X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Q4 Hotel Reviews

2909 Queens Plaza North, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
2667 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

i would come back.

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your delightful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you in the future. Kindly, Lexi Q4 Staff

69%

I couldn't breathe in the washroom. (Fan was not working). Outlet plugs were not enough. Not only they were broken down but I also had to climb down from my bed to use them.


86%

Very nice hostel - good location... A bit noisy with subway right outside. .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your delightful review. We value your thoughts and opinions to help make the hostel experience better for guests, we appreciate it so much. We are currently looking into ways to lessen the noise from the subways. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you in the future. Kindly, Lexi Q4 Staff

66%

You are not allowed to consume alcohol on the premises which does not add to a good atmosphere. in an expensive city it would be nice to be able to have a few beers in the kitchen before going out. It would also help people get to know each other more. Except the staff sat down in the kitchen drinking alcohol, dominating the atmosphere and watching youtube videos while ordinary guest were not allowed to drink. I would have no problem whatsoever with this except if i were allowed drink too.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, First, let me apologize for the staff lack of professionalism and courtesy. This is not something we tolerate at our property. We are undergoing a whole re-training process of all personnel here at Q4. We do allow for guests to drink alcohol but only downstairs in the kitchen/lounge as long as they clean after themselves. The only times when alcohol is not allowed on the property is when we have groups of under-aged guests staying in the hostel as well Kindly, Lexi

69%

The staff was very nice and helpful. The atmosphere was severely lacking and boring. Good thing you are minutes from Times Square. The room was very very very small. We slept in an 8 bed room. Between the beds and luggage you can't have more than two people standing up at any time. Security was not a concern and neighborhood is average. Just a block from subway station which is good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your review. We value your thoughts and opinions to help make the hostel experience better for guests. Moving forward we are trying to get a possible game room as well are holding events for the guests during their stays. We will also look into rearranging the rooms to make more space. Kindly, Lexi Q4 Staff

86%

Bed were very noisy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, We apologize for the squeaky bed. Had we known we would have corrected this problem for you. Again our sincerest apologies and we thank you for choosing Q4!

100%

It was my first time staying in a Hostel, and I have to say that Q4 went above and beyond. The staff was helpful and It was very quiet... I loved it... Next time I go to Ny I am staying at Q4.

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your delightful review. We value your thoughts and opinions to help make the hostel experience better for guests, we appreciate it so much. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you in the future.

91%

I LOVED my stay at the Q4 Hotel! This was my first time staying in a hostel and I was completely impressed. Be mindful that the directions you may have to get there may be off a little because the hotel is one some sort of side street. But the place was clean and smelled great everytime I walked in there. The staff was EXTREMELY attentive and efficient. The location is great because all of the really big attractions are 12-15 minute train ride away. Will definitely stay here again!

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your delightful review. We appreciate it so much. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you in the future. Kindly, Lexi Q4 Staff

74%

Never mind the train noise. If you're a girl, don't choose the 6 female dorm. Chance is they'll put in you in the room right next to the reception where they play loud music until late at night and where you can hear pretty much every conversation that happens at the desk.


69%

Having towels, pillows, and bed sheets was amazing.

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review! We appreciate you staying with us. Diana Q4 Hotel

97%

Suggestion: more cleaning supplies for the hostel guests to use in the kitchen area: broom, dustpan, dishcloths etc. People who make food should clean as they use the kitchen during the day. A sign or two in several languages reminding would help also. Guests not used to hostel culture do not clean their place after eating, leave a pan dirty. Also, keep an eye on the number of mugs and cooking/serving utensils. All in all, the place was in great shape, everyone working wonderful. Thanks!

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your review. We value your thoughts and opinions to help make the hostel experience better for guests. We will get signs to put in the kitchen area in different langues so the guests know to clean up after themselves. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you in the future. Kindly, Lexi Q4 Staff

100%

I've not been to many hostels but this was a really good one!

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your delightful review. We appreciate it so much. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you in the future. Kindly, Lexi Q4 Staff

94%

Creaky bed was annoying, but I didn't mention it as I could have.

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, We apologize for the squeaky bed. Had we known we would have corrected this problem for you. Again our sincerest apologies and we thank you for choosing Q4! Diana Q4 Guest Relations

89%

Atmosphere lets this place down and it's a shame. Staff were professional and the place was very clean. Excellent bathroom.


97%

I like Q4

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review! We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to having you stay with us again. Diana Q4 Guest Relations

77%

It is good hostel for the money. I don't like the fact that they control the A/C and it is always warm. In addition, it is next to the metro tracks and it is very loud all the time. On the other hand, you can get to the metro station in two minutes.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Puerto Rico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Great value for your money. Very close to the subway, which was great.

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your delightful review. We appreciate you staying with us. Diana Q4 Guest Relations

74%

Clean Hostel, subway across the street. Kitchen & Lounge is big although there is only one stove, no freezer, a free food shelf would be nice :) Beds are comfy. Overall great value for money considering that it takes you 10-15mins to get into Manhattan. I'd stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank for you for your feedback. We do have a shelf for free food in the kitchen and we will look into getting a freezer. Thank you for choosing us! Diana Q4 Guest Relations

91%

Nice hostel, not too expensive for New York, a bit inconvenient due to being in queens but still right outside the subway so that's cool. Kitchen and common area are nice and well equipped, rooms are a bit loud because of the train, but overall good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. We apologize for the noise from the trains. We are actively looking for ways to possible lessen the noise. Thank you for choosing us! Diana Q4 Guest Relations

100%

It'd be perfect if Q4 provides water dispensers. Anyway it's a nice place to stay!


(202 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback