Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Posada del Abuelito

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.6
Superb 1653 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.7
BOOK NOW
9.6
Superb 1653 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Aug 2017
9.7

5-10 minute walk from the centre of San Cristobal, lovely rooms, great facilities. Very homely atmosphere - definitely not a party hostel but lovely all the same. Staff were helpful and let me have breakfast and a shower when I arrived early on the morning of my reservation. Comfy (and sturdy!!) bunk beds for once.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2017
10.0

One of the nicest hostels I have ever stayed in!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • black84
  • Switzerland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jul 2017
10.0

It doesn't get better than this. La Posada del Abuelito is everything an amazing hostel is supposed to be. A flawless experience. Thank you for your hospitality!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in! The courtyard and rooms are beautiful and homey. Amazing kitchen and breakfast, which also sells beer and wine and homemade jam at a very low price. Very friendly and helpful staff. The mix dorm is well designed so that ten bunk beds fit comfortably in there. It didn't feel crammed, but do keep in mind that with ten people of different schedule, not to mention late check-ins and early check-outs, it could be a little bit difficult for a light sleeper.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2017
9.4

Fantastic place, a lot of attention to detail, mixed dorm had great beds and facilities, only issue was after a family using the showers for 45mins there was no more hot water left for anyone else, otherwise it felt very homey and was a pleasure to stay there

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2017
9.4

Beautiful little place tucked off away from the bustle of the town center. I ended up here because of wanting to extend my time in San Christobal. What a pleasant surprise. I have enjoyed the space, the staff and the other guests. The mixed dormitory is tight, but El Posasda Abuelita has been a welcoming and comfortable place to come home to after a day of exploring. Breakfast is good. The space is very clean. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The dorm is a good value. I would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2017
9.4

Excellent option for a quiet stay, the staff are friendly and will accommodate your requests when possible. The kitchens l always has fresh coffee and the breakfast is really tasty. The hostel is a 10 minute walk from the main bar & restaurant area, the facilities are really good, there's always hot water a plus in cold San Cristobal. Overall, I'd say this is not a party hostel but is by no means I boring one either. Definitely, I'd come back here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jul 2017
10.0

Lovely little hostel. The inner courtyard/garden is a beautiful, peaceful place to relax. The staff are all very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast is good and plenty big enough to keep you going. Please note non-Spanish speakers: while there are a number of staff that speak excellent English, not all of them are fluent, so this may be a consideration for you - that being said, I speak very little Spanish and did not have any trouble. A great place to stay and I would definitely go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Jul 2017
10.0

The most beautiful hostel we have stayed in yet! Lovely staff, super comfy beds, beautiful gardens, clean, good breakfast etc. Absolutely loved our stay here and highly recommend it to all! Good location close to both the centre and the Santa Domingo markets!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jul 2017
9.4

Lovely hostel, great staff and breakfast. Lots of little extras to make your stay easier, like free and unlimited drinking water (plus better for the environment!), labels and boxes to put your food in when using the fridge or cupboards, a locked cabinet to out any valuables (although maybe not the most secure, but you can leave valuables with reception if needed), lots of toilets to use if you are using the shared bathrooms etc. Would really recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.