X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mexico City Hostel Reviews

Brasil No. 8, Col. Centro, Mexico City, Mexico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
842 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Rm 24 stinks literally. The guy at the desk provides zero info. Basics like breakfast and time you must ask, No explanations about no bathroom on 3rd floor or where is the electronic button to unlick front door. Often not at the desk. When asked upon arrival "how much is a taxi to the airport?" I was told 130 pesos. Same question next morning it was 200 pesos. I got my own taxi for 80 pesos.


69%

Huge hostel and clean and modern. I had one big problem though. This hostel has ZERO atmosphere. There is no bar (they have ample space on the roof for one), and its so big it does not promote meeting other travellers. Every night the TV room is the only place to meet other people, but everyone is generally bored out of their minds and on their cellphones and not talking. No music, no bar, nothing. I had to go around the corner to another hostel to meet other people.


83%

Staff is nothing special, nice beds with lockers in room, received sheets to put on and with check out take off. Breakfast Nice and simpel. Be bit on time for fresh fruit. Location is perfect !

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing staff! Attentive and helpful with recommendations! Rooms are excellent and the hotel has a Mexican touch! Location is close to all amenities we wanted and close to the metro if we wanted to head to Condesa or Roma. Very secure.

  • 18th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location, friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast was good too. Annoying that toilets aren't on every floor. It's an average hostel. They should organise events for travellers staying there.


97%

Super central, nice and helpful stuff, good breakfast included! They could clean the toilets more propper but the rest was always clean and in good condition! Shower is hot and good pressure! You get a card to open your room door which is great and everyone has a big locker to put your belongings into!


71%

Overall the staff didn't live up to expectations (from other reviews).


91%

I met a lot of nice people there. The staff was nice and very helpfull.

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

great location,good price,however the breakfast being serve is always the same everyday, the staff are the worst i ever had encounter ,one particular is a girl whos woking at night and wear glasses she has terrible customer service. she should not be employed on hospitality field. i came in for the first night she just gaveme the keys and say nothing at all and when i question her about breakfast etc she just gave me a huge attitude and i felt like im giving her souch trouble.she should be fired

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great stay! The staff were excellent and very accommodating. Top place to stay!


100%

I stayed 10 days at the Mexican city hostel. The hostel was in prime location in centro historico. All forms of transport were nearby. Staff where all very happy to help and give advice. And spoke English and Spanish perfectly. Rooms where very clean and spacious compared to others I have stayed in. Bathroom and showers where kept clean an tidy at all times. Only down side I found with the showers is that some take a little long to warm up. Nothing drastic at all. Great free breakfast.10/10


97%

Really great clean hostel!! Was really big but very clean! Staff were great! Good Central area, one of the best hostels I've stayed, didn't socialise too much but that was my choice! Breakfast was free and delish!! Go there :)

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The price, location and facilities were excellent at Mexico City Hostel. The staff were mostly very polite and helpful. The showers and toilets were clean, but the bins needed emptying more regularly as one was almost overflowing. The breakfast was very good for a freebie and there was free movies, wifi and internet, but unfortunately there wasn't any atmosphere. I would only stay here for 1-2 nights, but not for an extended stay.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Mexico City Hostel (at Brasil number 8) was fantstico! The Location, next to Zocalo made it all worth it. The staff was friendly, the breakfast was awesome, the place what spotless and Clean! Muy Excellente! Gracias!!!

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location and very diverse breakfast options. The staff was helpful and the room clean and cosy.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good!


91%

It was my second time staying at this place. The hostel facilities are great! However, the staff in the morning is just BAD! the guy seems annoyed everytime someone asks for something, like if I am asking something for free. A smile now and then doesn't kill. The guy at night is super super nice! I wish I could of ask for his name because of the one interaction I had with him I could tell he had great people skills.


80%

The location is definitely the biggest selling point of this hostel followed very closely by the value for money when you consider breakfast is included (although basic, eggs and toast with fruit and drinks, it sets you up nicely for the day) The range of trips offered by the hostel were great, some potentially could be done indepently cheaper however they were not expensive and as we were on a two week holiday our budget was not so tight. The staff were friendly and helpful with a good English


89%

great location. lockers in room which are huge and fit backpacks/ suitcases easily. dorm rooms don't have showers or toilets so a bit of a walk in the night if you need the bathroom after being out drinking. could do with a few proper seats in the common area instead of bean bags but on the whole i'd saty here again.


74%

Overall, it was an ok place to stay. Pros: - clean, good location and close to the station - Good value for money Cons: - Wifi does not work beyond the second level - Atmosphere - that may be the people at the time, but difficult to meet people, common areas weren't used often and if they were, people kept to themselves. This did not reflect the reviews that I had read. - Paid tours, but no walking tours. Overall rating 3.5/5


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(81 results)


View all Mexico City Hostels

Please give us your feedback