X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Masaya Bogota Hostel Reviews

Carrera 2 no 12 48 Candelaria, Centro Bogota, Bogota, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
357 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 97%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Very good hostel, great showers, helpful staff and located in the old town, where you can go by walk to many touristic points.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing hostel stayed in private room and what a room!! After sleeping in bunk beds for so long was nice to have a massive bed with white crisp sheets such a chilled place deffo staying here when I come back thanks guys

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your recommendation ! Come back, we'll give you a 10% discount ! Continue the Masaya experience on Facebook : Masaya Hostels.

77%

Unfortunately there was an error with our booking so we didn't get to complete the reservation. We heard of the same thing happening to several other people too so be aware. We booked for the following evening but they only had space in a private which was much more expensive than a dorm. The facilities are great however and the location in a charming part of bogota,but no ping pong balls for the table! Staff at times helpful,at times moody

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your sharing your Masaya experience. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the beauty of our Hostel of Bogotá. We are sorry for the reservation problem, I've communicated your comment to the manager to keep improving our service. Feel free to come back and get 10% off on your second stay in a Masaya Hostel. Follow us on Facebook : Masaya Hostels !

80%

Only stayed for one night. Stayed in a private with ensuite, very nice. the neighbourhood surrounding the hostel at night seemed a little dodgey as we arrived during the night! During the day however was a different vibe people everywhere. Wifi was excellent, breakfast was good and the coffee was awesome.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your nice review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in Masaya Hostels. Discover our Hostel of Santa Marta with good breakfast too ! We'll offer you 10% of discount on your stay ;) . Continue the Masaya Experience on Facebook : Masaya Hostels !

94%

A great hostel in a central part of town that was clean, had a good vibe, plenty of space to chill in one of the communcal areas after a day out and about. Excellent breakfast (included in private room but 8k for dorm).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your recommandation ! ! It was a pleasure to have you as a guest. We look forward to welcoming you back soon (get 10% off on your 2nd stay in a Masaya hostel). Follow us on Facebook : Masaya Hostels !

91%

Very nice hostel and really good location. Very useful having electrical points by bed and reading light!


94%

Quiet. Clean. Helpful staff!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your recommendation ! Come back, we'll give you a 10% discount !

100%

One of my favourite hostels so far in South America. Amazing dorms with individual curtains, lamps and plug sockets. Lots of chill out areas and a great kitchen. In a lovely area too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your nice review, we're very pleased to hear that you appreciated the Masaya facilities and the curtained dorm beds ! We would be very happy to welcome you in our Hostel of Santa Marta (with good curtains beds too!) and get 10% off on your 2nd stay in a Masaya hostel.

100%

Great hostel, lovely staff and it's in a great location too. Breakfast isn't included but you can buy it there or go to any of the cafes nearby. Plenty of hot water in the showers and the bathrooms are single sex.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for sharing your Masaya Experience ! We’re happy to know that you enjoyed the commodities of our Hostel of Bogotá. Come back, we'll give you 10% off !

40%

Contrary to what is preached by a lot of quotes and "yoga" spirit of the place, I feel that the hostel's workers are bad treated by the owner. It is a shame that such a beautiful place is managed in a so terrible way against the minimum dignity that the excellent workers deserves. The pilows and mattresses are very old. All days they offer the same juice at the breakfast when Colombia has a lot of fruits. And all days the owner puts the same song that after the first hour can make you crazy.


100%

Great hostel with great people in an awesome location. 100% recommended.

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • amunozc
  • Dominican Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Bogotá thank you for your great review. It is a pleasure to read that you had a nice stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon (you'll get 10% off on your 2nd stay in a Masaya hostel). Follow us on Facebook : Masaya Hostels !

100%

Great time at Masaya, with the best breakfast and the nicest staff :)!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola Arnaud, thanks for sharing your Masaya Experience ! We’re happy to see that you had a great stay in Masaya Hostel and to know that our staff were helpful. If you want to visit us again in Bogotá or discover Santa Marta, you can get 10% off on your 2nd stay. We would be very happy to welcome you again ! Follow us on Facebook : Masaya Hostels

100%

Awesome!! Really had a great time here, the staff were really helpful and fun people to talk to. Thanks for making Bogotá as amazing as it was

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your nice review, we're glad to hear that you LOVED your Masaya Experience. Discover our Hostel of Santa Marta with also helpful staff ;) You'll get 10% off on your next stay in a Masaya Hostel.

100%

Some exceptional ratings here for an exceptional hostel experience in an historic building tucked away in the Candelaria quarter of Bogota. The flagstone courtyards and patios only add to the character and relaxed atmosphere of the whole hostel and the staff work very hard to ensure that you are informed, engaged and get a very real taste of genuine Colombian hospitality. Outstanding.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Martin for your nice review ! It's a pleasure to heard that you loved the Masaya Concept and its staff. I hope you'll visit us in Santa Marta and get 10% off on your stay ! Follow us on Facebook : Masaya Hostels.

100%

I've of my favourite hostels on my whole trip! Amazing location, excellent staff. Super clean, curtains on bunk beds with your own electricity sockets and light are such a luxury for backpacking! Breakfast not included but you can't have everything...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for sharing a second time your Masaya Experience ! We're glad to know that you were convinced by the Masaya concept. Come back, we'll give you 10% off ! Continue the Masaya Experience following us on Facebook : Masaya Hostels.

86%

Very nice, clean, relaxed hostel in very good location. Has an excellent cafe next door.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review ! We’re happy to know that you enjoyed the commodities of our Hostel of Bogotá. Come back, we'll give you 10% off ! Follow us on Facebook : Masaya Hostels.

86%

Great location in the heart of the Old Town, pretty walkable to everything in La Candelaria. Staff is friendly, wifi is good, common areas are spacious. On the downside, there are HUGE troubles with hot water (no chance to have a hot shower in the morning). Don't have a breakfast here (8K COP), better go outside and have a better deal in one of the cafes. Generally a decent place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for sharing your Masaya Experience. We are sorry for the hot water problem. We fixe the hproblem and is now able to provide hot water to all our guests needing 24 hours. We are a bit surprised about your comment about the breakfast : every day, we serve a very complete breakfast. We have a lot of good reviews about it. Come back in a Masaya Hostels and enjoy of 10% discount on your next stay.

97%

I love that each bed in the dorm has a curtain, reading light, and outlet. I also like that there is a locker in the room as well as a drawer under the bunkbed resulting in plenty of storage. I just wish the communal showers had hooks to hang towels and clothing.


100%

Definitely the best hostel we stayed in in Colombia. Awesome facilities, the beds are amazing, really helpful and friendly staff, in a really good area/location too. Only bad thing- on hostelworld and our booking confirmation it says breakfast included with all private rooms, turns out it's only included with some (not all) private rooms, so that's misleading.. Other than that, highly recommended


97%

Great hostel. Could have had more bathrooms for the dorms but apart from that it was perfect. As we were getting in out 6:30 am taxi the receptionist said we hadn't paid for our breakfasts, bleary eyed and confused as when we had paid our night the day before they said we would pay for our breakfasts then I argued and didn't pay, thrown off by them splitting the deposit between two of us rather than just me. Realised later what had happened and now feel bad. Sorry night receptionist!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Bogotá thank you for your review. We're very glad to read that you had a nice stay. Don't worry for the breakfast story ;) We forgive you! We look forward to welcoming you back soon (get 10% off on your 2nd stay in a Masaya hostel).

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(79 results)


View all Bogota Hostels

Please give us your feedback