X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Q4 Hotel Reviews

2909 Queens Plaza North, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
2581 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

The staff is very blase and doesn't add to the environment at all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We apologize that the staff was not to your satisfaction. I have looked into this and we are undergoing a re-training process for the entire staff. Thank you for choosing Q4! Diana Q4 Guest Relations

100%

Clean, very comfortable bed, friendly, knowledgable staff - common room iallows for socialization. Appealing interior design! Will definately stay again! Some reviews mentioned sound from traffic outside, but I found this to be a non iossue V,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, We thank you for your delightful review of our hostel. We are honored to have been able to accommodate you. Thank you for choosing Q4! Diana Guest Relations

80%

Only stayed for one night to catch a early flight from La Guardia ( Avoid La Guardia with all cost!). Location is perfect, staff friendly. Very loud hostel due to the train lines and a busy road right next door. Room only had 4 lockers when there was 6 beds and not enough sockets for all to charge their phones at the same time!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our location. Q4 is adjacent to most major train lines and a major we apologize for the sound and are actively looking for ways to possibly lessen the noise. We are thoroughly inspecting all the rooms to make sure they all have adequate lockers and that all sockets are working. Thank you for choosing the Q4! Diana Guest Relations Manager

80%

Had the best time ever!! Met a looot of cool people and made a lot of friends. The staff was cool, though having cameras is kind of annoying.

  • 24th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also grateful to hear that you were impressed by our staff. Our apologies if the cameras annoyed you, it is for the safety of all who visit us. Thank you for choosing Q4! Diana Q4 Guest Relations

77%

Spacious converted loft conveniently located near a couple of subway stations... and just minutes to central Manhattan. Although not for everyone i like this location, in a developing part of Queens and i love the noise of the elevated subway rattling above - very NYC. The hostel has excellent facilities although it kind of lacks a certain vibe - maybe it needs speakers playing music in the common areas..? Or maybe the staff need to interact more with the guests..? Jason was great though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate your feedback. This input is so important to us to better improve our services. We have made note of the vibe and we will actively work on your suggestions. Our staff strives for excellent customer service so I'm glad to hear that Jason provided that for you. Thank you for choosing the Q4! Diana

63%

Room are very noisy (very thin windows). Staff is not very helpful and often rude


71%

First, the positives: clean, modern hostel just steps from the subway, and a short ride from Manhattan. Now the negative. Had the misfortune to stay at Q4 when the heat was broken. Very cold night, had a bed near the window. Bed had no blanket. Asked front desk for one; they said they didn't have one. Finally they rustled one up but I spent the night waking up from cold. Front desk didn't seem to take complaints about the heat seriously for days. Bought a heating pad to survive. Unacceptable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, We apologize for the cold temperature in the room. We were having issues with the heating systems. The problem has been fixed and we hope you will stay with us again so we can have an opportunity to make your stay more enjoyable. Thank you for choosing Q4! Diana

80%

Clean and good room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear you were happy with our rooms. Thank you for choosing Q4! Diana

97%

Many of the outlets in the room next to the beds were broken. Should be an easy fix!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, we apologize for the outlets not working properly. We have since corrected this problem.We appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Q4! Diana Guest Relations

94%

Fine hostel in Long Island City, Queens. 50 yards (literally) from the subway, which takes you to Midtown Manhattan in 5 minutes. Excellent lounge room with ATM, ping pong, pool table, flatscreen tv with Netflix and kitchen. No in-house bar but there is a deli, liquor store and a dozen food places across the street. Very affordable for NYC standards. Highly recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, We thank you for your delightful review of our property. We are grateful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are honored to have been able to serve and we look forward to doing so in the future. Thank you for choosing Q4! Diana Guest Relations

94%

It's a fantastic place. It's out of the way a bit I suppose, but considering it's right next to a subway stop that takes you in to Manhattan in a stop, or down to Brooklyn in like 3 or 4, it's brilliant. Staff are great and helpful from things to do to just general chit chat. Downstairs has fun stuff for down time. Back in New York at the end of april and I intend to stay here!


89%

This was a really great place to stay. It was affordable for my budget, and provided great facilities. The staff were very helpful- they quickly pointed me in the right direction, or provided a solution to my problem (i.e directions, printing facilities, phone charging facilities). Very happy with my stay: would definitely stay again.


60%

NYC has expensive accommodation and Q4 is included. I hate the fact that they charge $5/bag just to leave a luggage in their luggage room on the day of check-out. I have stayed in >60 hostels around the world and this is the first time I encountered the charge for luggage. The pillow was thin and uncomfortable. The staff were not really knowledgeable about NYC. I asked one girl (she's a student) if the Natural History Museum has a pay-as-you-wish entry system and she said no but it's not true!


83%

Al lado de la estación queen plaza del metro!! Así que es súper fácil llegar a Manhattan, entre 10 y 15 minutos, si te vas a quedar cerca de una semana te conviene comprar la tarjeta del metro de 7 dias (ilimitada) por $30 y así movilizarte. Por la misma razón puede llegar a ser un poco ruidoso ya que el metro funciona las 24 horas del día pero no encontré que fuera tanto. Me quede en una habitación de 6 y todo bien, hay calefacción en las piezas...estuve durante el invierno así q no pase frío.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Good hostel. I think probably the best value for you money in NYC. It costs around the same as most of the other hostels, but is really nice. The staff was pretty good, the rooms were clean. The biggest draw for me, however, was the really excellent common rooms they have. Under the building is an entire subfloor that has a kitchen, a ton of tables, couches, a pool table, and table tennis. I met a lot of cool people just by hanging out in the common room there, it had a great atmosphere.

  • 12th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The shower had an incredible disgusting smell. The bed numbers were not clear. Other than that all was well...good location and got a good nights sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We apologize for the smell you experienced in the shower. We have housekeeping 7 days a week at our hostel so had we have known we would have gladly inspected it and have it re-cleaned to your satisfaction. All our beds are marked with the bed letters on each. We appreciate you choosing us and we would love the opportunity to serve you in the future. Thank you. Diana-Q4 Guest Relations

69%

Quite loud at night.


94%

Nice place to stay, but you can hear the noise from the train. For me,I do not care. I like this hostel!


86%

I will come back :-)

  • 7th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We look forward to welcoming you back to Q4! Diana Q4 Guest Relations

83%

Overall, I am more than happy with my stay at the hostel. Especially for the price. It is located at the curve of a metro line which means that noise can be a substantial issue. I can sleep through the regular train noise, but I can't say that I got a good nights sleep. It is essentially a hub for metro lines, which makes access to most parts of the city reasonable. I was a little cramped on the dorm bed (6'2" - 188cm). I come to NY to see friends, so def. meets my needs. Will stay again.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for opting to write a review. Q4 is adjacent to most major train lines making access into Manhattan very easy. We are aware of the noise from the rail and we actively looking into ways to possibly lessen the noise. Thank you fr choosing Q4 and it would be our pleasure to serve you again. Diana Q4 Management

(175 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback