Hostelworld.com

Mingtown Suzhou International Youth Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 944 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 944 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.8
Mingtown Suzhou International Youth Hostel Located at No.28 Pingjiang Road, , Suzhou.
Mingtown Suzhou International Youth Hostel
China
Suzhou JiangSu 215031 No.28 Pingjiang Road
84% 944
31.3107232 120.6346222
Mingtown Suzhou International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th May 2016
9.1

I don't think you could find a better location for a hostel in Suzhou, its right on Pianjing road where all the streetvendors, bars and markets are. In saying that, its not noisey at all so you can get a decents night sleep (unless you've got some guys snoring in your room, cant blame the hostel for that :P) its about a 10 min walk to the subaway (exit 3 at xianmen station, line 1) Everything was really clean, the hostel seems very traditional in appearance which is pretty cool, big beds :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd May 2016
9.4

Really nice hostel with great bathrooms (Western and private cubicles even for shared dorms). Only negative was the downstairs shared area being an open cafe/restaurant, so you often had people walking in assuming the place was some kind of landmark for tourism. The staff were generally very polite and their English was fine, however they sometimes came off as a bit nervous or cold. Good for travelling around Suzhou, very convenient with two nearby subway stops and Family Mart for snacks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
6.0

Reception not that friendly. Bath room not clean. Location is great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2016
9.1

I got a good nights sleep in a 4 or 6 bed room. The fountain outside my window was peaceful and it drowned out any noise. The place itself was peaceful. Only complain was that it wasn't the easiest place to meet people, due to it being an actual cafe and the rooms being in a separate building right next door. The area is really nice and is an area for tourists to walk down. I would only visit Suzhou for one night though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
9.1

Our stay here was wonderful. Rooms are humble but clean and if you are expecting something beyond that for the price why aren't you staying at an expensive hotel? The staff here is helpful and seem like quite decent people. The neighborhood is ideal, especially after 10, just be sure to grab a bite early as restaurants close at 9. The kitchen here is about as good as anything else around. Stop by Locke Bar or a late night night tea house to close out a magical evening. Avoid peak tourist times.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Apr 2016
4.9

part of Staff/bartender is really friendly but some of seems like they are not familiar with their work. And All foriegner should have china SIM card or they couldn't call you even you leave your own number/ e-mail and due to the lost contact they will cancelled your booking sell the beds to others...... they said it's part of policy so just remeber Go Get China Phone Number Lollll

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th Mar 2016
8.6

A very beautiful cozy hostel in the famous Pingjiang Street. The location is perfect and everything is within walking distance. Walking in the street early in the morning before tourist flooding in the street is really enjoyable. Facilities were generally clean, very good value for money. I had a great time staying in this hostel and will definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Mar 2016
9.1

It would be good if the hostel had a full length mirror for people living in dorms... Then that will be perfect

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 38 reviews
5th Mar 2016
9.1

Stayed in a double room, so can't comment on the dorms. The cleanliness in the shared bathrooms could have been a bit better (mold here and there, smells), but was quite acceptable still. Location could hardly be better and staff was very nice. It was very good to stay in a more intimate neighborhood, even if most of the buildings are imitations.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Feb 2016
8.9

Great location and a great price. I stayed in a 6 bedroom female dorm and it was the best. The girls I met were fun and we went out and explored together. I had thought I was going to have to sightsee alone, I was pleasantly wrong. There was nothing wrong with the facilities, the bathroom and bed were clean. You just need to follow instructions on when hot water is on. The staff were ok, nothing special. They didn't seem too friendly, but they got the job done.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.