Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Posada del Abuelito

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.6
Superb 1450 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.7
BOOK NOW
9.6
Superb 1450 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Mar 2017
10.0

FIVE stars. First time in San Cristobal and very much enjoyed the staff and facilities at PDA. Very easy to socialise here due to the layout and interesting common areas including the fireplace room. Good breakfast included in the incredibly low rate. It gets cold in the hills so bring warm clothes. Main municipal market is not too far along some interesting streets; it's one of the nicer Mexico markets I think.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Mar 2017
9.7

We loved our stay here! It had a really chilled but still quite a social vibe. Just ask & they will light the fire for you to sit around in the evening, something which we loved doing with a glass of wine or 2. The hostel is super clean, they even make your bed fresh for you every day :) There are loads of extra touches including plenty of blankets to keep warm. B'fast was great & the kitchen very well equipped. The staff were very friendly & helpful with everything that we needed - Recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
18th Mar 2017
9.7

Great location, fantastic breakfast, strong wifi, lovely outdoor seating areas and indoor fireplace for the cold nights. Only downside was that we were in a private room where you could hear every single noise from the road, including fireworks (?) early in the morning. Overall, a fantastic hostel and we would love to go back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Mar 2017
9.4

Really lovely hostel. Nice relaxed atmosphere, with lots of areas to chill out. Our private room and ensuite was perfect. Really delicious breakfast- particularly the jam! Staff really helpful, and they have a book recommending tours around the area which the staff can help organise for you- definitely recommend checking them out. Wish we could have stayed longer, but they were booked out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
9.7

Very professionally runned hostel. Stayed in mixed dorm and the beds were made every day and dorm cleaned. Hostel has good buffet style breakfast. Allkinds of tours can be arranged from hostel at good price. Hostel has good common area too with fireplace to meet other travellers. Definetly would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
10.0

A perfect place to stay: amazing atmosphere, super friendly and helpful staff, lovely people, clean facilities, great breakfast. Best hostel we have been to! Definitely recommend that place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2017
9.1

Beautiful, chilled and convenient hostel for a relaxing stay in San Cristobal. The staff was a little loud, especially in the mornings; they yell to each other constantly and sometimes, it really disrupts the peace. There is a "hippie hostel" next door that tends to have loud music until late at night. Over all I loved the place, but my experience would have been just perfect without the morning yelling by the staff the ladies and the late night loud music/ singing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Feb 2017
9.1

Veeerrrryyy nice. Warm fire in the evening, amazing breakfast, nice little touches, beautiful place. A little too quite at times but was great for a newly solo female traveller to feel safe and at home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2017
9.7

This place couldn't have been lovelier. The staff was amazing, the hostel BEAUTIFUL, and the jam made on site for breakfast! I was thinkinv today about how I missed the warmth of the fire in the salon and the conversations that took place by it. Wonderful wonderful experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Feb 2017
9.7

Very nice clean rooms and bathrooms. Good common area where you can light a fire in the evenings. Delicious breakfast and coffee availble all day long!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.