X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Q4 Hotel Reviews

2909 Queens Plaza North, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
2581 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

The room we stayed in did not allow us to adjust the A/C. Although the staff at check in said that we were able to adjust it, we were unable to.

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced while staying with us. The guests may adjust the temperature of the A/C so again our apologies that you were unable to. Thank you for choosing us Diana Q4-Guest Relations

94%

Very near to a metro station, about one minute walking. Staff was helpful when I needed and the athmosphere is great at the point you can access good internet anywhere in the hostel, kitchen opened full time and the cleanness of the room I stayed was good. The only problem I had was my locker that was smashed and if I had to save something, I wouldn't be able to.

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Ltdao
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I ended up here bc my hotel accommodations thru work were messed up. It was wonderful;I met several awesome travelers from other countries & the metro is a quick walk,Igot back & forth to training at my work headquarters easily. The staff & facilities were excellent, clean, reasonably inexpensive and my bed was comfortable. I locked my valuables in the in-room lockers provided,much enjoyed the fabulous showers and had a great stay. The place used to be a bank ages ago, it has character.

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Security at the main entrance is poor, anyone can just walk in. Only once during a 9 night visit was I asked to show my room card and confirm my name when I got in late one night. Entrance needs card access and a buzzer system. Kitchen lacked in equipment, not many cups, plates, bowls, pots and pans and utensils despite its size, so certainly more things need to be purchased.


80%

It was a decent stay for a one night stay. The staff gave me a bunk bed of my choice and that was very thoughful of them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your delightful review. We value your thoughts and opinions to help make the hostel experience better for guests, we appreciate it so much. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you in the future. Kindly, Lexi Q4 Staff

91%

I had a good staying there

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your delightful review. We value your thoughts and opinions to help make the hostel experience better for guests, we appreciate it so much. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you in the future. Kindly, Lexi Q4 Staff

57%

I felt that the atmosphere of this hostel was very dark. The pictures posted online are similar, however, there is no real light that come in. The rooms are small. We traveled in June and our room air conditioning was turned all the way up. We had no control in turning it down or off. Other hostels I've stayed at in the past have been more inclusive, with activities for their guests. This hostel did not have any organized events.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your comments and will take them all into account. The A/C could've been controlled from the room our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Diana Q4 Guest Relations

91%

We only stayed one night passing through but everything was great. Proximity to Tines square for the price and facilities were awesome. Full kitchen, big hang out room. The rooms were a little noisey but almost expected in NYC. Good air-con

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your delightful review. We value your thoughts and opinions to help make the hostel experience better for guests, we appreciate it so much. We are looking into lessening the noise level due to the trains. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you in the future. Kindly, Lexi Q4 Staff

100%

I really enjoy the laid backed, friendly environment and clean space provided. The house keeping are really polite in the mornings, the rooms are always clean and tidy, the beds are the comfiest I've slept on at a hostel and the rooms are kept at a comfortable temperature regardless of the weather outside. The hostel is right by the train, it's not even a two minute walk down the street, and the area is mainly a business sector. Which is both convenient and provides for a quieter environment.

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your delightful review. We value your thoughts and opinions to help make the hostel experience better for guests, we appreciate it so much. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you in the future. Kindly, Lexi Q4 Staff

97%

SUPER CLEAN! It was great. So here are the drawbacks, which aren't many. No control in the room over air conditioning. No elevator. No food in room, but that's why there are no bugs. Location is great but right next to LOUD subway trains and construction. And there is no parking for miles. If you're checking in or out and trying to load into a car, this is impossible.

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 41+

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your delightful review. We value your thoughts and opinions to help make the hostel experience better for guests, we appreciate it so much. The a/c can be controlled from with access from the front desk. We are also looking into a way to lessen the noise level due to the trains. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you in the future.

86%

The location to the subway was excellent! Not a lot in the area as far as restaurants and groceries are concerned. I would recommend to people!

  • 14th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your delightful review. We value your thoughts and opinions to help make the hostel experience better for guests, we appreciate it so much. Long Island City is an up and coming area, there is a lot of construction to liven up the neighborhood. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you in the future. Kindly, Lexi Q4 Staff

91%

There was a lot of noise sometimes but nothing to get mad about. The rooms are not so spacious but they are really clean. They offer you a locker inside the room which helps you leave your important stuff inside the room. I really enjoyed staying at the Q4.

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Overall, it was a great experience. Nothing too special though. The bathrooms smelled pretty bad so I'm not sure if they're kept up with regularly, but if you're only planning on staying for a night or two then it's a great deal.


57%

This hostel is really unfriendly, hardly anyone talks to each other. Also the having the air con directly on your bed is not good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. I apologize that the vibe was not to your liking. Here at Q4 we aim for a friendly, lively vibe so our apologies if the other guests were unfriendly. We noted your grievances on the A/C and we will look into making some adjustments. Thank you for choosing Q4 Diana Q4 Guest Relations

77%

Earplugs are definitely required, unless you are able to sleep through a brass concert, due to the subway and street noise. Also, the hotel says it controls the AC, but there is a control in the room, so that is a potential conflict among guests. In my room, the AC vent was directly above one of the beds, so the person sleeping there kind of had the ultimate say about it. Otherwise, the hotel facilities are very good and clean, with a good atmosphere.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your review. We value your thoughts and opinions to help make the hostel experience better for guests, we appreciate it so much. We looking for ways to lessen the noise from the subway outside. The a/c panel in the room only allows the guests in the room to turn the a/c either on or off. We hope to accommodate you in the future to accommodating you in the future. Kindly, Lexi Q4 Staff

80%

Great hostel. Was a bit dark in the room at the corner but bathroom was great size and beds were comfortable.


97%

A very clean hostel with great staff in a convenient location. Located next to the train tracks so bring earplugs.


77%

i would come back.

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your delightful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you in the future. Kindly, Lexi Q4 Staff

69%

I couldn't breathe in the washroom. (Fan was not working). Outlet plugs were not enough. Not only they were broken down but I also had to climb down from my bed to use them.


86%

Very nice hostel - good location... A bit noisy with subway right outside. .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your delightful review. We value your thoughts and opinions to help make the hostel experience better for guests, we appreciate it so much. We are currently looking into ways to lessen the noise from the subways. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you in the future. Kindly, Lexi Q4 Staff

(175 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback