X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Q4 Hotel Reviews

2909 Queens Plaza North, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2081 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Location is good, you are Rallye quickly into town. Staff is very nice. No elevator, enjoy getting that 30kg suitcase up these stairs. The beds are ultra noisy. When you turn it makes horrible sounds, additionally the subway which is passing by close, is really noisy too. Ear plugs are very recommended.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Too much noise from the trains... You're gonna wake up at 5am even if you don't Wanna to..

Owner Comment (Hide)
We apologize for the noise from the subway. Q4 is adjacent to two major subway lines. We are actively looking into ways to possibly lessen the noise. Thank you for staying with us. Diana Gomez-Romero Q4 Management

94%

I loved the place. the room was beautiful. the room was comfortable. I will recommend it.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing Q4!! We look forward to seeing you soon. Diana Gomez-Romero Q4 Management

91%

Very nice hostel close to Manhattan. Can be noisy but no problem as they provide ear plugs. Staff was friendly and provided some really good advice! Dorm area doesn't really give much feeling but don't forget to check out the downstairs lounge+kitchen area. Only downside: internet was as slow as back in 1991, couldn't even check emails at any given time of the day. Lockers are metall and robust.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We are looking into a much faster internet. Q4 is adjacent to two major subway lines as well as a main road. We are actively looking into ways to possibly lessen the noise. Thank you for staying with us. Diana Gomez-Romero Q4 Management

74%

Apart from this hostel we stayed in hotels this trip and our private room in this hostel compared well.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

The rooms are pretty well set up and not too cramped with high ceilings. The room had a bathroom, which was kind of nice for showering, but there were enough toilets elsewhere in the building in more public areas to avoid any major conflict. It was quite loud because even Queens never sleeps and the elevated train runs pretty much all night long. The kitchen area is in the basement and and got kind of dirty and smelly, the tables have basketwork around the edges which is hard to clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear that you were happy with the rooms. We have housekeeping 7 days a week to try to maintain the hostel as clean as possible. Q4 is adjacent to two major subway lines as well as a main road. We are looking into ways to possibly lessen the noise. Thank for your feedback & thank you for choosing us. Diana Gomez-Romero Q4 Management

97%

Nice modern hostel in Queens next to many metro lines. Just get a 7 day pass for $30 if you'll be staying for 5+ nights. This is the best you can get for the money in NY. Huge common area with kitchen downstairs, as well as another lounge on the 2nd floor. Staff friendly and the place was super clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing Q4!! We look forward to seeing you soon. Diana Gomez-Romero Q4 Management

63%

The room, beds and building are really good. The hostel is just a few steps from two different subway stations. However, there is no good atmosphere for travelers to meet each other and the staff doesn't know about the neighborhood facilities. The train is noisy 24/7 but the hostel provides earplugs.

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The Q4 hostel was very good, lovely staff, clean rooms and the kitchenette and living room was spacious and useful. For a hostel I feel that it was quite over priced but since we felt safe maybe that's the price we were willing to pay! The only thing I could complain about was the size of the room, we were in a 4 bed and all had huge suitcases, leaving little or no floor space! The next thing was having to pay 5 dollars on your final day to mind luggage, after we had already paid a lot anyway!


77%

Clean, safe, but LOUD.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I apologize for the noise. Q4 is adjacent to the subway and a main highway. We are looking into ways to possibly lessen the noise. Thank you for choosing us. Diana Gomez-Romero Q4 Management

89%

It is close to the Metro and roads. You may feel very noisy.


97%

Everything was very well. But, something it's seems to me no well. I had to pay when I let my bags in the reception.

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

i'd like to begin by saying that am grateful for i had a roof over my head during my visit to the city. fantastic location -- chic abodde! my disapointment was that even when i called Q4 to inform them of my late arrival, i was presented with the surprise that my bed was never made. no joke! i was tired; all i wanted to do was SLEEP ... without arguiing, i went straight to bed. tha following morning i notified front desk of my finding... it went on one ear and exited on the other. sad!

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorry for hear of this inconvenience upon arrival. Here at Q4 we strive for excellent customer service & I do apologize if that is not what you received. Unfortunately, mistakes do happen with bed assignments. Please consider staying with us in the future as we look forward to correcting your unpleasant experience with us. Thank you for choosing us. Diana Gomez-Romero Q4 Management

100%

Q4 is amazing! The location is very good,when you get off Queens plaza station,just walk a few minutes,then you can arrive there.Staff are helpful and nice.My friend and I live in double pravite ensuite,and it costs 75 dollars per person. The room is not very big but it is nice.It is near subway so it is a little noisy. However,my friend and I are tired everyday,so the noise does not bother us. The most impressive thing is basement.People can cook,eat,play games there.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to serving you in the future. Diana Q4 Management

77%

All in all a nice and clean hostel. The bathrooms are really tiny, though. There was no soap there and you could not put your towels anywhere.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your feedback. We are looking into adding soap dispensers to each room and additional hooks as well. Thank you for choosing Q4 and we look forward to serving you in the future. Diana Q4 Management

89%

We really lived the common space in the basement for eating and meeting other travelers. It was a very clean and inviting space, and the bank vault-turned-relaxation room was particularly cool.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and decor. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to possibly having you back with us in the future. Diana Gomez-Romero Q4 Management

100%

Very nice, clean and spacious hostel in an excellent location. One feels safe and comfortable and the price is very good for a New York hostel. Maybe consider a basic breakfast and tea and coffee?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for choosing us. We are always glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay. We will look into possibly adding a basic breakfast in the future. Have a great day! Diana Gomez-Romero Q4 Management

89%

Excellent location and facilities. The only thing this hostel doesn't have is breakfast included. Very good hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately, due to space limitations we cannot offer breakfast at our location. Thanks again for choosing us and we look forward to serving you in the future. Diana Q4 Management

86%

Cleanliness of the shower could have been better and nicer. No place to hang towels. Would have been much better if there were hair dryer in the room.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I apologize that the showers were not up to your standards. We have housekeeping in house 7 days a week and be assured that all bathrooms and showers will be thoroughly inspected. We have hooks for towels in each room but I will look into possibly adding more. Hair dryers are always available at front desk & due to space limitations we cannot mount them in the rooms. Thank you for your feedback and also for using us. We look forward to possibly having you stay with us in the future. Diana-Q4

80%

There were some hidden fees they hit us with at the end. Read EVERYTHING in your confirmation email. It's different than the website!

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I apologize if you felt we had "hidden fees". Here at Q4 we try our best to be as forthcoming and transparent with any additional fees you may encounter. Please consider staying with us in the future and if you any questions please feel free to ask. Thank you for choosing the Q4 Hotel. Diana Gomez-Romero Q4 Management

(164 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback