Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rossco Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1078 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1078 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Aug 2017
6.0

Nice early check in and decent breakfast, and the staff is friendly. But the wifi is worse than abysmal. We tried to book out next hostel for an hour before giving up and going to a local coffee shop. The dorm rooms didn't have any plugs for charging, the showers were like a trickle, and there was so much noise throughout the night. I honestly I don't know how they get such a good rating...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
24th Jul 2017
8.0

Beds were old and rickety and the wifi was terrible. But the staff were greats and there were lots of dogs around the hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jul 2017
7.1

Well located staffed 24 hours a day

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • davidpgpeters
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jul 2017
7.4

Rossco is nice, just very quiet. Beds are comfy, staff are pleasant and it's a seven minute walk to the centre which is great. It's good but I wouldn't rave about it. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Jul 2017
9.1

Super cute 4 bed dorm with loft was a nice change. Unfortunately wifi was patchy. Wouldn't book tours through the hostel as they are marked up. Hostel seemed a bit empty but still social with large tables to gather at. Made use of the kitchen however knives were blunt and had to get our own condiments (oil, salt and pepper etc). Overall good stay, would recommended. 5 cute dogs made rosscos feel like home!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
10.0

This is an awesome place to stay - we highly recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kfreckleton
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Jun 2017
7.4

The kitchen is huge and was always very clean. Breakfast is lacking however (bread, cereal and fruit) they may want to consider throwing some eggs in there. The room we stayed in was not made for tall people ( private room with two single beds) I kept hitting my head on the beams and I'm short.. If you are over 5'2 maybe consider the dorm rooms. The hostel overall was good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kathleensheahan2769
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
12th Jun 2017
6.6

Pros: friendly staff, free breakfast and nice grounds, good facilities Cons: the private room we had was a small attic space that was not worth what we paid. Low beams and doorways meant we continually hit our heads and being in the roof space meant we couldn't use half our "room" and could hear everything in the "private" room next to us! The private rooms with bathrooms and dorms looked a lot better. All in all a good hostel we just didn't feel like we got value for money!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • WillNz
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th May 2017
9.7

Absolutely loved it, everything you could ask for in a hostel - I will be back. If I had to pick a downside.. breakfast is basic, but the local food is awesome and cheap so no drama there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
9.4

The staff is really helpful. And this one is really good to stay. I met a lot of nice friends over here. Include breakfast ,made me like in home. That's very safe. Clean and lovely place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.