Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mama's Home

  • Calle Orion s-n Entre Venus y Sol Oriente, Tulum, Mexico

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 1109 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 1109 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Aug 2017
9.4

We had a great time there! Perfect relaxing vibe with a largr open area to meet people. Close main area at 11 though so people can party at the clubs after or get a good night of quiet sleep :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Aug 2017
9.4

Mama's Home was great; really lovely staff and the breakfasts are awesome!!! It's pretty hot in Tulum at the moment so during the day it got pretty stuffy, but it's hot everywhere in the town. Air con and fans at night meant a great night's sleep so it wasn't a problem at night. Great location near lots of places to eat and go out if you want.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Aug 2017
9.7

Loved it here. Only stayed 1 night as the previous two were fully booked. Mama's home was recommended to me before my trip and totally lived up to expectations.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2017
8.9

Awesome!! Staff is very helpful and the breakfast is the best. This really is a home away from home when traveling.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • laurenwinch8591
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
7.1

I have mixed feelings about Mama's house. It was a nice hostel, with a big social area and AC in the dorms. But there was very little atmosphere - people tended to go out for dinner (the kitchen is tiny and not very well equipped) then they completely shut down the common area at 11pm sharp, which was a shame. So it was hard to meet people here as a solo traveller. They also mixed up my booking which was quite stressful, but they worked hard to resolve the issue and were very nice about it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jul 2017
5.1

The girl at the reception didn't speak any Spanish at all, she wasn't very nice either. Water was always cold and there was only one option for breakfast.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • rolandowen7651
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
30th Jul 2017
9.4

A fantastic hostel with fantastic staff. The complimentary breakfast was different everyday (crepes, French toast etc.) and was always delicious. The collectivo stops just outside the hostel and takes you directly to the beach in around 15 minutes. Rooms were air conditioned meaning a good nights sleep and were cleaned daily. The hostel also provides plenty of activities in the evening for guests.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jul 2017
9.7

Love this hostel. Fantastic breakfast, great chill-out area, good activities, very helpful staff. It also seems to get a good mix of people who are looking for different experiences. There are activities in the night to make friends, though lights out at 11 so won't keep you awake if you want an early one. Only negative for me was that the 8 bed dorm didn't have air con apart from in the night, at which point it got very cold. Not enough of a reason for me not to stay there again though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • beatricefitzsimons536
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jul 2017
10.0

The best hostel I've ever stayed in! The atmosphere is lovely and the breakfasts are to die for. If you're planning a trip to Tulum this is the only place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • edujoseph1207
  • Brazil, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 36 reviews
26th Jul 2017
9.7

Amazing hostel in Tullum!! Frank helped was a lot with some schedule problems that we had and made everything easier for us! It is not close to the beach of course (it is tulum) but for a real backpacker it is not a problem. A/C was good, location was perfect (quite at night and 2 blocks from some cool and inexpensive bar) I will definitely come back and have a nice chat with frank again! Tks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.