X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Qingdao Old Observatory Youth Hostel (HiHostel) Reviews

No. 21 Guangxiang Er Road, Qingdao, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
609 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

I love the cat that lives here, George. Our room was moldy and mildewy, though. This is my favorite hostel in Qingdao; I wish the owner and staff would do a better job of maintaining the quality of the rooms. It smelled terrible in our private room, and we never adjusted to the mildewy smell.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback, we will remodel all the guest rooms in Nov this year, hope to see you again soon. Cheers

77%

Cheating with Flyer. Free BBY only on Saturday. Cheating by website on flyer: 20 yuan for freeflow tsingtao. Only for 2 hours before 2030. After every beer 25 yuan. Excellent and friendly staff. Good view from the Bar. The Bar is expensive. Hostel is almost clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for your stay. We would like to make it as affordable and fun as we could with our zero profit policy on our beer revenue for all. 2 hours freeflow of Tsingtao is unique to our hostel, no other hostel/bar could compete with us on this price (that we know of). 25Y is for a large bottle of Tsingtao Premium - Augetta, the lowest you could probably find. We hope you come again and drink as much as you like for the two hours drinking time, and you could always renew when time is out.

46%

I stayed in a private room with twin beds. I have to say that the room stinks especially the bathroom. It smells like sewage. The shower is separated from the toilet placed right exactly next to the bed without a door. It was just covered with a curtain. The light is so old-school, you need to pull a string to open it. There was no switch for the toilet and shower lights. I was disappointed with the room, it was so expensive during the national holiday (october 1-7) in china.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for your stay, we will make a full remodeling in just 2 weeks down the road. Thanks for your feedback and apologies for the inconvenience. Cheers

77%

The hostel is on a hill, so a little walk down to the city center and the beachside. The bed was very hard. The wifi was very unstable. On and off during the stay. I stayed in a dorm. The toilet was in the same floor, but the showers in the basement. A quiet and relaxing place to stay.

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for choosing us, in China, mostly the mattress is a little firm than western style. Hope that you'd see it as part of your experience in China, and we apologies for any inconvenience. Hope to see you again, Cheers

51%

Our room was damp and really smelt of it. The price for a double room compared with much better quality hostels in China is almost double. The bar/cafe on the roof is excellent if a little expensive (40rmb for museli and coffee, 25rmb bottle of Tsingtao). When I visit Qingdao again I would definitely come back here for a drink but there is no way I would stay here.


34%

It was a dirty room with stains on the bed sheets, mould on the shower curtains and the walls. The sealing falling down. The tv not working. The door of the toilet could not be closed when using it. And best of all is that we were woken up by ants and bugs crawling over us. No refund for that horrible night. Worst hostel experience ever.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for your review, we are very sorry for the 'horrible ever' experience. We assigned a complete cleaning of the room you were staying. However we would be able to address these issues better if you inform us the night you were staying. Apologies and thank you for choosing us and the feedback.

60%

The hostel was located in a decent location. Not too far of a walk to parts of the beach, and there are many bus stops. However, the hostel is located on top of a hill so remember that you will have to walk up it each time you go back lol. I found the staff a little bit rude. There were some problems with our payment/ reservation and they were not very friendly about the whole ordeal. They also had no idea where to find the airport bus shuttle which I found really surprising.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback, we have just had a meeting with all front desk staffs, and make sure that all understand our requirement for hospitality. As for the airport bus, apologies that we have some summer interns, who do not come from this city, we will provide more training for local knowledge. The airport shuttle is leaving in front of the railway square, which is only a few bus stop away. Cheers

97%

the only reason I don't give this place a perfect score is because of the hours and location. the authentic hundred years-old observatory site, sitting on top of a mountain and overlooking the old German Qingdao district, is certainly unforgettable. However, when ten o clock quiet time rolls around and the rooftop bar closes at twelve, the hostel reverts to the silent, ghost-ridden corridors of it's abandoned era. The nearest night life requires a hike down the mountain and a taxi to bar street.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, all staffs enjoyed very much the chatting with you, however, please allow me to say that you are the only native English speaker would call our location a "moutain", we are in a hilltop park that is only 70 meters above the sea. Night life is in the new town, unfortunately, if you choose the historical part of the city, nightlife is about 25 mins by taxi. Cheers

63%

the location is a little far away and less safty for a girl if she goes alone at night.but atmosphere is greater than other same leavl hotels. the room for six is a litte limited.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your review. Our location is in a park, but also next to a military base, we have never recorded any safety issues with our guests in our 8 years of operation. But we understand that some paths in the park could be a little dark in the night time. Cheers

80%

Positives: - Great front staff - very helpful. They helped us get taxis from the hostel, book train tickets, laundry etc... - Comfortable rooms, well equipped with air conditioning!! Very important... - Nice beds - Great rooftop bar, amazing views - Problems fixed quickly - Attentive, personable manager Negatives - Cold shower in rm 205 - but fixed quickly when we spoke to manager AJ - Food not amazing Overall a great hostel for a week long stay.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Lockers in room were out of service, being replaced. AC unit in room was loud and leaky.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for you comments. We were in process of replacing lockers in our dorms, sorry that it didn't work in the beginning. the AC in your room has been replaced. Cheers

54%

조식 있다고 했으나 없음. 파티 공지 역시 따로 없음. 택시 잡을때 매우 불편. 산아래로 내려가야함. 그리고 택시 타고 주소 보여주며 가달라고 하면 보통 모른다고 내리라고 함.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Qingdao Hostels

Please give us your feedback