Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

MEININGER Vienna Downtown Franz

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2852 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2852 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • FayCol
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th May 2017
9.4

It's really good place, but they should have a better internet, really slow and didn't work very well

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you for your positive feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for the WIFI issues you encountered, it was probably just a temporarily problem, because we checked the WIFI and it is working properly. We really hope to welcome you again in one of our MEININGER houses all over Europe. Best wishes, Sara

14th May 2017
9.1

Basically fine, though they should add more front-desk staff. Often it is just one person up front dealing with a whole line of people, especially in the morning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay, we are glad you enjoyed it. Actually front-desk is occupied by two receptionists from 9 am to 2 am. It is true that until 9 there is just one person, because usually there is no need for a second one at that time. We apologize that it wasn´t your case and we ask for your understanding. We would be happy to welcome you again in one of our MEININGER houses all over Europe! Best wishes, Sara

12th May 2017
6.6

As it is already said in some previous reviews, this is a hotel, not a hostel. If you're traveling alone and looking to meet people this not the place to go. Also, it is a bit far from city center. Other than that, it's cheap, clean and comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
7.4

Bad lockers, really bad localisation (dangerous way to get there).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th May 2017
9.7

I was only here one night as I wanted an extra night in Vienna and couldn't extend at my other hotel, but this is a great place. Clean and modern, nice kitchen and lobby area, staff was nice. Easily walkable (~15 minutes) to center of downtown.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed our rooms, the common area, the guest kitchen and the location. We would be happy to welcome you again in one of our MEININGER houses all over Europe! Best wishes, Sara

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2017
9.7

I stayed here with five other friends in one room and it was very nice and clean. The staff were very helpful and kind. Definitely returning the next time we visit!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your perfect rating! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially we would like to thank you for your comments on the staff. We are looking forward to welcome you again next time you visit Vienna! Best wishes, Sara

  • Anonymous
  • Kazakhstan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st May 2017
9.7

Good hostel. I liked to stay here for 1 night. Everything was fine: location near the center, Reception is open 24 hours a day, room was clean, and they allowed to leave our luggage before checkin, and aldo hostel has a kitchen and good wifi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you for your great feedback. We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the 24h reception, the clean rooms,our location, as well as other extras like the Wifi and the guest kitchen. If you like our concept check out our other MEININGER houses all over Europe. We would be happy to welcome you again! Best wishes, Sara

1st May 2017
5.7

Far from everything and expensive. They charge €1 per 20 mins on the computer

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are really sorry that you didn´t fully enjoy your stay. Actually our house is in the 2nd district, at the border with the 1st district. You can reach the old town in a 20min walk or by public transport in just a few minutes. Regarding the computers we do charge for it to avoid overcrowding and kids just playing on it. The idea is to use the computers just if you really need to look up something. For everything else you have free WIFI in the whole hotel area :) We would be happy if you give as a second chance to welcome you in one of our MEININGER houses to show you our strengths. Best regards Sara

30th Apr 2017
10.0

Everything with Meininger Hotel is great. Starting from Reception where you`ll find pleasant and helpful staff to make you feel welcome right from the start. Hallways to rooms and rooms themselves are spotlessly clean. Bathroom was spotlessly clean and wifi worked better than in some four star hotels I`ve been around Europe. Beds are comfy, fresh linen and towels is there, heating/air conditioning buzzing perfectly. Meininger hotel will be definitely my number one place to stay in Vienna.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Apr 2017
9.4

The rooms were perferct, really clean, they felt a bit like a hotel. The bathroom and the toilet were in separate rooms and both had sinks. The staff was as friendly and helpful as possible. The only possible downside is that community areas were small. And for me, the location was a plus. It wasnt right in the city centre, but it allowed us to see more of Vienna.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you for your great review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Especially we are delighted to read that you liked our location, the clean and comfy rooms as well as the friendly staff. We hope to welcome you again in one of our MEININGER houses all over Europe! Best wishes, Sara

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.