X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Muffin Hostel Reviews

Hegigasse 9, Salzburg, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
402 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 66%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Very smooth check-in from Sylwia. Very friendly and personable staff - they even hosted a free BBQ for us (don't think this is a regular thing) and provided a free muffin! Wifi didn't work but they had free computers with good Internet. Good location: only a 10-15 min walk into center of town, very nice woodsy, hilly walk. Security wasn't great - you have to leave your key and to get it you just say your room number, which is a little sketchy (although Salzburg is a safe town). Would stay again!


91%

위치가 별로였다는 것만 빼면 나머지는 다 괜찮았습니다.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Sylvia really helped us during check in and everything. Also other receptionists were really helpful and positive.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

If you are desperate enough for a place to stay in Salzburg, then this is your place. The hostel is far too big, with too many guests for the staff to give you any real attention. If you have questions about directions, where to eat, things to do in the area; good luck you're on your own. Muffin Hostel better hope no other hostels come to town because they will be screwed. You really have no other options for hostels in Salzburg, just hope they don't overbook and you end up sleeping on the floor

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

The place is not exactly close to Altstadt, but it's not more than 15 minutes walk. The surrounding landscape is beautiful and the staff are nice. Big kitchen for backpackers and people travelling on a budget.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lebanon
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Staying at Muffin Hostel was an absolutely great decision! As a solo traveller this place was so good to meet other people, and the garden is a really cool hangout to facilitate that. Free muffins at reception on a regular basis! Only issue was a particular staff member wasn't having the best day when myself and 4 other guests were checking in so it took over an hour. When Jadzia was on shift things actually got done and she was always very happy and helpful too, more staff like her please!


91%

It took really long for the receptionist to check us in, but it seemed like she was new and had difficulties to cope with all the guest who kept arriving all by herself, so it's okay.


89%

Location was kind of out of the way but they made up for it with the muffins. The fooseball was immaculate. The ping pong was crazy and the staff were wonderful. Sylvia especially. She was engaging with the guests and redefined what it means to be hospitable. Would definitely come back again!


83%

This hostel has huge potential, a student halls turned into a hostel for the summer. Facilities are excellent, bar, table tennis, great garden etc. bit of a walk from town however. But you'll meet like minded travellers and have a good time.


20%

beds are so bad i actually slept in my car with my family

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bosnia And Herzegovina
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff are amazing... Joanna and Aška are awesome! (and very good at table football)

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very friendly and helpful staff. Though the location is not ideal it is fairly easy to walk over to the castle and then into the old part of the city. The dorms are very secure and comfortable.


60%

Location is inconvenient. Buses are rare and need to walk a bit. Its a pain at night. Some staff aren't able to speak English and hence can't help us. Rooms are too small and crammed. There were no locks for the room door or the bathroom door. This is an absolute must when we share rooms. The place was clean though. I feel there is a lot of room for improvement.


80%

The hostel was good, the only problem we had was that at night there were few people listening music and making noise, so they were difficulting us to sleep peacefuly.


94%

It's a great hostal ! It's not in the main city center but it's very easy to get there. Just one bus from the train station. The rooms are nice and very clean. They have 2 kitchens so you can cook. I loved the garden too ! But the best of all is the bar :DDD I met some awesome people there and had a great time. Sylvia y Marzena, you're the best !:D Gracias x todo !

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Muffin is a very nice hostel in a good, quiet location, but close to the city centre, a 15min walk. Staff were extremely helpful, went to great lenghts to make everyone feel welcome. Bathrooms and toilets were clean, beds really comfy. Overall a great experience, if I come to Salzburg again, I'll definitely stay there! Cheers

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I really enjoyed my stay at Muffin Hostel. The freshly baked muffins they serve you at check-in are scrumptious. My room was very clean even though I shared it with 3 persons I didn't know (initially at least). I really loved the hostel's spacious garden and the fact that it's situated in a calm place, but it only takes 15 mins on foot to get to the city centre. All in all, it's great place to stay at if you're planning to go to Salzburg.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Was a really great place and I stayed another night longer than expected! Really great location for exploring the city (just 10-15 walk to the old town) and to get to the Hauptbahnhof, just one bus. The staff is energetic and friendly and they gave me many suggestions for good restaurants The rooms are small, but the hostel is inexpensive, so it all evens out. The bar has a great vibe and I was able to organise trips around Salzburg with others I met there.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Had a great stay for the third year in a row. It's always really clean and the friendly and professional staff will help you however they can. There was a bbq for all the guests since it was such nice wheater and everyone was invited. Afterwards the party moved to the bar :)

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Good hostel for decent price. They have a huge garden with bbq area, which is great to meet other people when you're a solo traveler. The wifi worked fine.


« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Salzburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback