Hostelworld.com

Muffin Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 527 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 527 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.5
Muffin Hostel Located at Hegigasse 9, , Salzburg.
Muffin Hostel
Austria
Salzburg A-5020 Hegigasse 9
76% 527
47.7931929 13.0341947
Muffin Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
3rd Sep 2015
8.0

Very nice room (3 beds with private bath) with plenty of space. Room keys came with cute stuffed mouse attached, which was rather cumbersome but a nice touch. Not really walkable from the old town or train station, but the buses are pretty cheap and getting to and from the hostel using them is quite convenient.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Aug 2015
6.3

Wanted fan and coffee which were unavailable

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 36 reviews
27th Aug 2015
7.7

Free muffin on arrival. Cheap considering Salzburg is an expensive city. location is pretty average. Wifi only in lobby. It was some kind of student accommodation. Atmosphere wasn't great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Aug 2015
6.0

Security; Dorm doors left open because other guest didn´t use their key to lock them. No lockers in rooms! Location; Bit off from center of town Staff; Many of them were working sick and tired. Not their fault obviously.. Atmosphere; Mostly nice! Cleanliness; Clean as any other hostel, nothing to complain! Luggage room smells heavily like smoking room.. Value for money; Bit expensive for a being hostel! Facilities; Summer time hostel.. Basicly nothing working! Cafe-machine. Wifi.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2015
9.7

Ula, Sonia, Sebastian and Iga made my stay a great one. Friendly staff with great tips on where to go and recommendations. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot, hope to see you again! :)

13th Aug 2015
8.9

It is a good hostel only 20 minutes away from the center city by walk. Everything was good and they gave us a muffin when we arrived! Staff was helpfull, told us about some good places we needed to go. Would definitely stay again even though the atmosphere was very calm, not the best place to meet new people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for the review! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Aug 2015
3.7

The staff at this location were quite rude. They were not from Salzburg either so didn't really help me when I asked for places outside the tourist area. The room wasn't ready when I arrived and it was quite dirty when I walked in. I'm a fast walker and it's about 20min from the very edge of the city centre. Additionally, what I was charged on the website was different from their advertised price at their reception. They had a good washing area though

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2015
7.4

Keys to the lockers in the rooms would be a nice touch. Thanks to Ola and Ula at the desk and to Sebastian and Aleksandra for their help with my cell phone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thanks a lot for the review - please let us stress the fact that lockers are located in the kitchen (you can get a key for one of them at the reception). Hope you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful city! :)

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2015
7.7

Enjoyable stay at muffin, staff were really pleasant and helpful, the free muffin was a lovely personal touch, thanks👌

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for such nice words, hope to see you again :)

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Aug 2015
7.1

Not our favourite hostel. The atmosphere was a bit poor: it was almost impossible to make friends. There were lots of older (40+) travellers that started complaining about the noise from 21:30 on. Facilities and staff were good. Wouldn't go there again because of the atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.