X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Muffin Hostel Reviews

Hegigasse 9, Salzburg, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
521 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 69%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Wanted fan and coffee which were unavailable

  • 30th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Security; Dorm doors left open because other guest didn´t use their key to lock them. No lockers in rooms! Location; Bit off from center of town Staff; Many of them were working sick and tired. Not their fault obviously.. Atmosphere; Mostly nice! Cleanliness; Clean as any other hostel, nothing to complain! Luggage room smells heavily like smoking room.. Value for money; Bit expensive for a being hostel! Facilities; Summer time hostel.. Basicly nothing working! Cafe-machine. Wifi.


97%

Ula, Sonia, Sebastian and Iga made my stay a great one. Friendly staff with great tips on where to go and recommendations. Would stay again.

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot, hope to see you again! :)

89%

It is a good hostel only 20 minutes away from the center city by walk. Everything was good and they gave us a muffin when we arrived! Staff was helpfull, told us about some good places we needed to go. Would definitely stay again even though the atmosphere was very calm, not the best place to meet new people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the review! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel :)

74%

Keys to the lockers in the rooms would be a nice touch. Thanks to Ola and Ula at the desk and to Sebastian and Aleksandra for their help with my cell phone.

  • 9th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks a lot for the review - please let us stress the fact that lockers are located in the kitchen (you can get a key for one of them at the reception). Hope you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful city! :)

77%

Enjoyable stay at muffin, staff were really pleasant and helpful, the free muffin was a lovely personal touch, thanks👌

  • 5th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for such nice words, hope to see you again :)

71%

Not our favourite hostel. The atmosphere was a bit poor: it was almost impossible to make friends. There were lots of older (40+) travellers that started complaining about the noise from 21:30 on. Facilities and staff were good. Wouldn't go there again because of the atmosphere.


66%

Friendly staff. Great breakfast. Unfortunate that the internet only works in the main lobby and not in the rooms. There were no lockers in the rooms which was a bit of a security concern. Helpful that the Sound of Music tour picks up directly from the hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your opinion with us. Lockers are located in the kitchen (you can get a key for one of them at the reception). Hope you enjoyed your stay anyway! :)

91%

Staff are on hand to help you with anything you need. Great location once you know how to get to and from the centre. Facilities are outstanding with a beautiful garden. The only downside is there are no lockers for bags. There is a locked storage room though. Highly recommend this place... You also get free muffins!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks a lot for the review, we hope to see you again! :)

86%

Great place but especially great staff!! It is a little walk to the city center but you gotta be very lazy to be complaining about that. I mean lets face it, it isnt at every hostel that you get free muffins EVERYDAY (Thankyou Sonia !!!) And if ever in trouble or need of advice , know that Iga, Ula , especially Sonia that does so much and the rest of the awesome Polish gang will be there to help you !!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot, hope to see you again! :)

54%

It is a little far from town, but easily accessible by public transport once you get to know the bus system. This hostel is student accommodation 10 months of the year, a hostel for 2 months year which explains the facilities. Lacked atmosphere, lockers in rooms and was very expensive (€70 on a Saturday for 3 bed mixed).


66%

It's not a hostel but rather a student dormitory that is used as hostel. We were woken at 4am by loud conversations and laughter on the hall-ways and the floor below. The walls clearly offer little noise protection. My wife and I booked 1 night in a twin room and were charged 112 Euros, which is hopelessly overprized considering that its just a small room in a noisy environment, does not include breakfast and there is no internet access in the room. Staff was friendly though and rooms were clean

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for the opinion. All the information concerning the hostel (pictures of rooms and the fact that breakfast is not included in price) is stated on our Hostelworld website. Our guests' comfort is crucial for us, therefore we have taken some precautions that will help to reduce the noise level. We do hope that you enjoyed your stay in Salzburg anyway.

91%

Loved the big garden and big kitchen! Very clean and quiet, and Ola was oh so helpful when we asked for some tips! Loved the quiet atmosphere of the area and all the surroundings trails to explore! Great location and hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for such a nice review! Hope to see you again! :)

66%

They don't take cards for payment. Annoying!  The wifi internet is a joke. You can only gain access in the lobby but as soon as 3 or more people connect it stops.  You have to fork out extra money for silly little fees and still have to carry your linen to the lobby. They have a breakfast of cereal and bread and basic food, but it isn't free! €5.70 for cereal... Best to go into town and get a better meal!  The female receptionist with short brown curly hair is the rudest lady at the hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review - we do apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. We do put emphasis on customer service and we will definitely take your opinion into account. Please let me stress the fact that Muffin is a youth hostel and therefore all the common hostel rules (e.g. the one concerning bed linen) apply to it. The city tax is obligatory in all the hotels and hostels in Salzburg. We do hope you enjoyed the beauty of Salzburg anyway.

74%

Unfortunately the most expensive hostel I have stayed at (average €40/ night for 4 bed dorm), which may be due to a short supply of hostels in Salzburg and my booking only a few days before. The facilities were clean and safe, but very basic and I found the bed quite uncomfortable, which I have not had a problem with elsewhere. Staff were helpful, great showers although limited number of showers for number of guests. Wifi only (just) works in lobby. Beautiful surroundings, bus to city centre.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for the review! We hope it wasn't your last stay in our beautiful city!

23%

Location wasn't great as so far from the centre, staff were not too friendly and a very overpriced and dated hostel. Not a great stay and wouldn't go back

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are really sorry to hear that you did not find the hostel comfortable. The hostel is located only 15 minutes on foot from the city centre (which is clearly stated on our Hostelworld website). All the rooms have been renovated lately.

97%

Everything about our stay was wonderful! In walking distance to downtown and many scenic walking areas. The staff was so helpful and accommodating for our three nights there. They answered all our questions and helped us book, rebook, and facilitate our stay with our tentative travel plans for the time there. The one big down side is their wifi sucks!!! Only in the lobby area is gets bogged down during peak hours since everyone is on the same limited network. No wifi in rooms.

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks a lot for sharing your opinion! :) We do apologize for problems with the internet (we are currently working on it). Hope to see you again!

83%

Really nice place, beautiful surrounding. A bit of a walk to town, but quite a beautiful walk. Had beautiful gardens and kitchen etc. Staff were helpful and nice. I paid quite a lot considering its a shared hostel room, but I booked the day before in high season so might be cheaper at other times of year or with more warning.


83%

Great location with mountain views. The staff were fantastic, especially Ula Sonia and Iga!!! Thank you so much!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot, hope to see you again! :)

74%

Pretty average. Was able to book about a week in advance. Room was clean and modern, bathroom was clean. Location not ideal but I knew that going in, plus there's a trolleybus stop near by. They sell Salzburg cards, which anyone staying there for at least one full day must absolutely invest in. It pays itself off after two excursions. I would recommend muffin


« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all Salzburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback