Hostelworld.com

Ming Han Tang International Youth Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 366 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 366 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.4
Ming Han Tang International Youth Hostel Located at Guangji RD, Xiatang 61, , Suzhou.
Ming Han Tang International Youth Hostel
China
Suzhou Jiangsu 215008 Guangji RD, Xiatang 61
76% 366
31.3176660 120.6004480
Ming Han Tang International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Apr 2016
4.6

The location is great, but that was about all this hostel has going for it. We found out after we returned from being out all day that our door was unlocked because the automatic card swipe just stopped working. The staff wasn't friendly or helpful, and there was no information for tourist sites. The sheets were way too small for the bed so I found myself sleeping on the bare mattress in the night. Woken up very early in the morning by other loud guests smoking in the hostel outside of our door.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Apr 2016
8.0

Ideal location, 2 minutes walk from Shatang Street. Lovely little garden to sit and eat and have a drink outside. Very nice and clean and nice hot showers. However the bed wasn't very comfortable, felt like sleeping on a brick.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2016
6.3

This hostel's location is very good. Near by Shantang Jie. But that is over. Room's condition was not good and bath room too. Hair drier was not working.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Dec 2015
5.4

Oh dear me where to start. Rock hard bed, just wood and 5mm of foam. No blind/curtain on the window so was woken by dawn. Side of top bunk close to breaking so couldn't use to go up/down the ladder. Lots of dust on bed frame, hair and fingernail on bedding. Door key card stopped working. No towels available to rent so I didn't use the freezing cold shower area. Shower/toilet combo so wet toilet roll. Asked reception for more. Far from main sights. Good wifi. Good warming AC eventually. Staff ok.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Dec 2015
10.0

Perfect location, clean(other review says that it is not, I feel it's clean) but staff could not speak English! That is not big deal!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Nov 2015
9.1

Good place to stay and very helpful staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Nov 2015
8.9

Great location, convenient to Metro & right by an Old Town/Canal area. Building is beautiful, traditional Chinese courtyard on outside. Clean, modern, basic motel-style room inside--nothing special, but nothing to complain about. Lots of hot water! Staff very nice. Only issue was that when we got home from a long day of sight-seeing, we had to go back to front desk because the key didn't work. This happened twice. Why? We had a reservation for 3 days, why would the key not last the whole time?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Nov 2015
6.6

+ Location was spot on, right next to the scenic canals, 1min walk from the Metro stop. Shops, cafes & a couple of bars nearby. - Room was freezing, only had aircon for heat. - Boiler wasnt plugged in so we were unable to shower on the 1st morning. - Reception area smelled of wet dog and cat. (they have pets). - Their cafe around the corner is a tourist cafe and far too expensive for a hostel. - People drilling outside our room until gone 11 at night. Not great for backpackers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Oct 2015
5.7

No heather in the rom, so it was very cold. Lukily we stayed in a Twin room and the beds were bit enough, so we shared one and we used the blanket of the other one in addition. We had no hot water to shower at night and almost no water at at all some time. Big hole in our wall. The internet does not work at all in our room, and works slowly in the common area. There is no réal common area by the way. To have internet you should stay in a seat in the courtyard outside, which is cold in automn.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.