Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rossco Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1030 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1030 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Mar 2017
8.9

Really enjoyed our time at Rosscos- our room was really clean and the bed really comfy. Breakfast is simple (cereal, toast and fruit) but there are lots of nice hang out areas, a movie room and evening fires. Location is great- a short walk from central town and the markets. And the dogs are an added bonus! We'd definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2017
9.4

Awesome place to stay in an amazing city. Absolutely loved my time in San Cristobal and Rosscos was a great place to meet other travellers. The hostel is nice and clean and the staff are very good, able to help with anything you want to book. Such sweet and adorable hostel dogs (that are rescues) that gives it a little extra. Make sure you do the free walking tour!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Feb 2017
8.9

Loved this hostel. Is a short 5minute walk from all attractions. The beds are the warmest and most comfortable ever! The place has a sociable vibe with cool rooftop area. Tours are offered. The breakfast was fine with tea coffee cereals and toast. Danny, the staff member is very friendly and the cleaning lady works so hard and is very sweet! Has a place to hang your clothes, plug sockets in lockers and hot showers. I felt very relaxed and at home here. Thanks guys x

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Feb 2017
7.7

Incredibly friendly and helpful staff. They make arrangements with tour operators at a great price and have good advice about things to see and do. I stayed in a private twin which was comfortable and clean. I would recommend bringing an eyeshade as there's a skylight with no curtain. The location is a short walk away from the centre, and the streets with bars and restaurants. Wifi not fit for 21st century - basically useless. Breakfast was very poor. Overall fairy nice hostel - could inprove

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Feb 2017
9.4

Enjoyed my stay here. Really well catered hostel. With maps, details of trips etc. Good atmosphere and good mix of chill with social. Bonfire lit every evening which attracts everyone to gather around and socialise. Highlight for me is that the owner has taken in 5 stray dogs and used money from hostel to pay for vet bills and brought them back to good health. Now happy dogs living in the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Feb 2017
8.0

I slept in the 4 bed dorm, which was good, though I'm told the 14 was fine too. Cereal, toast and bananas for breakfast - a Mexico standard. Pretty gardens and a regular bonfire at night. Cheap on-site laundry. I don't think I really had much interaction with the staff beyond paying for tours, although I'm sure they were nice enough. Plenty of tours organised from the desk. Beds were okay - again, a Mexico standard.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
9.4

Great hostel situated right next to the Santo Domingo church/market. Grocery store and zocalo within walking distance. A little bit of a trek from the bus station but there's always a collectivo running. The facility is super clean and the staff are very engaging. Tours can be booked at reception easily. The mattresses are a little "well loved" and it could use a comfortable seating area but they than that it's an excellent hostel. Definitely recommend, loved all the dogs too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Feb 2017
8.6

Great hostel and excellent location. Staff were extremely helpful. My only gripe is that there are not enough toilets/showers for the number of people staying there. There were 3 showers in the main courtyard but if they are all occupied with people showering and you need the toilet you have to cross your legs and pray. Apart from that, great atmosphere at night. There's a fire pit and it's very sociable. Good place to meet people if you're travelling alone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Feb 2017
7.4

We arrived at roscos after an overnight bus, we were very tired so it was nice to get to somewhere quiet. Although we did book this hostel based on the 'fire every night' as to have some atmosphere this was not the case, you had to ask for the fire to be put on usually..... then minimal atmosphere. We booked an ensuite room but the shower only squirted one stream of cold water so we just used the common ones, no big deal but that need maitance. Great for the older traveler. Quiet.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
31st Jan 2017
10.0

Simply wonderful. So clean, great showers, simple but sufficient breakfast and such helpful staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.