Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

MEININGER Vienna Downtown Franz

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 3017 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 3017 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Jul 2017
6.6

Pretty bad: I had to share a double bed with a female stranger (this made both of us uncomfortable). They have hundreds of beds and only a tiny kitchen. The hotel attracts loads of school kids. And the receptionists were formal and lacked a friendly backpacker vibe that I have come to expect from a hostel. :)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2017
9.4

I just loved the fact that we could turn up 8 hours before we wanted to check in, to leave our luggage, connect to the WiFi and get maps and directions. The breakfast was plentiful, nutritious and diverse. I absolutely recommend this place. However, please add on your website that towels are included.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cdscottuk
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Jul 2017
2.0

Terrible experience!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, we are really sorry to read that you didn´t enjoy your stay. We would like to know what you didn´t like in order to improve our service, so we would be grateful if you contact us per e-mail to let us know what wasn´t that good. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and if you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Kind regards, Sara

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2017
7.4

Overall good place. In a quieter area of town but if you don't mind walking a little from the center it's perfectly fine. Suite bathrooms were clean and even had a hair dryer, didn't use it though. HOWEVER the room was unbelievably hot with 4 people in the room and no way to cool it down. The window doesn't open, for safety reasons, and there is no fan for hire or AC. decent place but i couldn't sleep half the night because it was so hot, humid and muggy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Jul 2017
8.3

Our experience here was really good. I would defiantly recommend paying for the buffet breakfast it was amazing! Our room was really nice& the shower was really powerful. Some staff was really helpful, but others came across rude and blunt. The hotel was a nice walk along the river away from the central town, would stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2017
9.7

I came to Vienna mainly to see the Freud museum, so this location was perfect for me. It's a little ways from the Ringstrasse, but close to the metro. Everything was very new and clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Some partiers, but my room was nice and quiet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed it and we would like to thank you for the nice words on the staff. We hope to have you back soon, maybe for the new opening of the Freud Museum in 2020? Best wishes, Sara

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jul 2017
9.1

Great value for money for a proper hotel! great room service and drinks too with good location to transport

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Jul 2017
8.3

Nice place to stay. A bit out of the way, but only 10 minutes walk to the excellent metro system. More like a hotel than a hostel, but you can still meet people in your room or in the kitchen area. Nice a clean, good rooms with aircon.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for the great review! We are happy to read that you got the opportunity to meet some new people and that you enjoyed your stay. If you like MEININGER check out our houses all over Europe on your next trip! Kind regards, Sara

  • wcaitlin07618
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jul 2017
9.4

The Hostel was clean and open with great facilities and areas for socialising with other guests. As a group of three, we prebooked our accomodation weeks in advance for a six share room, however on arrival we were told that we would be split into two separate rooms. We were given a vague reason as to why we wouldn't be put together (referring to present guests), but only after some pressing, received free breakfast as an apology. A great hostel, but unorganised and overcrowded.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jul 2017
9.7

Best hostel i have ever stayed so far. Rooms were cleaning regularly every day so bathrooms and beds were very clean. It was more like an hotel rather than hostel. It is not very cheap but totally worth it's price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.