X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Q4 Hotel Reviews

2909 Queens Plaza North, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
2575 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Bed were very noisy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, We apologize for the squeaky bed. Had we known we would have corrected this problem for you. Again our sincerest apologies and we thank you for choosing Q4!

100%

It was my first time staying in a Hostel, and I have to say that Q4 went above and beyond. The staff was helpful and It was very quiet... I loved it... Next time I go to Ny I am staying at Q4.

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your delightful review. We value your thoughts and opinions to help make the hostel experience better for guests, we appreciate it so much. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you in the future.

91%

I LOVED my stay at the Q4 Hotel! This was my first time staying in a hostel and I was completely impressed. Be mindful that the directions you may have to get there may be off a little because the hotel is one some sort of side street. But the place was clean and smelled great everytime I walked in there. The staff was EXTREMELY attentive and efficient. The location is great because all of the really big attractions are 12-15 minute train ride away. Will definitely stay here again!

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your delightful review. We appreciate it so much. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you in the future. Kindly, Lexi Q4 Staff

74%

Never mind the train noise. If you're a girl, don't choose the 6 female dorm. Chance is they'll put in you in the room right next to the reception where they play loud music until late at night and where you can hear pretty much every conversation that happens at the desk.


69%

Having towels, pillows, and bed sheets was amazing.

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review! We appreciate you staying with us. Diana Q4 Hotel

97%

Suggestion: more cleaning supplies for the hostel guests to use in the kitchen area: broom, dustpan, dishcloths etc. People who make food should clean as they use the kitchen during the day. A sign or two in several languages reminding would help also. Guests not used to hostel culture do not clean their place after eating, leave a pan dirty. Also, keep an eye on the number of mugs and cooking/serving utensils. All in all, the place was in great shape, everyone working wonderful. Thanks!

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your review. We value your thoughts and opinions to help make the hostel experience better for guests. We will get signs to put in the kitchen area in different langues so the guests know to clean up after themselves. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you in the future. Kindly, Lexi Q4 Staff

100%

I've not been to many hostels but this was a really good one!

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your delightful review. We appreciate it so much. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you in the future. Kindly, Lexi Q4 Staff

94%

Creaky bed was annoying, but I didn't mention it as I could have.

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, We apologize for the squeaky bed. Had we known we would have corrected this problem for you. Again our sincerest apologies and we thank you for choosing Q4! Diana Q4 Guest Relations

89%

Atmosphere lets this place down and it's a shame. Staff were professional and the place was very clean. Excellent bathroom.


97%

I like Q4

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review! We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to having you stay with us again. Diana Q4 Guest Relations

77%

It is good hostel for the money. I don't like the fact that they control the A/C and it is always warm. In addition, it is next to the metro tracks and it is very loud all the time. On the other hand, you can get to the metro station in two minutes.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Puerto Rico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Great value for your money. Very close to the subway, which was great.

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your delightful review. We appreciate you staying with us. Diana Q4 Guest Relations

74%

Clean Hostel, subway across the street. Kitchen & Lounge is big although there is only one stove, no freezer, a free food shelf would be nice :) Beds are comfy. Overall great value for money considering that it takes you 10-15mins to get into Manhattan. I'd stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank for you for your feedback. We do have a shelf for free food in the kitchen and we will look into getting a freezer. Thank you for choosing us! Diana Q4 Guest Relations

91%

Nice hostel, not too expensive for New York, a bit inconvenient due to being in queens but still right outside the subway so that's cool. Kitchen and common area are nice and well equipped, rooms are a bit loud because of the train, but overall good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. We apologize for the noise from the trains. We are actively looking for ways to possible lessen the noise. Thank you for choosing us! Diana Q4 Guest Relations

100%

It'd be perfect if Q4 provides water dispensers. Anyway it's a nice place to stay!


71%

I had a very pleasant stay here. Everything is great! The location is safe and closed to the subway station. And it is only a short train right straight to downtown Manhattan. The noise from the subway trains is really not that loud. Even though the staff is not the most friendly group I have met, but they are very nice and helpful. Beds can be a little noisy, but not a big deal. The whole place is clean and well taken care of. Overall, it is a good place to stay for the price I paid.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are aware of the noise from the trains and we are actively looking into ways to possibly lessen the noise. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to serving you again. Diana Q4 Guest Relations

57%

Receptionist was very friendly. She gave mw all required information. But, at night n I came back, someone else had occupied my bed. This was totally disturbing and unsafe. This could have been managed better.

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. We apologize for any uneasiness you felt while staying with us. We do encounter situations where guests occupy the wrong beds. We are actively looking for ways to improve these mishaps. We are honored that you chose to stay with us & we would love to serve you again. Diana Q4 Guest Relations

74%

Not a bad place to stay but the atmosphere was overly antisocial for a hostel. The wifi was horrendously slow and their computer was broken for my entire stay. Could not find a can opener in the kitchen. Staff didn't know where the AC thermostat was in the room and told us it was centrally controlled. Had many nights with an extremely hot room before they found the thermostat hidden behind a locker in our room. The place has so much potential with a great building

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, We apologize if the vibe was not up to your standards. We will actively look into ways to liven up the feel of our property. The AC units can be controlled by the front desk & also by the guests. I apologize if we failed to address your issue more promptly. The computers & wi-fi are serviced by an outside vendor & we apologize for any inconvenience this caused. We are in the process of correcting these issues. Thank you for choosing Q4! Diana-Q4 Guest Relations

80%

There should be a power point / outlet for each bed. Apparently for my room 310, all but 3 of the beds do not have direct access to the power point. The Wifi is also pretty unstable - but that is fine.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Vakued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are in the process of correcting this issue. We are also looking into better Wi-fi. We apologize for any inconvenience. Thank you for staying with us. Diana Q4 Guest Relations

94%

Great hostel - clean and modern with helpful staff. The basement area was great to eat and chill out in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your delightful review! We strive for excellent customer service and we are pleased to hear that is what you received. We're thrilled you enjoyed our property and we look forward to having you stay with us again. Thank you for choosing Q4! Diana Q4 Guest Relations

(173 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback