Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Puerta Vieja Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 312 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 312 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
Puerta Vieja Hostel Located at Calle Diego de Mazariegos 23, Barrio de La Merced, San Cristobal de las Casas.
Puerta Vieja Hostel
Mexico
San Cristobal de las Casas Chiapas 29240 Calle Diego de Mazariegos 23, Barrio de La Merced
89% 312
16.7365370 -92.6401358
Puerta Vieja Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Jun 2016
10.0

Great hostel really you get bank for your money also breakfast is soooo good. People are great and the bar is really fun I highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
20th May 2016
8.9

Great hostel, nice atmosphere and wonderful staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th May 2016
9.7

Good atmosphere. Friendly and helpful staff. Very good breakfast. Spacious common areas. I had to move my bed last day of my stay but instead of a bunk bed I was given a double bed in a quiet room which helped a lot as I wasn't feeling well. I appreciate their kind thought very much.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Apr 2016
9.4

I booked a private room and got a room with 8 beds and it was hard to explain to the callous manager what to me was a private room with twin or double bed who thought why I wasn't happy having extra beds!!! But apart from that, found my experience good. The female staffs were very helpful when they knew I wasn't keeping very well. Breakfast was warm and one had choice. Good location tho' noise from outside in weekends may keep one awake. Spacious and quiet. Enough space to lounge and relax.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Apr 2016
9.7

When we were there there was mojito and pizza night. The best pizza we've ever eaten! Clean rooms, good location, very friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • azritaco
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2016
9.7

Helpful & friendly staff. Lovely building in a great location. Comfortable beds. Safe & with nice facilities. Just was quite quiet when I was there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2016
6.6

The hostel is very good location, just 2 blocks from the city center plaza. However, the Hostel is not very clean. Sofas in the common area are dirty and the floor of the Hostel too. In addition, beds are not made every day. I think this hostel can improve in many ways. Staff is no local, so they can't suggest any trips or plans.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Mar 2016
8.6

Nice hostel with big common area, and a good kitchen. The best part though is the excellent free cooked breakfast!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2016
10.0

Very clean and affordable hostel in a beautiful building. Within walking distance of everything. Helpful, friendly, and often bilingual staff. Delicious breakfast. Good mix of party scene and privacy (the bar is set aside in a different part of the hostel). The building gets a bit cold, but that's the nature of the city. Buy a wool scarf at the artisan market and you're good to go.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Feb 2016
9.7

Big, very well maintained hostel. Nice showers, great breakfasts, good location and very nice and friendly stuff. Good beds in dorms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.