Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

MEININGER Vienna Downtown Franz

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 2758 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 2758 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
8.0

It's a very clean and well-located hostel. A very good choice for younger people or student groups, but would not necessarily recommend for families with young kids (though there were some there when we stayed). My main complaint is about noise in the halls in late hours, as people came back drunk from being out and were loud and one genius had a break-up call with his girlfriend at 3:00AM in the elevator lobby of the second floor, as opposed to doing it in his room, or in the public lobby

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your honest review. We are glad that you liked our house and are very sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience at night. We regularly make floor checks and in future will intensify them so that a similar situation won´t occur again. We would be happy to welcome you again in one of our MEININGER houses. Best wishes, Sara

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
9.4

We had a great time during our stay! It was cheap and looks exactly like the pictures which we were skeptical about at first! Very clean and helpful staff. It was only a short walk over the bridge to the main center!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed it and that you liked our clean and comfy rooms as well as the friendly staff :) We would be very happy to welcome you again in future! Best wishes, Sara

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
8.9

Very good. Wifi not so good. Definitely would come here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad that you liked it. We already know about the WIFI issue and we will fix it in the next days. We are very happy to hear that you recommend us and we would be pleased to have you back again in future! Best wishes, Sara

  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
8.9

The hostel is clean. The location is close to the city center. The metro is about 10-minute walk from the hostel. The staff is friendly but I wish they would be more informative. One of them said that she didn't think I can get discounts with student cards so I bought one Vienna Card. It turned out that I can get more discounts with student cards than with a Vienna Card! One downside is that the kitchen is very small. Still, it is value for money and I will definitely come back here next time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest! Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback. We are glad that you liked the nice and clean rooms. Although regarding the staff, we are very sorry that you had the impression that they were not enthusiastic to work, we already talked to the staff about that. Also, as MEININGER welcomes every type of guest (families, business people, groups, backpackers) we don´t always have the same in-run of backpackers. Sometimes it´s more sometimes less. Nevertheless, we hope to welcome you again and maybe next time you will get to know some new people :) Best wishes, Sara

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Mar 2017
8.3

Very clean, a nice break after being in hostels for a while. There is no safes or lockers in the room so if you really want to secure your belonging take them with you. While we were there someone had money stolen from their wallet. But really nice facilities, kitchen, beds and showers are great but if you want to use their computers you have to pay for 30 mins or and hour which Was odd. Breakfast is also not included but you can pay for it :) we enjoyed our short time here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write a feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed the rooms and facilities. Actually, under the beds there are shelves which you can lock; if you don´t have your own padlock you can rent one at reception anytime. It is true for using the computers you have to pay a small fee, but WIFI is free in the whole hotel area if you have your own device. We would be pleased to welcome you again in one of our MEININGER houses all over Europe! Since then, best wishes Sara

9th Mar 2017
6.6

Kind of a weird vibe.. the staff were not friendly at all and the common area was very small considering how many people the place can accommodate. There were also a lot of families, which is fine, but if you're looking to meet people this isn't the place to stay. Disappointed overall, my stay at a different one of their properties was excellent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time for a feedback. We are very sorry that your stay wasn´t like you expected. I'm sorry that we fell short on you, but if you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Best wishes, Sara

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Mar 2017
6.9

The rooms are nice and clean but the hostel is more of a hotel and not really a place to meet people. The staff weren't very enthusiastic and seemed to prefer sitting in their office to helping people, but were pleasant when they did actually speak to you. The hostel is in a fairly quiet business area but is only 15-20 minutes away from the more interesting bits of Vienna so is worth it for the price. Perfect if you just want to relax, but not if you want to make friends

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest! Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback. We are glad that you liked the nice and clean rooms. Although regarding the staff, we are very sorry that you had the impression that they were not enthusiastic to work., we already talked to the staff about that. Also, as MEININGER welcomes every type of guest (families, business people, groups, backpackers) we don´t always have the same in-run of backpackers. Sometimes it´s more sometimes less. We hope to welcome you again and maybe next time you will get to know some more people  Best wishes, Sara

28th Feb 2017
8.3

The staff are super helpful here! I got sick and needed a doctor that would take American insurance and they called a place for me and set up an appointment and everything. It was so incredibly kind and I appreciated it so much. The rooms are clean though mine was way too small for four people. It should be a private room for sure. Location is eh, but close to a metro so it wasn't terrible. I'd stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest! Thank you for the positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we could help you finding a doctor. Maybe the six-bed dorms are a better choice for you next time, since there are just bunk beds and there is more space in between the beds ;) We would be happy to welcome you again in one of our MEININGER houses! Best wishes, Sara

21st Feb 2017
7.7

It takes about 25-45 minutes to walk to the big things in Vienna, but I don't think any hostel in Vienna is exactly close to anything. There's also not much in terms of food near the hostel except pizza and a grocery store. There was a reservation mixup and ended up having to change rooms at 11pm halfway through my stay. It was annoying but the staff was super nice about it and offered my free breakfast for the rest of my stay. The rooms are a good size with really nice, clean bathrooms!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay despite the room change you had to do. We hope you enjoyed the breakfast  Also we would be very happy to welcome you again, maybe in Amsterdam or Berlin next time? Best wishes, Sara

19th Feb 2017
10.0

This hostel was Fabulous! Great Location and wonderful value for the money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest! Thank you for the perfect rating! We are glad that we could exceed your expectations and we are happy to hear that you are satisfied with our cost-benefit ratio! We hope to welcome you again soon! Best wishes, Sara

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.