Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ming Palace International Hostel

  • 10-3 Dong Hua Rd, XiuFeng District, Guilin, Guilin, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 454 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 454 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
30th Jul 2017
8.6

Food was disappointing, don't look at all as the picture. Food pictures look decent, actual meal is cheap. We ate 3 meals and only 1 was not frustrating. Beside that, the hostel was pretty decent, good location and staff. We book a 3 beds room and it was fantastic but we also slept 1 night in a dorm and it was pretty average but still decent. I could come back at this hostel but don't order any food there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • buechech
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
9.1

The best Guilin hostel of the 4 we stayed at. Clean, comfortable, bright. The sink was in the room while the toilet and shower were in a separate space which was nice and unlike our other hostels. The best part of the hostel was the new litter of 4 kittens that roamed the hostel. Our only gripe is that the AC in the room didn't work extremely well - it wouldn't reach the cool temp we were looking for after being out in the smothering Guilin heat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Jun 2017
9.7

Jason and Alice were really helpful with booking tours etc. Rooms were really nice, more like a hotel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for you review. We will share with our team, especially Jason and Alice:-D. Hope to see you next time!

19th May 2017
10.0

I loved this place! The location was really nice, it was clean and the beds were comfortable, not to mention the glorious AC. But the staff was definitely the best part of this hostel- I arrived on a rainy day and asked so many questions about things to do, and they helped me so much! I also booked a tour through the hostel (the bamboo cruise) and one night after I got back, they taught me and some other travelers to play Mahjong. All in all this place is great and I can't wait to come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • oudoring88
  • Namibia, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th May 2017
10.0

Best place we have stayed at in China. Staff is exceptional- very friendly and helpful. The place is clean and well maintained. Excellent location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
10.0

The room was much better than we expected. It was more like a hotel than a hostel! The staff was very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. They helped us find things to do in the city and allowed us to store our luggage after we checked out. The location was really great too. It is within walking distance of all the major sights in Guilin. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, how are you doing in Guizhou? Thank you for your good review and rocommending. It was definitely our pleasure to offer you help as much as we can. Hope you enjoy your time in China and maybe someday we will meet up again! Best wishes, Jason

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2017
10.0

Safe area, very friendly staff. I needed a hairdresser for just to cut a bit. They brought me to one, just a few meters away from hostel and gave instructions to the hairdresser. I was very happy with the result, try also to wash nice experience. The nicest view I 've ever had for to do laundry. American breakfast banana pankakes and lot more, so good. To rent a bike for a day there a lot of stations there. They also offer tours to rice terraces, li river boat tor and many more..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving us such a good review and staying here. Finding a barber shop and communicating to the hairdressers is not a easy thing for the people who rarely speak Chinese. We are glad that you were satisfied with it, and it was our pleasure to help you. We are happy to know that you have enjoy our breafast and if you have chance you could come back here and try our other dishes. Enjoy the rest of your time in China, we would love to see you again! Best wishes, Jason

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
9.7

I really enjoyed staying here! Great location! Really close to the Sun and Moon Pagodas and the Elephant Trunk Hill. Super easy to get around and the staff are really helpful. The beds in the dorms are large singles and really comfy so plenty of room! The food they serve in their restaurant is good, I especially enjoyed a cheesey pizza! Lockers in the dorm are a decent size (not big enough for backpacks though). Keep in mind, no lift! I was on the 5th floor. Had a work out every day! 😂

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review and staying in our hostel. We are really happy to know that you have enjoyed your time here. It was our pleasure to offer you help. We are glad that you liked the food from our restaurant. Because our place is not a new building, we could not put a lift inside. We are sorry about the inconvenience that it had brought. Like you mentioned, worked out a bit is not a bad thing haha. Come back here if you have chance, we would love to meet you again! Best wishes, Jaosn

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2017
10.0

This hostel is incredible!!! Great location, nice bar with good coffee and meals, cold beer and tasty cocktails. Very clean, safe and easy to get to by bus. The best part though are the staff members! Friendly, helpful, happy to be around travelers, keen to show us around town and tell us a bit more about the chinese culture and the local curiosities. Thank you guys for everything 😊😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your highly compliment, we are very happy to have you here. Ps:would you please tell your brother to send me the pictures:-D. Thanks and see you next time.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
18th Apr 2017
8.3

Good place to stay in a great location. Rice fields tour was good, would recommend both the tour and the stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.