Hostelworld.com

Qingdao Old Observatory Youth Hostel (HiHostel)

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 680 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 680 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 7.5
Qingdao Old Observatory Youth Hostel (HiHostel) Located at No. 21 Guangxiang Er Road, , Qingdao.
Qingdao Old Observatory Youth Hostel (HiHostel)
China
Qingdao Shandong 266003 No. 21 Guangxiang Er Road
77% 680
36.0700708 120.3262782
Qingdao Old Observatory Youth Hostel (HiHostel)
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Jun 2016
6.9

Bedding didn't seem super clean, smelled a bit and the ac just moved the air, didn't cool it. At the top of a hill...very quiet, but directions to hostel lacking clarity. Price for a private room really reasonable, but I'll probably try a different hostel next time I'm in Qingdao.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st May 2016
6.0

Was there from May-June so hostel was practically empty (in my dorm of six beds there was only one other person), so atmosphere was pretty dead. Hostel was clean, and building itself is very unique. Rooftop bar is highly expensive (10 yuan for can of Sprite!!!) and plays loud American country music on a loop, meaning sitting in there for any length of time drives you crazy. Location wise very good - but on very steep hill! Couple of staff were helpful, but most rude and disinterested.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2016
6.9

We arrived late at night to find that the triple room we had booked had been given to a single person, meaning our party had to be split up. They didn't charge us for the stay, which was a nice gesture. Staff spoke very little English and were unhelpful (couldn't tell us how to get to places, didn't book us a taxi for when we asked to make our early train etc). Rooms were decent enough, though a bit grubby, and some of the electrics (might switches) were decidedly dodgy. Would not stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
6.6

The room was nicely furnished, but reeked of cigarette smoke (probably related to the cigarette butt under one if the beds), and it didn't seem to have been cleaned very well. The location in the park was nice and there are lots of coffee shops nearby, which is a plus, but the staff wasn't particularly helpful when asked for recommendations / directions, even to places like the airport (and even when addressed in Chinese). It was okay, but I wouldn't stay here again if I had another option.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • lillato1806
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
14th Apr 2016
6.9

Hostel owners and receptionists great and helpful. Good location, not necessarily easy to find but use the taxi card they email you with. Beds hard and not very comfy and showers are cold and not particularly clean (despite them being cleaned regularly). Power socket at beds though and there are lockers but they had lost many of the keys so had 3 lockers between 5 of us. Room cold but I was given more blankets when I asked for them. Cheapest in Qingdao but you get what you pay for.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2016
9.1

Overall I would completely recommend. I had a hard time finding this hostel from the bus station but other than that everything went smoothly. I stayed in a bunk bed in one of the all girl 6 person rooms. It was cozy and we had our own bathroom. There was only one other girl there. I loved having a close little locked cabinet to put all of my things and the service was amazing. Would highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mathiasmavraganis8300
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Apr 2016
7.1

Awesome location and way too cozy roof bar! A bit far from the town though and not practical to get there with a lot of luggage

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • davehazzan8231
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Apr 2016
10.0

Great place, great stay, no complaints!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2016
9.1

I had an awesome stay at the Qingdao Old Observatory Youth Hostel! The staff was so friendly and very helpful. Were always willing to provide directions any assistance needed. Front desk employee Jack was really nice and helpful! :) The location was amazing and there were superb view from the review. The food was great and the atmosphere in the kitchen at night was really fun. All you can drink Tsingtao was so cheap and created an environment where you could meet other guests. Thank you!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
26th Mar 2016
3.1

The hostel advertises as having double rooms, but only have twins. When we got into the twin room the bedding had brown stains which I really didn't want to investigate, but the staff don't speak English well enough to understand I wanted new bedding. The view from the observatory is very nice as is the bar at the top. But security is fairly lousy if you want to keep your bag at the hostel after checking out. Their only option is in front of reception by the front door. Couples should avoid.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi mate, thanks for choosing us, we are very sorry for the room type, which did not fully satisfy you. We were fully booked in the day you stayed with us, and your booking indicated "double or twins" as stated in your confirmation. In this case, we are happy to change the room type that you preferred, however it is not considered to be wrongdoing for a twin room type (which is as stated in the booking notice), we understand your feeling, but again we were fully booked unfortunately, otherwise we will assign a new room for you. As for the sheets, we are always willingly to change the sheet for you, however we are very sorry that the staff did not understand your meaning. We hope to see you again in the future. Cheers

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.