Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Old Town Brasov Hostel Reviews

39 Prundului, Brasov, Romania, Brasov, Romania

Reviews & Ratings Explained


345 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Staff was ok, not great. Was clean.. Plastic on the mattresses,so was a nightmare to sleep.


Great hostel really well located, the girls of the staff are very cool and friendly. You have a patio if you want to smoke, free wifi in the room, lockers, don't have to pay extra for leaving your bags or such as in other places. There's also a kitchen and breakfast included, consisting of cereals, toasts and tea, I think, but even without taking that into account the hostel was really worth it!!!


Very beautiful!!!!


This was a great hostel, nice vibe to it & a lovely bar! Would come back for sure!


Good Hostel, but with more than one problem. Hot water only some times, 2 showers and one broken. And the tour they offer is very tricky, 3 castels for $$$ and when you are there you need to pay extra for the entrance (without notice). But friendly staff and Good price.


Cold showers, squeaking noisy beds whenever anyone moved in it. Awful!!!! People have told you before about all of these issues but you do nothing to improve it. You dont deserve customers.


This hostel is about 8 to 10 minute walking distance from the old town hall and is value for money for the price. The room I stayed has 4 bed, a long desk and locker for each person and enough power plugs. The only problem I found was that the toilet and bathroom are small and needs to be improved.

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


Very bad staff - unhelpful, very unpleasant, "formal" and "official". The wifi didn't work; the interior design is unattractive, with no heart or idea. Breakfast is just milk, cereals, bread, marmelade and butter... There is no kitchen facilities open for the guests - except of the breakfast time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It is not true, the kitchen can be used at any time , the wifi is working well and as far as the breakfast is concerd that is standard .


this hostel is in a pretty good location. I only really dealt with one of the staff members and she was friendly (blonde lady) the beds in this hostel worriers average. the beds squeaked like crazy every time you move which is hard when you don't know the person below you. the mattresses were also covered in plastic which was weird. bathroom downstairs desperately needs a shower curtain. everything wad soaked in there after showering including the toilet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We cover the mattresses in plastic foil for hygene reasons and we think that is normal for the bath to get wet after showering beacause of the steam. We are very sorry that you didn't felt comfortabel here, we will take into account everything you said .But you know it is hard to please everyone . Have a nice day.


The girl at the reception was super-friendly, but she seemed not to have that much of knowledge about the city/area! Other than that it was perfect :)


Only one shower would work at a time if at all, downstairs shower needs a curtain, but quite often you end up in a cold shower. Staff weren't very nice one staff member seemed annoyed whenever you asked her anything and was often rude in response, she was constantly making upstair smell of smoke and just spent days watching shows on a laptop. on our last day we delt with a blonde woman with the remains of pink in her hair and she was lovely very helpful. Beds and room are spacious.


Stayed here two nights and both mornings there was no hot water so I couldn't shower. When the water was fixed, only in one shower, the showerhead was broken so only a trickle of water could come out. Staff were apologetic but didn't offer solutions. Kitchen was grubby. Beds were wrapped in plastic wrap so it was like sleeping in a shopping bag. Location was great. Staff were friendly.


The staff was really nice and helpfull. We arrived very late and needed a taxi very early in the morning - they organized both for us. I can clearly recommend this hostel.

View all Brasov Hostels

Please give us your feedback