Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Posada del Abuelito

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.6
Superb 1529 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.7
BOOK NOW
9.6
Superb 1529 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th May 2017
9.7

Beautiful, peaceful hostel 10 mins from the center of San Cristóbal. The staff is extremely helpful and loving. Made you feel welcomed right away. Very clean and they provide you with a towel and soap so that was awesome! Breakfast was great!! Absolutely loved staying here and will definitely be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th May 2017
9.4

Great facilities, really good breakfast in a really neat spot

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th May 2017
10.0

Great friendly and accommodating staff- we arrived at 8am from a night bus and they allowed us to shower and even eat breakfast for no extra charge. Breakfast is amazing (gourmet bread, homemade jam, fresh made juices and more!) The hostel was clean, beautiful and peaceful. Beds were super comfy and each had its own lamp and power socket. This is the best hostel I've ever stayed in and was a nice break from all the party hostels. 11/10 if I could!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
10.0

I stayed here for 2 weeks and LOVED this place. This hostel went beyond my expectations by: (1) caring about sustainability (compost/recycling bins, hand towels and real dishes over disposables, skylights saving electricity, homemade jam/juice and free water reducing plastic waste); (2) being cared for and immaculately cleaned like it's a real home; (3) having a filling breakfast with options; and (4) the staff is friendly and incredibly hardworking. Everything you could want and more!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th May 2017
10.0

Don't want to repeat what others have already written. This place stands out, almost like magical place and they go out of the way to make you comfortable. I had a private room. So can't say about dorms. Too good and beyond normal rating scale of 10.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • karlamcmahon
  • Ireland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th May 2017
10.0

This place is amazing. The staff are really friendly and professional. The place is spotless. The breakfast is the best hostel breakfast I've ever had, I'm still thinking about the jam, YUM! The private rooms are so cute. There's a room with an open fire where you can sit at night and there are lots of extra blankets if you get cold at night. The kitchen is amazing and you can use the oil and spices that are there. I wish this place was my home!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2017
10.0

Posada del Abuelito is by far one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at! As a solo traveler, I really appreciated the atmosphere as it made it really easy to make friends. The staff is super kind and helpful, the breakfast is amazing, and the beds are really comfortable. I would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2017
8.6

Gorgeous courtyard and nicely furnished private room. Good location- 10 minute walk to main square. Nice breakfast and free purified water a plus. Quiet & lowkey vibe- if you are looking for a party/lots of socialising, it might not be the place. Overall great stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2017
9.4

Very comfortable hostel good for a night of relaxation from party hostels. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, onsite facilities are great, breakfast is the best I've had at any hostel, and the beds were great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2017
10.0

Absolutely marvelous hostel =) Great relax ambience, beautiful gardens and courts, the staff is friendly, the place is clean, the rooms are nice, the food is good. Here you can really relax, eat and sleep well before and after your visiting day, for a very good price also. Add to that nice birds and butterflies coming for the beautiful flowers, free purificated water, clean hot showers, and interesting meetings with visitors. If you go to San Cristobal, I highly recommend the Abuelito !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.