X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Qingdao Kaiyue International Hostel Reviews

No.31 Jining Lu, Qingdao, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
905 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

We enjoyed our stay at Kaiyue hostel. Our room was pretty damp despite using the AC, but despite from that it was comfortable. The staff was happy, friendly and helpful, and the cafe downstairs is very nice, and serves pretty good western food. The surrounding area has a lot of street side restaurants, and we had the most awesome seafood at a restaurant in the middle of a seafood market just a few hundred meters from here.


100%

Best youth hostel among all I visited all over china

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, We are very glad that you had a great time in our hostel. We really hope to see u again .

94%

Definitely a great value for the money and I'd say its the best option in Qingdao. As other reviews pointed out, the hostel structure is indeed a bit worn out. However, it was an old church, so it is totally understandable. The most important, the rooms are neat and the bed sheets are really clean. Location is excellent and the downstairs cafe/restaurant/bar is just great! The hostel staff is also super cool! If I happen to go back to Qingdao, for sure I will stay again in this hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are very glad that you had a great time in our hostel. You left a deep impression on us. We really hope to see u again .welcome to our hostel anytime! Have a nice trip at your next stop!

71%

Good location, easy access to sightseeing places. The whole facilities are kind of worn out. I understand it is a busy season, but I still wish staff can be more friendly and helpful, at least consistent with their rate.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. It was used as a church that more than 100 years, but we will do our best to improve the facilities. We will also strengthen the training of new employees and we will also be working diligently to make your stays much more enjoyable in the future .Welcome to our hostel anytime! Have a nice trip at your next stop!

83%

Great location and good staff. The basement cafe is lovely, too. However, Qingdao itself is a tourist trap, and quite expensive compared with the many other places in China I've visited.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, We are very glad that you had a great time in our hostel! Nowdays many people come to travel in Qingdao, the price of hostels are high, but our hostel's price is reasonable. We really hope to see u again .welcome to our hostel anytime! Have a nice trip at your next stop!

71%

We had a good time here. Nice location for walking around town. Directions and information on transit could be better conveyed. Friendly staff. The coupons for money off at the bar aren't worth much compared too the membership price you get for staying at the hostel anyway, but the free beer is appreciated.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. In shared area, there are directions and information about scenic-spots, train information, buses information etc. And you also can ask staff. If you stay at our hostel, every day you can get a free bottle of beer and cake &coffee coupons which take off 8RMB and 10RMB. You also can get the membership price when you buy food in the bar. Hope see u again!

83%

Really nice hostel - i've no complaints. The location is good and the staff was super friendly (they even give you a free coupon for a tsingtao beer on arrival!).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, We are very glad that you had a great time in our hostel! Every day you can have a free beer and cake&coffe coupons. We really hope to see u again .welcome to our hostel anytime! Have a nice trip at your next stop!

63%

Friendly & helpful staff, decent wifi, cafe is nice but quiet. There are some areas on each floor such as a table or couch but not much atmosphere for meeting people. Standing AC unit in room but poor window insulation- 8bed dorm still muggy (and I would expect cold in winter). Toilets squatters, kinda smelly, no toilet paper or soap. Have stayed in better hostels in China for cheaper, but the location is very convenient for walking to train station (~20mins) and close to the beach (~15min walk)


86%

As usual, a great place to stay. Great neighborhood, great staff, big dorm rooms, Also, plenty of places to recharge your batteries. This is my go to place in Qinghai.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review .We hope to see you again in the near future.Best wishes to you!

60%

I have mixed feeling about this hostel, Its a good location next to all the local Chinese food places which is great. The 8 bed dorm I stayed in was big and was a bit dirty although when I did tell them they did clean it up which is good. The bar is nice but its not like a hostel you can meet and chat with random people. I found the atmosphere weird. The prices were expensive. The free beer is stupid as you only can use it 7-9pm when no one is there.I regret not staying at the Old Observ Hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. Cleanliness is one of our top priorities, we arranged our staff do regular clean up for 24 hours. About the bar, many guests come from different countries and they can make friends in shared places. Our western food is very professional with high-quality and the price is quite reasonable compare with other western food resturant in Qingdao. If you stay here, you can get the membership price and every day you can have free beer.

94%

Really really kindly

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments,We are very glad that you had a great time in our hostel . We hope see you again next time!

49%

We used the laundry service and one of our pants was destroyed by the machine ! We asked compensation and after insisting a lot we received coupon for something like 10 cent of euro on a coffee... What a joke ! They never admitted that the machine could do that... Well, bad experience. Do not count on them to find a solution if you have trouble..


100%

very nice hostel, good location, clean facilities and staffs well now about the tourist spots

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review . We really hope to see u again .welcome to our hostel anytime! Have a nice trip at your next stop!

91%

The staff of the hostel are very kind, and able to help you. Ther rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable. The location is perfect and close from the train station. The restaurant is very well decorated and modern.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review .we have a nice time with u . We really hope to see u again .

74%

Hostel was nice enough, nice bar/restaurant in the basement (a little expensive though). Staff were friendly and had good enough English. The private room in which we stayed however was quite old and was a quite noisy when people walked past and the curtains didn't keep the sun out in the morning. Communal showers and bathroom were worse than normal. But considering price I think it's acceptable. View from the 4th floor balcony was good though (;

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Our lounge is one of the best lounge in Qingdao but the price is cheaper than others .You can also get the member’s price if you stay in our hostel . We change the better curtain for rooms. We will be more strict requirements for our cleaners. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to improve the facilities. We really hope to see u again .welcome to our hostel anytime! Have a nice trip at your next stop!

77%

This was a really great hostel in a good area of Qingdao. Double room was comfortable but a little run down. My only complaint would be the restaurant in the hostel - the food was really good, but wow the servings were ridiculously small. A one inch long strip of bacon for the bacon and egg breakfast?? What is this, a breakfast for ants??


60%

This is a good hostel well situated and clean enough for the price. The biggest issues were 1- the lack of a common area to meet people; 2- You NEED to ask for the free beer. No one will remind you of this promo; 3- The 5 rmb cake discount for a three night stay is in reality only a 1 rmb discount when you take away the 10% you already get for being a guess ... a bit anti-climatic to the point that I would have rather never been offered it. Small things, but annoying things that should be fixed

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for giving us the opportunity to improve our works. On the 1st floor, the lounge is the common area to meet people and on the 4th floor the reading room also a good choice. Every day, you can get one free beer ticket . You also can get cake coupons which you can get 8yuan off now, and coffe coupons which you can get 10yuan off . We will improve our service and business by training our staff more. We will try even harder in the future. Hope see u again!

71%

The hostel is very popular itself and there are a lot of international guests living here. But the best public area for making friends is a cafe that u need to pay for. As a result of that, the atmosphere of talking is just so so. The staff is good and she speaks very fluent English.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello thanks for your review.We are so sorry for creating the illusion to you that if you want to stay in our café , you have to buy something. Actually, we would like to make an atmosphere for our guests to making friends and talking happily. Thanks for your comments! In our hostel. So, we hope your next time arrival will be happier.

100%

So impressed with this hostel! All staff were really helpful and efficient, the room was clean and the showers were very spacious and well-maintained. The hostel bar was great too, we very much enjoyed eating there and the daily free Tsingdao was a nice little addition. Would definitely recommend!

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments.We are so glad that you had a great time in our hostel .welcome to our hostel anytime! Have a nice trip at your next stop!

69%

I stayed in an ensuit dubble room for two nights. The first night I woke up due to a sickening smell of mold. I guess the room is not built for a bathroom with a shower. I had to leave the window open for the rest of the stay. Except for that I have no complaints.

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are so sorry for the inconvenient had happened to you. Because we are near the sea, parts of our rooms may be damp on raining days. However, we will do our best to improve our room condition and upkeep the rooms in the future. Hope to see you again sincerely. Best wishes!

« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Qingdao Hostels

Please give us your feedback