Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Puerta Vieja Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 321 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 321 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.8
Puerta Vieja Hostel Located at Calle Diego de Mazariegos 23, Barrio de La Merced, San Cristobal de las Casas.
Puerta Vieja Hostel
Mexico
San Cristobal de las Casas Chiapas 29240 Calle Diego de Mazariegos 23, Barrio de La Merced
90% 321
16.7365370 -92.6401358
Puerta Vieja Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
31st Jul 2016
6.6

When i first walked in a thought this was an awesome hostel set up. Wifi is good. Nice areas to chill. But the only problem is in 4 nights i got hardly any sleep due to the noise. The common area is right outside the rooms. The floor boards and wooden bunks make alot of noise when people are movin around. There seems to be no respect for quiet and lights out after 11pm (general hostel ettiquete) and nothing done about that.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st Jul 2016
8.6

Good location, they offer day trips to palenque and connections to Guatemala. I don't know why towel is included but they don't give it to you, you have to ask for it explicitly. I asked for a lower bed, they told me they were already booked but that was not true (empty lower beds in my doorm...)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jul 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel with a great atmosphere and facilities. Heaps of places to chill out, relax and socialise. The beds were super comfortable and the whole space was always kept clean. The free breakfast is delicious and we really enjoyed the free mojitos! San Cristobal is an amazing place and this is the best place to stay while you explore it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2016
9.1

Really liked this place, the beds are super comfy and plenty plug sockets, loads of the communal space and really nice rustic feel, the staff are really helpful and friendly. The garden is great has a really nice looking bar although never saw it open even though we stayed on a Saturday, looked like it had potential to be really fun party vibes although we didn't mind cos we were happy with a few chill days. Would recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2016
10.0

Great hostel really you get bank for your money also breakfast is soooo good. People are great and the bar is really fun I highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jun 2016
7.4

Good location, nice hostel. During my stay the atmosphere wasn't the greatest as few people spent time in the common area - might just depend on the crowd though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
20th May 2016
8.9

Great hostel, nice atmosphere and wonderful staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th May 2016
9.7

Good atmosphere. Friendly and helpful staff. Very good breakfast. Spacious common areas. I had to move my bed last day of my stay but instead of a bunk bed I was given a double bed in a quiet room which helped a lot as I wasn't feeling well. I appreciate their kind thought very much.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Apr 2016
9.4

I booked a private room and got a room with 8 beds and it was hard to explain to the callous manager what to me was a private room with twin or double bed who thought why I wasn't happy having extra beds!!! But apart from that, found my experience good. The female staffs were very helpful when they knew I wasn't keeping very well. Breakfast was warm and one had choice. Good location tho' noise from outside in weekends may keep one awake. Spacious and quiet. Enough space to lounge and relax.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Apr 2016
9.7

When we were there there was mojito and pizza night. The best pizza we've ever eaten! Clean rooms, good location, very friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.