X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Open House Barra Reviews

Bernardo Catarino 137 Barra, Salvador, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
79 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This hostel was definitely one of the best we ever stayed in! The hostel is perfectly located in a safe neighbourhood only 3 minutes away from the beach. The owner are friendly and always willing to help. You have a delicious breakfast which is served directly to your table. But the best thing about this hostel is the atmosphere. Its a beautiful building completely renovated and full of paintings of the owner. AND:The free Capoeira and Samba lessons were awesome! we will def come back!

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

We enjoyed the colorful hostel environment, very artsy/bohemian. Alex was an incredibly helpful, personable, and gracious host. Rooms were a bit dusty, but not bad. Showers/beds were okay. Breakfast was great. Luciane was also very helpful in the mornings when Alex was off duty. The hostel is a short walk from the beach and several bus stops where you can take a bus to all of the main points of the city. There were no lockers room, but we had our own room key and a key to enter the hostel.


100%

Open House was the perfect place to stay for exploring Salvador. Staff was always helpful, friendly and gave great recommendations for places to see and things to do. The location is a short walk to the beach and I always felt safe in the hostel. I would stay there again!

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

This Hostel is located right in the heart of Barra, and is probably in the top5 for our 3months in Brazil. Hot showers, a DVD room with hundreds of movies, guitars and bongo drums and copieria lessons were some of the facilities offered. Highly recommended


97%

Thank you very much Openhouse for a wonderful stay, we'll be back for more dancing and more caipis

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

i had a great time. thank you for everything guys


89%

Very nice staff, very helpful! I would recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a clean and quiet hostel in Salvador.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

This is a funky little place. We were welcomed with a glass of juice. Breakfast was quite large for a hostel and included table service. It was quite while we were there but met friendly travels. Location is close to barracks beaches, shops and restaurants.


100%

This was the best hostel we have stayed at! Great staff who make the hostel a great atmosphere every night. Would def go back!


89%

We really enjoy our stay. Located in a very safety area, wich is important in that city. The staff was very helpfull. Great breakfast. Nice place.

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Open House Barra is a really nice place to stay. The stuff is really friendly and helpful..always ready for having a Chat. The rooms are clean.. The breakfast is a perfect start into a new day. The Location is great. The area is safe and in between 5minutes you're down to the citybeaches!


80%

The hostel was vibrant, colorful and great energy. Staff was very informative and helpful.

  • 14th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place! Loved the Energy! Definitely best place I stayed in during my 6 week holiday. Also.. loved the breakfast ;) Loved all the colour everywhere, the uniqueness and the art.

  • 14th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Beautiful house, art style. We had a huge and nice decorated room. Breakfast was very nice and different to what we had in other places (what we liked). Location (Barra) felt very safe. You need to take a bus to the historic center but it's within walking distance of beaches and restaurants. Very nice hostel!


94%

Very nice place to stay. Staff is simply great, breakfast is very good, and rooms are comfortable and clean! I Recommend!


91%

Sehr freundliche inhaber

  • 4th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

My friend and I stayed at open house for a week and we loved it! The movie room was great, and the location for beaches and transportation was superb! Breakfast was the best I've had in brazil and everyone there was so helpful with directions and recommendations. The rooms were large and the whole hostel had an amazing artistic and bright atmosphere to it! It's a nice quiet hostel in a safe area that was perfect for us to relax in for the last week of our 2 month period in brazil.


91%

The personable service was excellent. The movie room is fantastic, and although I didn´t think we´d use it, we did twice! Such a novelty. Being in association with social projects in Salvador was huge added value. The colours spoke volumes for the culture which was vibrant and expressive. Breakfast was the best we´ve had since traveling. All in all, unique and lovely experience.

  • 1st Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Salvador has been great so far and the open house played a major role to make our stay one of the best travel experiences we've ever had, so we decided to stay longer. alex helped us to discover an amazing cultural environment here, meeting musicians, dancers and wonderful people. salvador is culturally like a gold mine and so is the open house with its music colors and chill out atmosphere. many thanks!

  • 12th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Alex was amazing. He offered us a cold drink as we arrived and showed us around the whole place - he made us feel very welcome! The open house is probably the most relaxed place we stayed in. Beautiful common area with nice paintings and chill out music, the whole house has a very nice artists touch. Breakfast was good as well. To be fair, the bathrooms need to be renovated. We highly recommend the place (especially for people who want to relax) and would definitely stay again! Thanks guys!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(54 results)


View all Salvador Hostels

Please give us your feedback