X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Hamburg City Center Reviews

Goetheallee 3-11, Hamburg, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2397 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Its an awesome hotel...very clean, very comfortable .. But the receptionists are not friendly at all. Besides Tomas , no one would help us w any info.. Not a place to make friends


89%

Large hotel, not much atmosphere and kind of expensive, but the facilities and staff were top notch. Good kitchen and laundry, and they usually have leftover bread for free. Nice place to stay but not really my style of hostel. Kind of loud at night with so many people.


86%

This is a very nice hostel. My only problem was the miscommunication in whether I would have to pay by credit card beforehand or with cash on arrival. The information about special times of the year when bookings must be paid in advance was not updated in the original booking email. This caused us a bit of a headache as we understood we would be paying in cash like the email said. Otherwise everything was fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you very much for your review. We're sorry to hear there was some missunderstanding concerning the payment and we will look into that further to prevent it from happening again. Hope to see you again in one of the 16 MEININGER Hotels around Europe. The MEININGER Hamburg Team

83%

This was more like a hotel than a hostel. There was a nice couch in the room to sit on and ample space to spread out in the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks a lot for taking the time to write this nice comment. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here. Make sure to visit us again next time you're in Hamburg. Take care, The MEININGER Team Hamburg

91%

The rooms are really nice !!! It's a little far from the city center though !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review! We're happy you enjoyed your stay here. And did you know taking the S-Bahn it's only a 10min ride to the city center? Hope to see you again soon. Safe travels, The MEININGER Team Hamburg

100%

high standard and good managed serivce

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

We stayed with 4 people in a 6-bedroom. The room was very clean and in good shape, staff was friendly and always available. The quality standard is those of hotels rather than hostels. The hostel itself is situated in Altona, one of the nicest neighbourhoods of Hamburg, which is close to the city center. Areas like the harbor or the Reeperbahn and can be conveniently reached on foot or by train. A downside was that the


100%

Very nice, clean and quiet. One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at.

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Overall I thought that the hostel was very good. Very clean & a friendly staff.

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Thumbs up!


71%

This was a nice hostel with spacious rooms. However, there aren't any lockers provided in the room for your belongings which is a safety issue when you are staying in a dorm with strangers. Didn't really have a "hostel" atmosphere but this was expected. Good proximity to the center and easy to get anywhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for rating us! Of course we have lockers in the rooms. Not in every dorm but for those cases there are safety boxes on the main floor, where you can leave your belongings free of charge. We would like to welcome you an other time here! Best wishes, your Meininger Team Hamburg

89%

Nice surprise of the state of the room, very clean, tidy and a modern appeal. Quiet setup with an average view of the city. Parking the car was quite handy and made it a lot easier to stay here, as was the close proximity to the Altona train and subway station. With the addition of a couple of nearby supermarkets and bakeries, our stay was an overwhelming success.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for Rating us! Good to hear that you had a great time here in Meininger Hamburg. We would like to welcome you an other time here in Meininger Hamburg! Best wishes, your Meininger Team Hamburg

94%

MEININGER is perfect. It is 10-minute walk to the metro station, which takes a further 3 to 4 stations to the city centre. However, everything else is perfect. Receptionists are helpful and even permit my friend paying a dormitory fee to live in a private room (because he booked a dormitory). It also offers a kitchen for guests. I like it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for Rating us! Good to hear that you had a great stay here with us! We would like to welcome to an other time here in Meininger Hamburg. Best wishes, your Meininger Team Hamburg

60%

There were BED BUGS in my bed! It was horrible! I had health problems for more than one week!

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

really great. met some new friends. Thanks.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank youfor rating us! Good to hear that you had a great time here in Meininger Hamburg! Hope to see you soon. Best wishes, Your Meininger Team

100%

Very convenient place to stay for a visit of Hamburg

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for Rating us! Good to hear that you had a great stay here in Meininger Hamburg. We would like to welcome you again here in Hamburg! Best wishes, your Meininger Team Hamburg

1 2 3 4 Next » last »
(76 results)


View all Hamburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback