Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rossco Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 964 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 964 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.8
Rossco Backpackers Hostel Located at Real de Mexicanos # 16, , San Cristobal de las Casas.
Rossco Backpackers Hostel
Mexico
San Cristobal de las Casas 29240 Real de Mexicanos # 16
88% 964
16.7426064 -92.6395028
Rossco Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th Dec 2016
7.4

Nice place. Included a basic but fine breakfast (but where is the promised yogurt?). Dorms have one one plug socket in the bathroom. 5 cool dogs roam the place. Bonfire pit. Chillout room. Fine for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Dec 2016
9.4

Excelente lugar, genial atmósfera.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Nov 2016
7.4

Staff were friendly. Not one room trapped in heat so the entire hostel was freezing at night. Also, the receptionist showed someone our beds whilst we were still asleep at 8am when I really think that should have been done post-checkout. I would also say only come here if you are an avid dog lover. I really like dogs but they have six and there are no boundaries, for example they come into the kitchen (as there is no lock from the inside) waiting to be fed and chasing your food.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
26th Nov 2016
8.3

I enjoyed my stay at rosco! Met some lovely people. It's located very close to the centre and the main pedestrian streets. The dogs and bonfire are great, but it lacks an indoor area like a lounge room where people can hang out (and not be cold!!) I'm glad they had nice big doonas cos it gets cold in San cristobal. Easy to organise tours from reception as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Nov 2016
9.4

Such a lovely place! San Cristobal is just amazing as is this hostel. It's cold here in winter. BUT - ROSSCO has a large fireplace where people can meet up with strangers every night. This was the starter for many awesome days and nights so that I extended my stay. Staff seemed distant at first but in the end was very helpful and friendly on many occasions. Good vibes here - would absolutely recommend staying here!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jacquigavin5748
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
10th Nov 2016
9.7

I stayed here for 6 days whilst in San Cristobal. The hostel is a great choice. The best bit is the fire pit (unless it's raining too much!) which is social and nice in the cooler climate. Showers are hot and beds warm. The tours from here are a good price oh and they have 4 rescue dogs which are the best. I'd definitely recommend staying here 😀

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Nov 2016
8.3

Overall very pleasant experience. Nice social aspect with the fire at night. Good location as it's right in between zocalo and market. Kitchen facilities are great aside from the lack of light and persistent begging from 5 hungry perros.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
1st Nov 2016
8.6

We stayed in a private room, which was comparative to hotel standards. The privates were located at the rear of the property away from the main socialising areas allowing for a good nights sleep. The hostel is located within walking distance to the town centre. Staff were generally helpful, however gave us conflicting information.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Oct 2016
10.0

Great facility with helpful staff. Enjoyed stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
24th Oct 2016
10.0

Great kitchen and terraces. Loved playing with the dogs and easy to meet people. The staff were super helpful as well. Many thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.