Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Puerta Vieja Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 342 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 342 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.2
Puerta Vieja Hostel Located at Calle Diego de Mazariegos 23, Barrio de La Merced, San Cristobal de las Casas.
Puerta Vieja Hostel
Mexico
San Cristobal de las Casas Chiapas 29240 Calle Diego de Mazariegos 23, Barrio de La Merced
93% 342
16.7365370 -92.6401358
Puerta Vieja Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Sep 2016
10.0

Everything was good the staff, the guest and the facilities definetely i'll back soon and i'll recomend this hostel :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
11th Sep 2016
7.7

We thought this hostel has been hyped up by the reviews. Great location with a tasty breafast and a cool backyard area. I'm not sure if we came at a down time but it didnt seem that social. The girls showers constantly had hair in the drain and toothpaste stains, definitly flip flop territory! The staff were helpful when at reception though we often waited 5-10 mins for someone. Creaky beds meant we got little sleep, but they are comfy for Mexican standards. It was good but not amazing

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
10th Sep 2016
8.9

Really great place to stay. The comfiest hostel beds I've ever slept in! Because its such a large hostel, getting the atmosphere of smaller hostel is difficult. Would recommend if you want to treat yourself with a bit of luxury.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Sep 2016
9.4

Great hostel, highly recommended. We extended our stay by a few days. The breakfast is great and different each day, facilities are to a high standard, the bar and outdoor area is perfect for socialising and the hostel has different events each night. Location is good not far from main square or the places full on bars and restaurants.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • leonvk
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2016
9.7

great place to stay! awesome bed and big lockers! wifi a little slow in my the rooms but that's not the end of the world, would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Sep 2016
10.0

I stayed in Puerta vieja with a friend for five nights-three in a private room and two in the girls' dorms. Both rooms were clean and had great facilities. The mattresses were big and comfortable. The hostel has great garden and bar to chill at any time of the day. Staff was super nice, and the breakfast was amazing. Best hostel we've stayed in, great value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Esme_Pareja
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
10.0

Lovely place with super great vibes. Delicious breakfast in the morning and meet up events on the evenings so that people can socialise. Super garden with hammacs great for chilling. There is projector with sofa corner to chill inside. Very close from main attractions. Loved this place and all the staff is super friendly and helpful. Will definitely return if I'll go back to San Cristobal

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th Aug 2016
9.7

Really enjoyed my stay here. Hostel was big and the facilities were great, highly recommend the bar on friday nights. Good social hostel however also not too loud. Staff were very helpful, particularly Fernando. Would recommend to all travellers and will definitely be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
25th Aug 2016
9.4

This hostel is well run with great owners and staff. A special shout out to Fernando (we love you!) and Dani. The hostel is centrally located and puts on lots of events on different nights including free cocktail nights. It has great communal areas including a lovely garden with hammocks and avocado chairs, a bar and a big hall area with a ping pong table. The kitchen could do with a couple of new saucepans and utensils. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
9.7

Best value hostel we stayed in, well run and would highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.