Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Posada del Abuelito

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 1696 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.7
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 1696 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Sep 2017
9.7

BEST JAM I'VE EVER HAD! The lovely women who work at this hostel make the best jam ever and it's served with breakfast everyday and honestly it made my mornings. Beatiful garden and patio. Comfortable rooms with tons of extra wool blankets for those chilly San Cris nights. The hostel also can book any tour you'd want to do in Chiapas for very reasonable prices. Only a 5 minute walk from Real de Guadelupe (the main tourist street with a bunch of bars, restaurants, and shops).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2017
10.0

The location was ideal, the property was clean and well kept, the staff was friendly and helpful. It had all the amenities one could need. The showers had great water pressure and hot water. This might be one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Sep 2017
8.6

High quality hostel. Very chilled and a good place to relax and get a good night's sleep if thats what you're after. Good dorm beds, the whole place was kept very clean and the breakfast was quality (although the whole place seemed to get up pre-9am and could feel very busy). The staff weren't the friendliest you will encounter, but they were absolutely fine and were very professional. All in all a very good place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2017
9.7

I arrived well before my check in time and even though my room was not ready they allowed me to use a locker for the day so I didn't have to lug my bag about. It is a beautiful little hostel that is cozy and homely. Nice little touches such as homemade jams at breakfast (which is included) and friendly staff that are helpful and knowledgeable. Would definately stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
29th Aug 2017
9.1

Nice rooms, very clean. Friendly staff. Provide big lockers in the room and other lockers if you want to check out late, which is great. Basic but very good breakfast. A bit a walk from town, but it's not too bad. The only downside was that there's not really a hostel atmosphere to meet other people, it's more a guest house with two dorm rooms. Would definitely stay again there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Aug 2017
9.4

The hostel is really quiet and has a beautiful garden. The rooms are big and the bathroom really clean. In the morning they prepare a big breakfast with fresh fruits, scrambled eggs and so on. The staff is really nice - they even dried our wet clothes for free. Also the location is good the city centre is close and also the restaurants and bars. They also offer you many different tours like hiking, horse riding or a usual one by car.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Aug 2017
9.7

Great stay at this fabulous place ! Cool com,on area (2 patios + room with fireplace + kitchen/dining room). Esay to socialize if you feel like it ir be on your own if you prefer that. Perfect kitchen to cook, lost of hot water for showers and wifi that works pretty well. What else do you need ? It'a bit far-ish from the center (15 minutes walk) but there a couple of dining options not very far and the big market is about 10 minutes walk the other way. Staff is very, very nice ! Hello Nancy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Aug 2017
9.7

Best hostel of our trip. Their breakfast is amazing and the hostel is beautiful. Our room was small but sufficient. Nice chill areas. Book early - we tried to extend our stay, but they were full.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
17th Aug 2017
9.4

Amazing hostel. Good location with a lot of outdoor common space. Very clean and well equipped kitchen. Great breakfast. Not many hostel activities but nice tours to book at the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2017
10.0

Such a lovely hostel that really felt like home - so cosy and comfortable! Kitchen was really nice and well equipped, probably the nicest and best kitchen I've come across since traveling. Very clean and they have little touches which make a huge difference such as making bed in the morning, free shampoo and soap, water, coffee and tea all day and the wifi is really good for when you need to do some admin. Breakfast also really great and the homemade jam is delish!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×