X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Residencia Malaga Backpackers Reviews

c/ Jeronimo Bobadilla N�4, Malaga, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
852 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 66%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

It's easily accessible which is great. Just do not rely on local transport because although there are many bus lines, they might not get there when you need them.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very good atmosphere and definitely a great location too. Recommended


89%

For 8 Euros a night I wasn't expecting that much from the hostel, however the staff, including James and Rachael were extremely helpful and the people in the hostel resulted in an excellent atmosphere. It's very close to the beach and is great for the price I paid for.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel was run very well and was well accommodating. Worth three times the price especially as a result of the lodgers and the Staff.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Absolutely decent. A bit far from the center but a ten-minute walk from the beach. Very nice and helpful staff. Other guests typically 35 backpackers. The ten bed dorm is a pain though, squeaky beds and air conditioning didn't work well to fight the heat.


60%

There was good customer service, but the overall cleanliness was really dissapointing. There was pasta all over the kitchen and on the tables in the lounge so that I had to use a paper towel and clean it up before I put my computer down. Someone was also smoking in the kitchen and the manager didn't do anything about it, he just kept playing pool. There was also mold all over the shower curtains and water marks on my walls. My room also smelled like smoke (even though smoking was not allowed).

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff at the hostel were awesome, the only downside is the hostel is far away from the town centre, but the staff do provide you with a map and give directions and advice on which buses to take.


100%

The staff are friendly and extremely helpful and the hostel has a fun chilled vibe. Highly recommend.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Only used Hostel for 1 night, suitably close to airport. Website shows this as a 24h reception but Hostel was not, closing at 1am, we arrived at 1.15am and luckily staff had stayed up and allowed us in despite a brief grumble, he then sold us a couple of beers and was very pleasant and helpful, even 7 hours later when we left in the morning.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

It's a nice hostel, but it's very far from the center. Not too bad with a bus ride though. It's a nice hostel.

  • 15th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Okay, so I gave pretty bad scores to certain aspects of this hostel BUT it was undoubtedly one of the best hostels I've stayed at so far. A few things: no lockers in the rooms, located pretty far outside the center of the city (but very close to the beach), so it's expensive to go party. HOWEVER, the staff were awesome and I really enjoyed hanging out there. There's always something to do and the place has a very homey feel to it. If you're looking to meet people, this is an excellent choice.


63%

Too far from the bus station, and quite isolated.


77%

excellent for adolescents

  • 22nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Really nice place, enjoyed my stay here. Staff were all really friendly and involved with the guests, the hostel had a nice common room. Good for travelling alone as met people as soon as I arrived.


54%

The guys who worked there are super chill but the place smelled. Lights didn't work in the bathroom. The locks were jokes. Very close to the beach/ NOT malagueta but a nice beach. If you're looking for the ultimate hostel experience, stay here. 25 euro for a hostel is a little steep.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Residencia Malaga Backpackers is not located in the city center, but it's in a walkable distance. Nice vibes and good place for those, who likes social hostels. Big common room and perfect sense of feeling like at home.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Staff were lovely and warm. Easy to meet people. Have pub crawls


89%

More than just value for money! This hostel made our 5 day weekend in Malaga. The rooms were clean and bathrooms always being cleaned and the kitchen is really big and has all facilities plus the common area is big and comfy... But it's the staff that create the atmosphere it has, and the atmosphere that creates the whole experience! We met some amazing people from everywhere and the hostel have pizza nights and pasta nights encouraging socialising with other guests. Most fun ever !


86%

The toilets on the second floor were super tiny and your legs would touch the door or you would have to sit sideways!

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Very good advices from the personal and beautiful hostal

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Malaga Hostels

Please give us your feedback