Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Riad Etoile de Mogador Reviews

8 Rue Allal El Waquawi, BVD Agadir Medina, Essaouira, Morocco

Reviews & Ratings Explained


102 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 100%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


A nice riad-like hostel in the medina. Very nice rooms and public spaces, good roof terrace. Location is not central but comfortable. A little minus for the staff - they're friendly but should be a little more flexible f.e. should not try to charge us for the tax we had paid before, should not tell us to pay for the additional breakfast (for our child) that we didn't ask for, should give us better info about camel riding (told us we need reservation which was not true). Anyway good-value place!


It was a nice stay at Riad Etoile de Mogador. Probably perfect for french speaking people but english was also ok. Easy to find. Great terrace with ocean view. Breakfast is served individually on the terrace. Wifi works. Room cleaning is excellent.

  • 18th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews

This hostel does look nice, but it's not nice. You don't get that much for the price + very noise. Also the French guy and girl were not helpful at all. Besides not being friendly and properly greeting you when opening the door, she didn't even want to give some tea or hot water for my sick boyfriend because that's only for breakfast (it was very cold at night + heating didn't work) (is all okay, if you're not sick)). Lazy. The Moroccan staff on the other hand were very friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very sad about your comment. When you came in our Riad, there was many persons and we cannot say for them to be calm in the day, each one has liberty. We are sorry if you are sick but it's not our fault. We don't have any tea during the day because we buy the fresh mint each day. We haven't a stock of food. For hot water you have not spoked. For the cold, there are a person 24h/24h to help you to change the heating or give you an other blanket but you didn't ask. Better next time :)


Easy to find and close to the main market street and the port/beach. We had a nice private room with ensuite shower and bathroom--very clean and comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was great, served on the pleasant rooftop terrace. The only snag: they didn't have any clean towels for the shower when we stayed. Maybe it was just bad luck or bad timing. Everything else was great.


Lovely room, lots of space and nicely decorated. Great rooftop terrace with views and places to sit. Good central location. Most staff very helpful and friendly but younger boy on desk didn't speak English so was a bit difficult if nobody else was around. Did not accept card payments.


Great place to stay. Staff and management are excellent and very helpful. Great relaxing roof terrace with a sea view. Really enjoyed my time here!


Lovely riad, really nice staff and very helpful. The location was excellent, and the roof terrace had a lovely view. I will stay here again if i visit essaouira.


This was a lovely riad, perfect for our needs. On arriving, we were given two copies of a very useful map of the area to orient . At first we were concerned that without air-conditioning the room would get too hot, but (even in August) the wind in Essaouira was enough to cool the building pleasantly. Breakfast was super and the terrace was a great place to relax and read and had a great view of the sea.


Lovely hostel, sun terrace is great. Rooms are spacious but beds very hard.


A great Riad! It was really easy to find, the staff was very helpful, the breakfast was delicious and the location perfect! We would definitely recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good Morning Miss, thanks a lot for your comment who is very precious for us! It's a big pleasure to see you an other time in Essaouira. Best regards of the staff!


We only stayed at this hostel one night. We received a lovely welcome and told we were staying on the terrace. The terrace room looked NOTHING like the pictures on hostelworld (I think they are of the suites) and was quite basic but comfortable and nice. Unfortunately we were robbed that night (the lock on our door didn't actually work that well, you are supposed to deadlock the door, which we weren't aware of), and found ourselves locked out of the hostel, which was terrifying at 3am.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comment. The room on the roof is a Double Room. It's a simple room with a private terrace. Just to clarify, the lock works well but with two turns of the key and the other lock on the door. In Essaouira, all terraces communicate. That is the problem but the police makes the serious investigation. We are sorry for this problem and have try to make the best for resolve this problem and help you.


Rooms were basic but clean. Staff was lovely and helpful. Breakfast on the rooftop was a great start to the day. Would definitely recommend.


This riad was very nice, the only downfall was that it was quite noisy as our window was above a little street being the rammadan time probably made it worse. the other rooms to the other side are very quite though. the riad was also not very personal as there were quite a few rooms, also hard to dry washing:


Thank you very much for the nice time,we spend in your Riad. Greetings Helga and Wolfgang

  • 20th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


Loved this riad especially cause the room is big, as well as the bathroom , it has a lovely atmosphere and easy to find, once you go there once. Nice basic breakfast in the morning and will miss the cat that visited us every morning in the roof terrace upstairs! hot water, clean and lovely décor. def would go again!!


It is beautiful, clean, and has a great breakfast. The staff aren't very personable or helpful.


Was really nice stay!! The room was really beautiful(dryed roses on bed:D) and the breakfast was excellent.(You can eat breakfast in living room or terrace.) The staff was so kind and everywhere in this Riad were clean!! There are only 2 Cons: 1. WIFi is accessable only in the livingroom. 2.It's direction to get there is not enough! ANYWAY IT WAS REALLY NICE STAY AND I WILL REVISIT THERE IF I GO ESSAUIREA AGAIN.


Great place to meet other travelers and to escape the Medina's chaos. They have security boxes and iPhone-charging speakers in each room. Some roaches and overpriced food.


Simply excellent!


This is a beautiful riad in a perfect location in the medina. There are signs on the streets, so it's very easy to find from the Marrakech entrance of the medina. Our room was gorgeous and cleaned every day. We enjoyed breakfast on the roof each morning and easy walking distance from the beach. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else!

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(53 results)

View all Essaouira Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback