X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mama's Home Reviews

Calle Orion s-n Entre Venus y Sol Oriente, Tulum, Mexico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
302 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 97%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great location... Close to everything you need! Staff were very helpful, they were able to provide us with a list of amazing places to see and things to do. Free breakfast was epic! All in all highly recommend if you wanna get amongst the central if tulum


100%

We were so good, that we didn't want to walk away! At Mama's Home you are well, you sleep well at night, everything is very clean and comfortable. In the evening, the staff organizes almost always something cool, like tequila sunrise party or barbeque. Special honorable mention also about the breakfast: delicious! Jose and Marcos, finally, were always very kind and available to provide informations and advices, and to answer every request. We highly recommend you stay at Mama's Home! Happy days!

  • 14th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Stayed in Mama's Home for 3 nights recently and had a very pleasant experience. I would like to thank all the staff - who looked after us so well and made us feel part of the family. For value for money - you cannot beat this place and also includes a free breakfast every day.


97%

Great hostel to stay! Barbecues and movies are interesting activities and helped a solo traveler like me a lot. Thanks!

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff were wonderful and the outdoor areas were amazing. Swings at the bar, music, lights in the coconut trees, and hammocks to relax. There was a flamenco Show one night. The staff, especially Jose and Josephine are very welcoming, helpful, and have great recommendations for everything from the best tacos to other hostel reservations and tours. I would definitely stay here again.


91%

Very welcoming, ambient hostel with a well-balanced vibe, friendly and sociable in the evenings with quiet time after 11pm, so you can still get some rest! Good breakfasts, you really do feel at home there hanging out in the beautiful courtyard...

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

one of the best


100%

Great experience. Jose and Al are fantastic hosts and really made my time in Tulum memorable. Perfect location, fun events, and good social atmosphere. I strongly recommend this hostel.

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Friendly staff, room damp , needs ventilation in shower,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, My apologies for your awful experience, we are working at the moment on renovating the bathrooms in the hostel. I took over the place a few months ago and we have been changing a lot of things and a lot to improve. Thanks for the comment it helps us a lot. Warmest regards

100%

I flew in Mexico and went straight to Tulum to start my adventure and get oriented. The hostel gave me a lovely start as well as guided me on the next portion of my journey. Sweet chill place with cool people. Thanks Jose and Antonio and all the other staff! You guys are great!


100%

Amazing staff, great location, very clean, lots of activities - couldn't recommend this hostel any higher. Jose and his staff are welcoming, helpful and have a range of great recommendations - from restaurants to activities to English speaking doctors - they have you covered. It can get party but the noise always stops (and the party kicks on at a nearby bar) by 11 for anyone who needs a good night sleep. The breakfast changes every day and is always delicious.


80%

There is insufficient space here to put all our comments. We'll post them in tripadvisor. There was a lot of positive. On the negative side this hostel seems to think one of it's primary goals is to provide entertainment in the form of loud music and movies whether the guest wants it or not. It makes it difficult to have peaceful moments here and can't sleep until late in the evening.

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Such a fantastic place to stay. Jose and the other guys are amazing, so welcoming and helpful. Jose offered lots of great advice to help us make the most of Tulum. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to chill out and explore.


91%

Jose and the staff at Mama's made it a very welcoming place to stay.. the breakfasts in the morning and the general atmosphere were excellent.


100%

staff is extremely nice. the common area is a great place to meet people and they do events during the week such as cocktail tastings and movie nights. they have quiet hours that start at 11 PM to allow people with early mornings to sleep. clean. great environment.


97%

Jose and the staff are phenomenal! There is almost always something going on at night for you to do: like a movie, flaminco dancers or learning how to make coctails. The rooms are great and well-priced for the area. We would have spent more than a week there, but we moved to a beach campground so we could wake up on the beach. Mama's home has the advantage of being very central and close to the action of town and cheaper restaurants. It's also awesomee to wake up to breakfast and coffee.

  • 30th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very nice and relaxing ambiance. Very helpful staff with a lot of recommendations and tips. Nicely located and very accessible to beach and ruins.


100%

Great place. Jose is ever helpful regarding all things Tulum. Good location in town. Always people around but quiets down after 11pm. Free coffee and breakfast everyday. Would definitely return.

  • 18th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

If staying in Tulum on a budget then mamas home is ideal. The breakfast included in the price are amazing, different everyday, fresh and delicious. The staff are so friendly and helpful and always happy to chat through your travel plans and make recommendations. The hostel itself has a beautiful communal courtyard. It's just wonderful!

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great, friendly staff and the best breakfast you've probably ever had in a hostel...thank you!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(47 results)


View all Tulum Hostels

Please give us your feedback