X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Masaya Bogota Hostel Reviews

Carrera 2 no 12 48 Candelaria, Centro Bogota, Bogota, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
179 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

The hostel is well located, the staff are helpful (especially Daniella at the front desk who is an utter delight), and the facilities are good. However, the beds have dubious rough stains on them and the atmosphere when I was there was quiet and boring. Had friends who stayed at other better hostels.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Perfect hostel! Great location, clean and spacious rooms, beds have curtains to add a little privacy, several areas to hang out and meet other travelers, but still quiet at night. Oh, and the staff was excellent. Will definitely stay there again!


69%

I have to say there wasn't anything majorly wrong with this place but it did lack amy atmosphere. Bathrooms also bit too far away from rooms. Decent if wanting good night sleep.


83%

Well located, clean hostel with spacious rooms and decently sized in-room lockers. Lots of sit-down areas in multiple courtyards and a good bar area too. The bar closed down very early the night we were there, though, and people weren't allowed to sit and chat in the common areas after that. Still probably the best hostel option in Candelaria.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, See you soon Thank you for choosing Masaya as your accommodation during your stay in Bogota! We are very satisfied that you appreciated the location of the site in the old Candelaria area, the comfort and the different service of our hostel! We hope that you spent a pleasant moment in Bogota during your stay in Colombia!

97%

Great friendly staff, very clean, nice hostel. Restaurant was nice and breakfast was good, but the rest of the menu was very limited. Overall we enjoyed it here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your comments! We are very satisfied that you appreciated the cleanliness, the personnel during your stay in Masaya Bogota. Safe trip in Colombia and see you soon in Masaya for ever more culture! You can follow us on the Facebook page Masaya Bogota You can also discover our Hostel Masaya Santa Marta!

69%

En general, la estadía estuvo bien. Algunos del staff no fueron muy amables. Además, se nos recargó un 5% por pago en tarjeta de crédito cuando no estaba establecido previamente. Otra cuestión es que la llave de la caja de seguridad no permitían que te la lleves, por lo que quedaba a cargo del staff de ahí que no me quedaba tranquilo.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Buenos días, Agradecemos tu opinión, para nosotros es muy importante tus comentarios. Vamos a cambiar el sistema de la caja para más seguridad. Esperamos que en una próxima visita puedas disfrutar de la buena onda de Masaya. Agradecemos nuevamente sus comentarios, ya que nos permite mejorar y de esta manera brindar un mejor servicio. Te invitamos tambien a descubrir nuestro hostal Masaya Santa Marta!

54%

On Hostelworld's website the mixed five people dorm were described as "Deluxe", I don't agree. The bathroom is three stairs down and the walls are super thin, not allowing too much sleep. I guess my disappointment mostly is based on the wrong impression and information given in the website.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your comments! We take very seriously your opinion into consideration. We had some problem during this period. We are going to enlarge the Hostel Bogota which is planned in a few months for a better comfort. We are very sorry for the inconvenience that as caused during your stay. We will also change our website to have more information and easier of use Thank you for your feedbacks; this helps us improving the service we offer daily.

91%

Very good hostel, with a very nice atmosphere and helpful staff!


97%

Thank you guys, great service, great rooms and great location. Lots of french travelers there, if you wanna practice your spanish AND your french then that's the place to be. Go for it!


100%

That's the kind of hostel i like! They sould be all like that! Ultimate hostel, great staff, great activities, great beds! Yhe builgin is beautiful, and the location is the best! Thank you guys!


100%

The staff were very helpful. It was extremely helpful that they were multi lingual.

  • 16th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments! We are satisfied that you appreciated the location of the site and the personnel of Masaya! It’s very important for us to continue to improve our services and reach your expectations! You can also discover our Hostel Masaya Santa Marta!

100%

Great spot

  • 3rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing hostel!

  • 1st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very nice place but it was a little cold for us. We are from Florida and were expecting our room to be a little warmer. Very big kitchen but we didn't get around to using anything but the microwave because there are a bunch of great restaurants nearby. Very nice bathroom facilities but the women's doors didn't fully function. Staff was incredibly helpful and were able to give us advice about buses and museums. I would certainly stay here again.


89%

Very friendly staff, clean and complete hostel. Recommendable!


80%

Stayed here 4 nights in a 5 Bed mixed dorm. Safe, clean, hot showers, basic kitchen. Can recommend this place, eventhough somehow it didn't have much atmosphere and one didn't really connect much with other people. Definitely not a party hostel.


100%

Except when they use taxi service to airport which call by hostel is Dishonest when try paying taxi driver switch bill on me this is in the Evening!!


77%

The "meditation"-guy at the checkin worked really bad. I wanted to stay 2 nights longer but he was to confused and he didn't make the booking so we had to leave, the other staff apologized but sorry this was a really bad servide of the "Meditation-guy"!!!




View all Bogota Hostels

Please give us your feedback