Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Posada del Abuelito

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 1,100 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.6
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 1,100 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.6
Posada del Abuelito Located at Calle Tapachula #18, Barrio del Cerrillo, San Cristobal de las Casas.
Posada del Abuelito
Mexico
San Cristobal de las Casas 29220 Calle Tapachula #18, Barrio del Cerrillo
95% 1100
16.7407905 -92.6321697
Posada del Abuelito
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jul 2016
9.7

I absolutely loved this hostel. Probably the cleanest one I've seen so far. The breakfast was very good too. Very friendly staff. I booked for 4 nights and they refunded me 1 night back as I had to leave earlier. Strongly recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2016
10.0

Excellent stay at a truly impressive hostel! The feel is like home! The breakfast is yummy (you can cook up to 2 eggs for yourself if you want them). We actually were just starting to recover from a pretty bad bug the day we arrived and found this the perfect place to do so. Even though we stayed in the dorms (since we didn't book early enough to get a private room), the beds were amazingly comfortable with plenty of extra blankets for the chilly nights! The wifi works very well!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • graemebingham2868
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Jul 2016
9.1

Great place to stay in San Cristobal. Has all the facilities you need plus more, with very friendly staff as well. Only a few blocks from the end of the Main Street, though the walk to the bus station was quite far Only slight niggle was the security when I left my backpack on the day I arrived - I was given a locker in a common room but there was no key, so not too happy leaving it there all day (they do at least have smaller lockers with locks in reception where you can leave valuables)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
14th Jul 2016
8.6

The vibe are is great. Lovely courtyards to chill and I was lucky that there were a number of interesting people staying. Only downfall is that at 10.30 it's lights out and there isn't really a place to talk over a few beers..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Jul 2016
9.1

Beautiful little hostel with a colonial architecture vibe right near the main strip. Very cheap and worth the money. The two downfalls are a lack of powerpoints in the dorms (only one was available across the other side of the room - making my 5am wake up alarm unfortunate for everyone), and the requirement for silence in the common areas after 10pm (we got subtlety moved into the kitchen when enjoying a few beers on a nice evening). San Cristobal as a whole wasn't a big nightlife spot anyway.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
10.0

This is the best hostel I've ever stayed at. The beds were comfy, the bathrooms were super clean, the staff was friendly and the other guests were from all over the world and made you feel confortable as well. The bathroom was not in our room but just outside the door so it was no problem at all. If your up for an international ambience and a good price to travel to a gorgeous place, this is definitely the spot.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Santibanez
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 46 reviews
6th Jul 2016
10.0

Great place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Jul 2016
10.0

100% recommend - suuuuch a beautiful place!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2016
8.0

Despite its rating as the best hostel in Mexico, Posada del Abuelito didn't seem that special to me. The space itself is very pretty, the beds are comfortable, and the kitchen is clean. Breakfast is fruit, tea/coffee, toast, cereal, and two eggs to cook as you please. The front desk staff were not friendly or particularly helpful, and the map they have is pretty useless. The breakfast and cleaning crew were very nice though! There are lots of hostels in SC to stay at that are just as good!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Jun 2016
8.9

Excellent place! One of those hostels where you just feel comfortable and all is well :) great breakfast with lots of delicious fruit. Gorgeous chill out courtyard. It even has a little room with a real log fire for if you get cold in the evenings!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.