Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Posada del Abuelito

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 1,177 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.6
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 1,177 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.6
Posada del Abuelito Located at Calle Tapachula #18, Barrio del Cerrillo, San Cristobal de las Casas.
Posada del Abuelito
Mexico
San Cristobal de las Casas 29220 Calle Tapachula #18, Barrio del Cerrillo
95% 1177
16.7407905 -92.6321697
Posada del Abuelito
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Sep 2016
9.7

Don't even bother looking for anywhere else, this place is excellent. We booked 2 nights to begin with and before we even stayed the night, we booked another 3 because it was so busy and we didn't want to miss out. We arrived at 8am in the morning and they gave us breakfast straight away. For breakfast there are eggs, toast and jam, cereal and freshly made juice. The rooms and bathrooms are so clean and the atmosphere at the place is relaxed. Wouldn't stay anywhere else!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Sep 2016
10.0

I stayed at this hostel with two of my sisters and we all had no complaints at all. The breakfast was delicious and I must mention that the homemade jam is to die for, so much so that we bought two jars on the day of our departure. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hostel overall was very clean. The thing I liked most about this hostel was that it had a very homely feel to it, something you need when traveling. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Sep 2016
7.4

Bit overrated here on HostelWorld. It is nice, but lacks a common area for rainy days. Staff is friendly and helpful (except for the night guard - he seemed very grumpy). Kitchen and breakfast is nice. They offer toes which is nice and comfortable. Wifi isn't the best. Atmosphere wasn't that great (but that's the people who stayed when I was there...) It's good for what you pay for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Sep 2016
8.6

A really lovely hostel, you feel at home there straight away. Quite a sedate hostel, didn't seem to be a party place, but decent spaces to hang out and chat. The staff & cleanliness are excellent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
18th Sep 2016
9.1

We saw hummingbirds :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel super cozy and comfortable. The patio is absolutely lovely, with a nice garden and hammocks. The rooms and bathrooms are spotless. Breakfast is absolutely delicious, and worth your stay here. Totally recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Sep 2016
7.4

It's a good place. But not great. They offer some affordable trips to nearby places. But you have to ask to know if the water in agua azul is really blue, they woun't tell you by themselves. doublebeds are too small. Lockers in rooms are semi-safe. Prices are ok, but don't make sense, as you don't safe money when 3 ppl share a room instead of 2. almost charged more money than they should, when we changed the room. we had to countercheck and let them know their mistake. Quite good breakfast tho.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Sep 2016
10.0

Was very happy to stay here. One of the type of hostels that feel like a home thanks to everything, including the staff. And as a bonus attracts many like minded backpackers. Highly recommendable!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
9.4

The hostel was a very cutie garden style set up with many tables outside to hang around. Communal areas were small but very comfortable with a fireplace. The atmosphere was chill, quite and relaxing. I would really recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • thelisaphillips
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Sep 2016
10.0

This is the most wonderful hostel - I highly recommend. Just a few blocks from the main strip, it has EVERYTHING you need. All the details are taken care of; a hearty bfast, good wifi, very clean, super helpful and friendly staff, excellent security, a laundry you can use and bikes to ride. We had a private room with bathroom and it's one of the best hostels we have stayed at in Mexico.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.