Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Mingtown Suzhou International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 971 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 971 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.8
Mingtown Suzhou International Youth Hostel Located at No.28 Pingjiang Road, , Suzhou.
Mingtown Suzhou International Youth Hostel
China
Suzhou JiangSu 215031 No.28 Pingjiang Road
85% 971
31.3107232 120.6346222
Mingtown Suzhou International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2016
7.1

Great location - one staff member seemed reluctant to help with advice while another was very friendly. They don't give you soap you have to buy it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
8.3

I loved the location of this hostel--specifically the old, traditional, converted-house it was in. It's kept clean, there are key cards for the rooms and to get into the separate building. But there was only one bicycle for rent, no alternatives provided (we saw city bike racks on our way out of town). The morning receptionist was so put out that I had more than one question and she had to turn her music down to attend me. It's a great hostel for lots of other reasons, though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jul 2016
7.4

Rooms cleaned everyday, great location, but not the most social of hostels - no common area, and people didn't speak much in the area where food and drink was served. Nice interior decoration, but not the best place for meeting people if you're travelling alone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jun 2016
8.6

It was a very pleasant place, decorated in a very Chinese style, which I loved. It's location is both convenient and lovely. I felt like traveling back in time to ancient China. Loved it. Though, the mattress was a bit uncomfortable, too old maybe, I was sinking hahaha.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Jun 2016
9.4

This place is very central, and in one of the nicest locations in the city, next to a wonderful canal and walking distance to several interesting places (highly commercial area though, but generally done tastefully). The staff were very helpful with our requests (lent us an umbrella, kept a bottle of wine in the fridge for us). Breakfast was good. The only remark I had was that the room smelled a little mouldy and that some mosquitoes seemed to be able to get into our room from under the door.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
9.4

I had a great time at Mingtown. It is perfectly located and very quiet and peaceful. If you are looking for a party atmosphere, you will not find it here. They also serve decent food and awesome coffee.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2016
4.6

The only time I missed America during my five week trip to Asia (including cities in Taiwan, Japan, South Korea, and China) was when I stayed at this hostel, with the air conditioner broken, unable to get the cooler fan air from the upper bunk, with cockroaches crawling on my bedsheets and mosquitoes buzzing next to my ear. The Wi-Fi connection was extremely shoddy, no shower gel/soap in the showers, and the dorms smelled terrible. Comparisons Suzhou-wise unsure, worst hostel stay overall.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
8.0

Arrived late 10pm+ without problem after calling in advance to inform. Unfortunately the room for the 1st night had a super funky odor (Rm 1101 - avoid!!) - staff were obliging when we requested for a room change for our remaining stay (smile ladies!!). Everything else looked alright, hot water was good. Location was between 2 stations on Subway line 1, no vehicular access to hostel (FYI).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2016
9.4

Great location and helpful staff. We really enjoyed our stay and wandering around Pingjianglu and the Classical Gardens of Suzhou. Our room was quite small, but the decor was traditional and lovely. Food was also a good value. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th May 2016
10.0

A great opportunity to stay in a traditional Chinese mansion, on a picturesque old street next to a river. They also have a cozy café where you can enjoy good coffee. The staff is really nice, especially Candy, an amazingly generous and lovely girl - the angel of Suzhou!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.