X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

McLays Guest House Reviews

264-276, Renfrew Street, Glasgow, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1408 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Very friendly staff and nice, spacious room with good beds. Corridors narrow and a bit worn out, but who cares. We heard rave-music from the neighbouring building during the night, but with windows closed it would not have bothered at all.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

The building was old and dirty, the room was a bit dodgy, but the bathroom was (surprisingly) clean!! And the location was excellent... In the end you could stay at a premier inn or cheap hotel for the same price and have a better experience!!!


97%

Great experience! nice to have a room to ourselves after sharing at other hostels.


71%

It served the best breakfast! You are guaranteed to be full until lunch. However, the first staff that welcomed us on the night we arrived is not friendly and less helpful. The shower surprised us as it against the normal water flow i.e the red one is for cold water and the blue one is actually hot water. The towel that we got smells like cockroach. Besides, the location is quite far up the street as we need to walk quite far from Queen and Central station but it is located 10-15 min from city.

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

It's gets the job done. It's could use a bit of fixing up, but it worked for what we needed it for.

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Interior was a bit rundown, but not awful. The shower didn't work properly which was annoying. The cooked breakfast was fine. Overall we just needed a cheap place to stay for one night and this place provided it.

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The building is a bit old, but the room was comfortable.


89%

Love the location, easily accessible to places like Buchanan Street and there are lots of restaurants and pub to dine in.


83%

The cooked vegetarian breakfast was a let down - only beans, tattie scone, tomatoes and egg. Not value for money. You should add a veggie sausage and maybe a rasher of veggie bacon. Also some mushrooms.


66%

Location is ok, room+ensuite ok and clean, nothing out of the ordinary at this price level, would stay again.


89%

Great location, close to the O2 ABC and shops on Sauchiehall Street. Good value for money. Friendly, helpful staff. Room was clean although I spotted a hair in the bathroom and pretty sure it wasn't mine. Also when I had a bath the next morning, the water/bath wasn't the cleanest (could maybe do with showering it down each day. Free wifi was useful. I left before breakfast so didn't get to try that. Would stay there again.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

After the initial heart sinking feeling I got when I saw the communal areas (shabby and worn), I was very pleasantly surprised by my room, which was spacious, clean, comfortable, had absolutely loads of tea and coffee and a fantastic LED TV. They also do an allright breakfast.


97%

The staff was extremely friendly, the included breakfast was delicious, and the room was clean. I couldn't have wanted more for the price. Thank you.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Friendly staff


83%

15 min away from glasgow university by walk.


71%

great bed, nice and comfortable, as for the rest well it was low budget so what you would expect


97%

it is a nice hostel with very friendly owners. the room was renovated and clean, with a nice wash room inside and it was quite calm (backyardside).

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

We had a great stay at McLays. The room was simple, yet had everything we needed. The shared bathrooms sometimes left a little bit to be desired but that was mainly just from other guests. The free breakfast was great and the location of McLays was in walking distance to everything we needed. Great budget accommodation.


80%

The hotel was right next to the CCA which makes it fantastic for anybody wanting to see great bands. The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly. The room was fairly basic, but for the price this is what you would expect. If you are looking for a clean, friendly place to crash while you explore Glasgow, I Would toughly recommend.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

No electricity in our room when we first arrived due to a circuit being blown, no wi-fi in the building except in a dirty and uncomfortable dining room, beds were unreasonably hard, showers didn't have curtains so the bathroom was left drenched after a single use, there was no additional privacy bolt on the door, and the electric kettle in the room had mildew coating the inside rendering it unusable. While none of these were individual deal breakers, the overall experience was sub-par.

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Glasgow Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback