Hostelworld.com

Mingtown Suzhou International Youth Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 957 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 957 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
Mingtown Suzhou International Youth Hostel Located at No.28 Pingjiang Road, , Suzhou.
Mingtown Suzhou International Youth Hostel
China
Suzhou JiangSu 215031 No.28 Pingjiang Road
86% 957
31.3107232 120.6346222
Mingtown Suzhou International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
9.4

I had a great time at Mingtown. It is perfectly located and very quiet and peaceful. If you are looking for a party atmosphere, you will not find it here. They also serve decent food and awesome coffee.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
8.0

Arrived late 10pm+ without problem after calling in advance to inform. Unfortunately the room for the 1st night had a super funky odor (Rm 1101 - avoid!!) - staff were obliging when we requested for a room change for our remaining stay (smile ladies!!). Everything else looked alright, hot water was good. Location was between 2 stations on Subway line 1, no vehicular access to hostel (FYI).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2016
9.4

Great location and helpful staff. We really enjoyed our stay and wandering around Pingjianglu and the Classical Gardens of Suzhou. Our room was quite small, but the decor was traditional and lovely. Food was also a good value. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th May 2016
10.0

A great opportunity to stay in a traditional Chinese mansion, on a picturesque old street next to a river. They also have a cozy café where you can enjoy good coffee. The staff is really nice, especially Candy, an amazingly generous and lovely girl - the angel of Suzhou!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th May 2016
9.7

Mingtown's location was amazing. I really didn't want to leave. We were able to walk to all the places we wanted to visit. The hostel is very charming and comfortable. If I had to complain, it would be that the water pressure wasn't very good. That's it. Everything else was wonderful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th May 2016
8.0

Some Chinese hosteliers shared with me that amongst all the Mingtown they have stayed in, this was the best. The building, furniture, street gives an antique-y vibe that made me feel kinda transported to a time of Song/Tang/Ming Dynasty, it's a really charming place. On a negative note, the footpath on the PingJiang street is full on motor vehicles that constantly honk at pedestrians, almost like a habit. I was a bit concerned with the smell of the toilet and washing area, can be cleaner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th May 2016
9.1

I don't think you could find a better location for a hostel in Suzhou, its right on Pianjing road where all the streetvendors, bars and markets are. In saying that, its not noisey at all so you can get a decents night sleep (unless you've got some guys snoring in your room, cant blame the hostel for that :P) its about a 10 min walk to the subaway (exit 3 at xianmen station, line 1) Everything was really clean, the hostel seems very traditional in appearance which is pretty cool, big beds :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd May 2016
9.4

Really nice hostel with great bathrooms (Western and private cubicles even for shared dorms). Only negative was the downstairs shared area being an open cafe/restaurant, so you often had people walking in assuming the place was some kind of landmark for tourism. The staff were generally very polite and their English was fine, however they sometimes came off as a bit nervous or cold. Good for travelling around Suzhou, very convenient with two nearby subway stops and Family Mart for snacks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
6.0

Reception not that friendly. Bath room not clean. Location is great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2016
9.1

I got a good nights sleep in a 4 or 6 bed room. The fountain outside my window was peaceful and it drowned out any noise. The place itself was peaceful. Only complain was that it wasn't the easiest place to meet people, due to it being an actual cafe and the rooms being in a separate building right next door. The area is really nice and is an area for tourists to walk down. I would only visit Suzhou for one night though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.