X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Masaya Bogota Hostel Reviews

Carrera 2 no 12 48 Candelaria, Centro Bogota, Bogota, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
273 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Awesome place, great people. Loved it. Thanks !

  • 23rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola, Thanks for your great review. We’re very glad to hear that you appreciated the Masaya Experience. If you want to visit us again in Bogotá or discover Santa Marta, you can get 10% off on your 2nd stay. We would be very happy to welcome you again ! Follow us on Facebook : Masaya Hostels or Masaya Hostel Bogotá !

100%

Very beautiful Hostel in the Bogota's historic area. There, you can enjoy cultural activities, a great breakfast, a mini pool, a bar in a fabulous colonial house! All the common parts and the rooms are very clean, the staff is here to help you and they do it with very good energy. Definitely the best hostel in Bogotá!

  • 23rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good Morning, Thank for your great review. We’re very glad to hear that you appreciated the Masaya Experience. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Bogotá and in Colombia. If you want to visit us again in Bogotá or discover Santa Marta, you can get 10% off on your 2nd stay. We would be very happy to welcome you again ! Follow us on Facebook : Masaya Hostels or Masaya Hostel Bogotá !

89%

The wifi only works well in the common area

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good Morning Kay, Thank for thoughts on your stay. I have to confess that we are a bit surprised about your comment about our Wifi service, we offer Wifi service throughout the entire hostel, we have 5 routers to allow you to connect everywhere.. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Bogotá and in Colombia. Feel free to come back and continue to help us improve our service! Follow us on Facebook : Masaya Hostels or Masaya Hostel Bogotá !

100%

The best Hostel I have ever stayed in! The people, the service, comfort and importantly the hot showers!! Would recommend to everyone I meet!

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good Morning, It is a pleasure for me and my team to read that you had an amazing stay, enjoying the Masaya Experience and the beauty of our Hostel of Bogotá We hope you enjoyed your stay in Bogotá and in Colombia. We look forward to welcoming you back soon (get 10% off on your 2nd stay in a Masaya hostel). Follow us on Facebook : Masaya Hostels or Masaya Hostel Bogotá ! Thanks again

94%

Great staff, wifi, and cleanliness!


100%

I literally LOVED Masaya ! The staff is great, especially Carmenza and Yoann. They were really helpful ! The hostel is clean, with a great atmosphere, hot water (not easy to get in Colombia!) and very beautiful areas and "patios". The breakfast is really good with eggs and a lot of fruits ! I totally recommend this place, moreover, they organize cultural activities at night and salsa classes for FREE !

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Aurélie ! Thanks for your comment, we’re glad to hear that you love the Masaya atmosphere as its staff ! If you want to visit us again in Bogota or discover Santa Marta, you can get 10% off on your 2nd stay (2nd stay in a Masaya hostel). We would be very happy to welcome you again ! Keep enjoying your stay in Colombia and follow us on Facebook : Masaya Hostels or Masaya Hostel Santa Marta ! Thanks again !

100%

Love this place! Such nice staff and amazing showers ! Will definitely come back.

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Aurélie ! Thanks for your comment, we’re glad to hear that you love the Masaya atmosphere as its staff ! If you want to visit us again in Bogota or discover Santa Marta, you can get 10% off on your 2nd stay (2nd stay in a Masaya hostel). We would be very happy to welcome you again ! Keep enjoying your stay in Colombia and follow us on Facebook : Masaya Hostels or Masaya Hostel Santa Marta ! Thanks again !

94%

Pretty nice Hostal and the best breakfast i've had on Travel for a quite nice price! Thanks Masaya-Team.i stay longer because it is so nice :-)


91%

amazing showers, great value


94%

Very comfortable hostel, highly recommend.


86%

Men's bathroom was far away down the stairs. Rain soaked the courtyard/recreation area. No place for packs in the small dorm. Breakfast was nice for a price and a chessboard was available. All in all, not bad. A good place to meet people, but not the most comfortable dorms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good afternoon, Thanks for your comment, we're very glad to hear that you appreciated the Masaya atmosphere. That’s why, in order to have closer bathrooms, we changed some dorms locations this month to improve your comfort and our customer service. In Masaya, we want to offer the highest quality. Each bed dorm has its private plug, curtain, lamp and locker (big storages) to create and preserve your privacy. Feel free to come back and continue to help us improve our service.

100%

Best hostel in candalaria. By far. Big clean showers. private rooms unbeatable value for money -large comfy rooms with BIG bed. Breakfast/lounge area very comfortable with fireplace and pool table. Breakfast is very good. Will stay again.


60%

Great breakfast, pretty clean overall, mostly friendly and helpful staff, but unreliable hot water, long way to go to bathroom, room had no curtains so neighbours can look straight in, inadequate lighting in the room, door to room did not lock which led to hassles having to leave valuables at reception which was not the mot secure place either.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good morning, Thanks for your comment. We are very pleased to hear that you appreciated the cleanliness, the breakfast and the staff. We fixed the hot water problem, now there is hot water in every room 24h. We also made changes to avoid the "long way to go to bathroom", we made some renovations and changed the rooms to put them closer to the bathrooms. I've communicated your comment to the staff to keep improving our service. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Bogota and in Colombia.

83%

second time staying at Masaya, last time being two years ago. When I was there previously I loved it, found the location perfect, met lots of other travelers, and found the dorms very comfortable. I did not even consider staying elsewhere Bogota. This time, however, it was under construction so there were only half the bathroom facilities, but finished this construction quickly. Security was much tighter last time and atmosphere was better before with more people/less construction.


100%

Great staff. Great laundry. No complaints. Very friendly and helpful

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

I don't have much experience at staying in hostels, but many other guests were saying it was the best place they have ever been so far, so.. :-)

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good morning, Thank you for your thoughts on your stay, we're very pleased to hear that you appreciated the Masaya experience ! Feel free to come back and continue to help us improve our service !

100%

I had a great stay at this hostel. friendly and helpful staff, clean sleeping area and adorable cafe.


91%

A very cosy hostel. Comfortable, warm beds with privacy curtains. The location is great - very close to a lot of the main sites in La Candalaria and some really lovely restaurants and cafés. Security were very efficient but also very friendly and made sure to let you know of the dangers of the city


57%

We booked a room fro 1 night with hostel world, we paid the reservation and we supposed to get to the hotel at 5pm to check in . when we were on our way the hotel called us to tell us that it was overbooked that they couldn't do much besides looking next hostel and see if they have something ...they found a room for us but it was double the amount . They said it was Hostel world's fault .... anyhow we were without accommodation because of a simply messed up from HW . .. not too happy about it

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good morning, Thanks for your review. We're very sorry you could not enjoy the Masaya Experience. We work every day to avoid overbooking and to provide great services. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Bogota and in Colombia. Thanks for helping us improve our service!

1 2 Next » last »
(39 results)


View all Bogota Hostels

Please give us your feedback