X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Pause Reviews

1 Pasero Street, Caye Caulker, Belize

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
49 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

If you can avoid the smell from the cat wee on the toilets and the outdoor sink area, Pause is an excellent choice. Lovely terrace that goes out into the water w/ wonderful sunsets. Nice private 'beach'. Maddy (the host) is amazingly helpful. I had 6 nights there and enjoyed my stay.

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Maddie is absolutely helpful and wonderful. It's a great place to stay and it was great knowing that the funds were going to the animals.

  • 23rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

I had a great stay at Pause. It is a great alternative to the party hostels on the caye if you still want to be in a hostel but in a calm environment. Maddie the owner is impressive; she works a lot for her sanctuary. I would definitely return there.


86%

This hostel is a work in progress but still a great place to stay. It is peaceful and quite. They have their own private docks and free kayaks. There's a place around the corner that you can kayak to find 3ft long fish called tarpans. It is an animal sanctuary but the animals are tamed. Most of them stay in their cages. The place is huge and animals are really friendly. The owner has great ideas to add a kitchen and new dorm rooms. All the money goes towards the animals.

  • 6th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

An outstanding value for all levels of interest. Bill Robinson, NSPE

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Had deep reservations about staying here (cat sanctuary?!) but was pleasantly surprised. Madi (the owner) is the sweetest lady - super kind and very helpful. A bit away from the party areas - much more tranquil than the rest of the Caye. The volunteers that help run the place are just as kind and helpful - great bunch of people. Some of the facilities need a bit of repair but looks like they are gearing up to do just that. Definitely a one of a kind experience - glad I stayed here!


77%

Lovely people, very good price. No facilities for making tea or food. Outside space was ok but no inside areas for chilling. It was great being able to use the kayaks.

  • 10th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Great time kayaking at sunset

  • 5th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The Pause is clean, close to the sea, with wonderful facilities, a beautiful double floor deck, the rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is very kind and friendly. The hostel is located in a quite zone. I would definitely come back :-)

  • 28th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

When I arrived, no one came out to open. I standed there for quite some time in the RAIN until I had to find somewhere else to go find shelter. NExt morning I received an email saying that they had charged me 100% as a No show. I wrote them back that I was there last night, and all they had to say was: "Well it has never happened before, we are sorry"

Owner Comment (Hide)
It states clearly on our policy that we are open until 6 p.m. However we usually wait longer for customers as in the case of this customer, we waited until 7 p.m. in the rain and can no longer wait at the gate in the rain. If this customer did arrive as they are stating. they should have walked into the premises as all customers do this is why we mentioned that this has never happened before they should not just say they were there when they never came in to talk to us.

94%

Very nice People running that place, the sunsets at the boat place are fantastic, as well as the Mornings with a lot of peacfull moments. I just can recommend that place.

  • 6th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


31%

The cabin where we stayed had mould and holes. There is one shower, the toilet is in the same room. There was no lock on the door of our cabin, they say no one comes on the property It had little bugs on the bed the first night. There was no stairs to get to the top bunck at first, so they made improvised one that moved while I was on it. The owner wasn't there, only volunteers. There is no kitchen. We askes to stay only one night, we couldn't unless we payed, money goes to the cats not hostel.


60%

Pause was a good, cheap stay, and the owner is really nice and helpful. We did have a problem with flees in the bed because of all the cats though, but other than that it was OK. It's on the other side of the island, but since everything is so close it's not a problem.

Owner Comment (Hide)
There are NO flees in our rooms as animals live in separate living quarters & NOT allowed in any of the accommodations. In addition, animals are treated on a monthly basis for flees & other parasites. We value the reviews of all our customers because this is how we can improve our accommodations however we must state that many travelers have never seen or know the difference between a sand fly and flees as is the case with this customer and sand flies are common throughout the island.

80%

Better mosquto net on room

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
77%

The owner is a very sweet woman who cares a lot about animals. There are a ton of cats and dogs on the property but they are mild tempered and not at all near the sleeping quarters. There is no kitchen to use and there is only cold water in the shower, but that seems common on the island. Some more attention could be paid to the condition of the room. There is a lot of water damage and some mold. But that is really the only complaint. I felt safe there and had a great time!


60%

+ Hostel supports worthy cause of animal rescue + Location is good, close to everything in the centre of Caye Caulker + Nice deck over the water accessible for guests - Leaking ceiling in room when raining - No door, only curtain to bathroom/toilet - Smell of cat urine in yard outside room (owner cleans the area, but many loose cats) - Cracks in walls and supporting columns - Owner was away and nobody was aware of our reservation when we arrived - Potts and pans, but no cooker in room


91%

A very relaxing hostel with only a few rooms. It is also great if you dont really like cats and dogs. Even if there are many around, you dont have them in your room and they behave very well! We really enjoyed our three days there. For more information and pictures check out www.bobaroundtheworld.com.


89%

We had a great five days staying here -- two of us in the three-bed dorm. You need to be aware that the facilities are fairly basic, that the place is quiet (not a party/meet-people location), and that there are lots of cats and dogs around. But if that's all fine for you, then you'll love it here. The backyard is great for sitting around in a sunbed on a lazy day. The jetty is nice for sunset. The area is quite private and not too noisy. It was all very relaxing. Thanks, Madi!


60%

+ clean + good breakfast - not a real hostel with backpackers - 45 min. walk to the beach


77%

This place is well located for everything in Caye Caulker, and only about 3 minutes walk from water taxi dock. Maddie is a great host and very helpful. However be aware that there are many animals around, and the smell of their urine is sometimes quite strong. The stand alone buildings seemed less affected. Security seems good, and it's a quiet area. If you're not fond of Maybe think of staying somewhere else...

Owner Comment (Hide)
As previously mentioned, we welcome and value the comments & review by customers because this is how we improve our accommodations but we believe that customers must do their research about the property they want to book not just book & later complaint because of their irresponsibility to do their research i.e. what does one expect to see , find & smell if you go to a zoo? We are as clear as possible on the description of our property.

« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Caye Caulker Hostels

Please give us your feedback