X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

MEININGER Vienna Downtown Sissi Reviews

Schiffamtsgasse 15, Vienna, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
97 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 100%Cleanliness
  • 96%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

If you are looking for a cheap faceless hotel then this will do the job but if you want a cosy hostel with a common area, sociable kitchen, backpackers vibe then this is NOT what you are looking for. The main backpackers hostels in Vienna are clustered around the Westbahnhof.


86%

No WIFI in the rooms + no AC made it almost impossible to sleep, and location is not the best.


86%

Busy kitchen. Wifi was pretty bad. Nice room and bathroom. Atmosphere very hotel like


100%

Had a brilliant stay here and actually wished we could have stayed longer - fantastic service at reception, rooms were pretty spacious for us and clean. Good location near Schottenring U-Bahn and we just had a wonderful stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you very much for your comment! We also wish you could have stayed longer - it´s always great to see satisfied guests! We hope you will be heading to Vienna again soon and stay at our place! Best wishes Your MEININGER Sissi Team

94%

As a graduate student conducting research on German and Austrian art, I've made Meininger my go-to hotels in Berlin and Munich. I've found the entire chain very reliable for value, cleanliness, and friendly staff. However, the Meininger Wien Sissi was absolutely outstanding. My private room with ensuite bath was affordable as well as spacious, well-kept, and immaculately clean. The staff were incredibly helpful, and the atmosphere was lovely. Will definitely stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there dear graduate! Thank you very much for this awesome review! We are really happy to hear that you had such a great stay here in Sissi! We hope to see you in a MEININGER again soon! Best wishes Your MEININGER Sissi Team

83%

No air conditioning anywhere in the hostel so our room was a bit warm and the kitchen and common areas were hot but not unbearable. There is maid service. very quiet neighborhood. staff was mostly friendly and helpful. Anneke was very helpful and friendly. wifi slow throughout the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you very much for your kind words! It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay here in Vienna even though the temperatures were a bit hot. We will also pass the compliments to Anneke - we are sure she will be happy to hear how helpful she was to you. We would be happy to see you in a MEININGER again! Greetings from Vienna Your MEININGER Sissi Team

86%

More of a hotel than a hostel, which was definitely a good change of pace from the other hostels that we stayed in along our trip. The rooms were very clean and the staff was very, very helpful for anything we needed and for suggestions on what to do in the area. Overall the only bad thing about our stay was the fact that the wi-fi did not work very well, but it was still a great place to stay!

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you very much for your comment! It´s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in MEININGER Sissi even though as you say it´s not a classical hostel. We are sorry about the problems with wifi - we are already working on it and we are sure it´s gonna work better the next time you decide to stay with us! Best wishes Your MEININGER Sissi Team

86%

I stayed in a single room for 2 nights and I have to say that is has beaten many mid-price hotels I've stayed at. The location was perfect, very close to the subway, although you have to be very careful the first time you arrive to get out at the right side of the river. I think I found some very detailed instructions online (the hostel doesn't do a good job here). There is a kitchen and a supermarket nearby (closes early though). Both nights it was quiet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your review! We are really glad to hear that you find your way to our hotel and enjoyed your stay! Thanks for the hint on the directions - we will try to improve the description so the travellers won´t have a hard time finding us! Best wishes from Vienna Your MEININGER Sissi Team

91%

Definitely, a good choice if you are planning to stay in Vienna.


97%

Very nice accommodation in a good location. More expensive than some other places but you get value for money.




View all Vienna Hostels

Please give us your feedback