stuff was really nice. Every time we needed something, they helped us. The location is great, and it's a really clean hotel. The only thing os that the breakfast is too expensive, but there's a kitchen that you can use, so it's not,real a problem.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your rating and for staying with us! Good to hear that you had a great time here! We would like to welcome you an other time in Meininger Hamburg! best wishes your Meininger Team Hamburg

91%

More like a hotel than a hostel, had a great stay here. The room was very big and clean. The hostel is only a short walk away from the S-Bahn. I would defiantly recommend.


83%

it was nice to stay There and I did meet some nice people

  • 13th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you had a nice stay with us and were overall happy with our hostel. We hope to welcome you back during your next trip to Hamburg. Your MEININGER Team Hamburg

83%

Altona' s not really the cool part of town, but it's right by the subway station so that's not a big deal. It's clean and comfortable and not very expensive and a decent crowd comes here. Quiet for sleeping. The internet can be difficult, but I liked this place enough to come back

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you so much for rating us! Good to hear that you had a good time here! So we are looking forward to welcome you an other time here in MEININGER Hamburg! best regards, your MEININGER team

1 2 3 4 Next » last »
(74 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback