X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Qingdao Old Observatory Youth Hostel (HiHostel) Reviews

No. 21 Guangxiang Er Road, Qingdao, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
598 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

Our room was damp and really smelt of it. The price for a double room compared with much better quality hostels in China is almost double. The bar/cafe on the roof is excellent if a little expensive (40rmb for museli and coffee, 25rmb bottle of Tsingtao). When I visit Qingdao again I would definitely come back here for a drink but there is no way I would stay here.


34%

It was a dirty room with stains on the bed sheets, mould on the shower curtains and the walls. The sealing falling down. The tv not working. The door of the toilet could not be closed when using it. And best of all is that we were woken up by ants and bugs crawling over us. No refund for that horrible night. Worst hostel experience ever.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for your review, we are very sorry for the 'horrible ever' experience. We assigned a complete cleaning of the room you were staying. However we would be able to address these issues better if you inform us the night you were staying. Apologies and thank you for choosing us and the feedback.

60%

The hostel was located in a decent location. Not too far of a walk to parts of the beach, and there are many bus stops. However, the hostel is located on top of a hill so remember that you will have to walk up it each time you go back lol. I found the staff a little bit rude. There were some problems with our payment/ reservation and they were not very friendly about the whole ordeal. They also had no idea where to find the airport bus shuttle which I found really surprising.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback, we have just had a meeting with all front desk staffs, and make sure that all understand our requirement for hospitality. As for the airport bus, apologies that we have some summer interns, who do not come from this city, we will provide more training for local knowledge. The airport shuttle is leaving in front of the railway square, which is only a few bus stop away. Cheers

97%

the only reason I don't give this place a perfect score is because of the hours and location. the authentic hundred years-old observatory site, sitting on top of a mountain and overlooking the old German Qingdao district, is certainly unforgettable. However, when ten o clock quiet time rolls around and the rooftop bar closes at twelve, the hostel reverts to the silent, ghost-ridden corridors of it's abandoned era. The nearest night life requires a hike down the mountain and a taxi to bar street.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, all staffs enjoyed very much the chatting with you, however, please allow me to say that you are the only native English speaker would call our location a "moutain", we are in a hilltop park that is only 70 meters above the sea. Night life is in the new town, unfortunately, if you choose the historical part of the city, nightlife is about 25 mins by taxi. Cheers

63%

the location is a little far away and less safty for a girl if she goes alone at night.but atmosphere is greater than other same leavl hotels. the room for six is a litte limited.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your review. Our location is in a park, but also next to a military base, we have never recorded any safety issues with our guests in our 8 years of operation. But we understand that some paths in the park could be a little dark in the night time. Cheers

80%

Positives: - Great front staff - very helpful. They helped us get taxis from the hostel, book train tickets, laundry etc... - Comfortable rooms, well equipped with air conditioning!! Very important... - Nice beds - Great rooftop bar, amazing views - Problems fixed quickly - Attentive, personable manager Negatives - Cold shower in rm 205 - but fixed quickly when we spoke to manager AJ - Food not amazing Overall a great hostel for a week long stay.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Lockers in room were out of service, being replaced. AC unit in room was loud and leaky.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for you comments. We were in process of replacing lockers in our dorms, sorry that it didn't work in the beginning. the AC in your room has been replaced. Cheers

54%

조식 있다고 했으나 없음. 파티 공지 역시 따로 없음. 택시 잡을때 매우 불편. 산아래로 내려가야함. 그리고 택시 타고 주소 보여주며 가달라고 하면 보통 모른다고 내리라고 함.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The showers in the basement. Ground floor has no amenities. Floors 2


89%

Nice atmosphere, superior staff, but unfortunatley very small rooms.


86%

We stayed in a large 12 person bunk, which is extremely economical. The main hostel building is really cool and build on a hill overlooking much of the city. Staff was good. Unfortunately the 12 person room smell pretty badly of mold and the showers were not at all clean when we arrived.


94%

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • 15th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

- dirty beds - dirty bathroom

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback, we will look into it.

57%

nice view. a bit pricey for what it is though. facilities would need a makeover. stayed in a hotel and for the same price got a very very nice room. the rooms in the observatory are.. meh, nothing special. the bar has potential, but as it is its gross and filthy. they offered paella, fried veggies and all you can drink for 50 yuan. but the food was the worst we had in a long long time!! disgusting. dogs and the cat are nice though.. they messed up our taxi reservation, almost missed our train

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for your feedback. Our dinner party is a great deal, 50RMB with food and freeflow of Tsingtao. It is the best deal in town, paella, we have inproved our recipe, thanks again for your feedback. As for the taxi, they do NOT take reservation, we try to help guests to reserve taxi, but we do not have a big say with them. Cheers

77%

We arrived and our room was gone but they gave us a bigger one even cheaper so they where verry fair. The lounge area, the Party to eat there and the view over the city is terrific. Just our room was quite dirty and the bathroom extrem smelly. We where in the Basement so I gues the upper rooms are a bit better. The sad thing is just the cleanness and teh rest ist nice.Price for a beer was quite high.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback, we did a complete cleaning of the room you stayed. We have a super deal that Tsingtao Beer is 20rmb Freeflow for two hours. The cheapest in town.

80%

Great location and very helpful staff. The bar on the rooftop is very nice with good breakfast and a friendly bartender. Really recommend this place!


74%

There is a need for readable local area maps of different scale.


94%

Beautiful views. Lounge in the dome of an old observatory with telescope still mounted. The owner of the hostel was there in person on both days of my stay and seemed interested in meeting the guests. Very nice guy who told us about the history of the place and the hostelling business in general. I will stay there again next time I'm in Qingdao


100%

A very nice hostel in the middle of old neighborhood. There are many places of interest nearby including the big church, a busy, local market street and the seashore. Not to mention the rooftop bar with awesome view. And a few pets as well! The staff is friendly and helpful and there is always someone speaking good English. Make sure to ask them directions and buses should you need them. Walking distances: Railway station 20min Seashore: 20min Church: 10min Market street 3min


51%

Staff gave us wrong directions on two occasions. The drains smelt bad. Our room was by reception and staff members were talking and running around late at night and early in the morning. Cigerette smoke filled our room late at night and early in the morning. Food was expensive and not up to a good standard. We thought we would treat ourselves as we hadnt had a western breakfast for three months, we were extremely disapointed. Not worth 40 yuan. Nice location. Nice walk to the beach.


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Qingdao Hostels

Please give us your feedback