Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

MEININGER Salzburg City Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 3315 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 3315 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • utkarshkapoor87
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2017
7.7

It would be better to make breakfast cheaper or add more to the buffet!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2017
9.7

So nice! Nothing like the depiction of hostles as in "Hostle" movie that scares Americans away from them. Very comfortable, staff were very helpful. Had a little bike rental station out front we thoroughly enjoyed. The breakfast was a great value. I almost wonder how they make $.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
18th Sep 2017
7.4

Very clean nice place with good rooftop but run more like a hotel than a hostel meaning the staff weren't really knowledgable at all for activities outside the hostel.. breakfast is definitely not worth the money but overall a nice fancy hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Sep 2017
8.9

This hostel definitely delivers on the Meininger brand. Very large common areas, the building is in outstanding condition, staff very helpful. The one drawback is location. This hostel is in the opposite direction of HBF and the old town. Plan on a 25 minute walk to get to either of these.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ntully12
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Sep 2017
9.7

This isn't as much of a hostel as it is a hotel, the room are beautiful and the private bathrooms were a pleasant surprises. The place was spotless and the staff was friendly and helpful. It's a 20 minute walk to all the things you would want to do in old town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest! Thank you for your fantastic feedback! We are very happy that you had such a wonderful time with us. Please note that MEININGER is a hotel/hostel. That means that we do welcome a variety hof guests such as groups, families, backpackers, and business people. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Your MEININGER Team Salzburg

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2017
9.1

Really enjoyed staying here. It's a clean hotel/hostel within easy walking distance from the old city. It's more like a hotel than a hostel, which was great for us because we really love our sleep. If you're looking for more of a hostel atmosphere, booking here won't give you that.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy that you had a wonderful time here in Salzburg at MEININGER. Our lovely team is looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Your MEININGER Team Salzburg

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
3rd Sep 2017
9.4

I wasnt well during my stay so I basically spent four full days inside the hostel, and I can say it was a very comfortable and clean place! Staff were always friendly and helpful when asked about sights or for directions etc. the cleaning staff are always there so the place is spotless (they are probably sick of seeing me!) Rooms are really nice, definitely have a hotel feel which is great. My room had an ensuite with separate toilet and shower which was handy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest! Thank you for your great review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay that much. Our lovely team is looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Your MEININGER Team Salzburg

  • blaisejordan
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Sep 2017
8.6

Just to clarify this is NOT a hostel, it's a hotel with a few dorm rooms. Do not expect the atmosphere of a hostel, there aren't any social rooms or places to hang out. There is a kitchen though however I didn't use it so cannot vouch. Around a 25-30 mins walk or an easy 10 min bus ride to the old town. Rooms were modern and clean, a light and power point for each bed - However the mattress was like a slab of concrete, not very comfortable. Lockers in rooms don't actually lock. Overall good :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy that you had a pleasant stay. Please note that MEININGER is a hotel/hostel. This means we do welcome a variety of guests such as families, groups, business man, and backpackers. Our lovely team is looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Your MEININGER Team Salzburg

28th Aug 2017
8.6

I was there for almost a week before USA return. Desk & cleaning staff are very professional. I appreciate the hotel amenities as well as the hostel amenities. It would be nice if location were closer to Old Town, but simply a matter of tram/bus ride costs. I particularly appreciate the desk staff's preprinted direction sheets to various out-of-town hiking and tourist sites. Create more. Create a simple very LOCAL street map showing bus stops locations for various places.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest! Thank you for your feedback! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much. Our lovely team is looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Your MEININGER Team Salzburg

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Aug 2017
7.7

The hostel was nice and clean. It was a little far from the old city but it was easy to catch a bus from just outside the hostel. The atmosphere was more like a hotel but managed to meet people in my room straight away which was great. Staff were polite and helpful. It was useful to have a washing machine and dryer!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest! Thank you for your feedback! We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and especially appreciate the bus connection, the service from the staff members and the facilities. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Your MEININGER Team Salzburg

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×