Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Residencia Malaga Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.4
Rating 1167 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 5.6
  • Staff 5.7
  • Atmosphere 5.1
  • Cleanliness 4.1
  • Facilities 4.8
BOOK NOW
5.4
Rating 1167 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 5.6
  • Staff 5.7
  • Atmosphere 5.1
  • Cleanliness 4.1
  • Facilities 4.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2017
4.0

Very dirty . Low security . Most off the staff impolite .

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • megantaylor558858
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th May 2017
2.0

Some of the comments say don't go... and we thought she'll be right can't be that bad.. but it is that bad and worse. Bedrooms dirty and small. We paid for an all female dorm, went out for dinner arrived back went to bed and 3 seedy older men come on in..bit awkward. Felt very uncomfortable. No one was at the desk to change us or even so in the morning no one was around. My friend went to the bathroom in the morning sat down and seen what would have appears to be seman sprayed on the wall..

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
4th May 2017
9.1

Great location for the beach, not too far from the center. Good hostel for the price!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2017
3.7

By far the worst hostel I've ever stayed at. I wasn't expecting much based off of prior reviews, but I sure expected more than I got. Location was the one okay thing about it. 10-minute taxi ride from the airport. Security wise the doors locked, and that's about it. The staff member did schedule me a taxi for the morning but said she was completely unavailable at night if there was an emergency. Also had to make my own bed and peel the dirty sheets off. Co-ed bathrooms and no soap.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2017
7.4

I stayed here the night before an early flight out of malaga. The hostel is only a 10-15 minute taxi ride from the airport, so it was very convenient. The staff was really nice and the desk woman even ordered a cab for us. However I would not have stayed here for a longer period of time. It's not in the best part of malaga and it's a bit of a weird atmosphere. The bathrooms were not very clean, and the lounge/kitchen area looked like someone's sad living room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
2.0

HORRIBLE, DON'T GO. we arrived (3girls) and we had a reservation in a shared room of 8beds. they told us that they could provide a better room, private with 3beds, so we arrived at night expecting to stay there and another staff said "there is no space for you anywhere" only thing we could do is stay each of us in a mixed room of 8, separately. the room's smell was INSANE and people looked like homeless...no one was at the reception, we had to wait until they came all the time.WORST HOSTEL EVER

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
4.3

Very dingy, nice staff but thats about it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2017
4.0

Yeesh! Hard to recommend this place. Staff were nice, helpful, though not in a hurry. Otherwise, thumbs down. The common room might be the most depressing place I've ever been in my life. And I've eaten alone inside a Jack-in-the-Box before. Guy who'd been there a while said that when anyone walks in, the happiness instantly leaves their face. Only thing to recommend it is that it's the cheapest hostel in town. Pay 2€ more for somewhere else and dramatically decrease your risk of suicide.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
8.9

It is ok ovrall, if you look for a bed and shower, just perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jan 2017
4.0

I would like to say that if you read all the previous reviews and see the negative aspects of those reviews , that pretty much sums up my opinion, dirty place, kitchen closes between 12 a.m. and 9 a.m., it looks like a permanent residence for homeless alcoholics, and definetely avoid the man with the long hair in a rubberband that will ask you a 1,000 and more questionas as if he works there , but , doesn+`t, staff rude with the men guests but freindly with the women guests, typical...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.