Hostelworld.com

Rossco Backpackers Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1008 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1008 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th Feb 2017
9.4

Great hostel situated right next to the Santo Domingo church/market. Grocery store and zocalo within walking distance. A little bit of a trek from the bus station but there's always a collectivo running. The facility is super clean and the staff are very engaging. Tours can be booked at reception easily. The mattresses are a little "well loved" and it could use a comfortable seating area but they than that it's an excellent hostel. Definitely recommend, loved all the dogs too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Feb 2017
8.6

Great hostel and excellent location. Staff were extremely helpful. My only gripe is that there are not enough toilets/showers for the number of people staying there. There were 3 showers in the main courtyard but if they are all occupied with people showering and you need the toilet you have to cross your legs and pray. Apart from that, great atmosphere at night. There's a fire pit and it's very sociable. Good place to meet people if you're travelling alone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Feb 2017
7.4

We arrived at roscos after an overnight bus, we were very tired so it was nice to get to somewhere quiet. Although we did book this hostel based on the 'fire every night' as to have some atmosphere this was not the case, you had to ask for the fire to be put on usually..... then minimal atmosphere. We booked an ensuite room but the shower only squirted one stream of cold water so we just used the common ones, no big deal but that need maitance. Great for the older traveler. Quiet.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
31st Jan 2017
10.0

Simply wonderful. So clean, great showers, simple but sufficient breakfast and such helpful staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Jan 2017
9.7

This is a great place to stay in San Cristobal. Staff are friendly, the place is well looked after, clean enough too. Camp fire in the evenings when it gets cold is great. They provide bedding (decent duvet and blanket) so even if unprepared you'll have a warm night sleep. Breakfast was pretty standard as it is in most places but can't complain for the price. Good location, walking distance to town, able to book tours through the hostel as well, the canyon one is fantastic. I'd stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • www360HoneymoonDotcom
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
24th Jan 2017
8.3

Quite well placed to get into San Cristobal. Amazing collection of dogs. FREEZING at night and in the mornings, but I expect all places will suffer the same. Big thumbs up to staff member David - really helpful and funny. Less credit to the less friendly staff members who messed us around with our bus arrangements (long story, but a frustrating experience). We had an en-suite private room upstairs that was really comfortable...shame about the incessant barking dogs on either side of the fence.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jan 2017
9.1

I intended to spend two nights at Rossco and ended up only leaving after a week! The atmosphere was wonderful, especially having the communal fire in the evenings. Kitchen was very useful. Lovely spots to chill out in the sun, shade, movie lounge, whatever! Good proximity to the markets and town centre. The staff were very helpful and flexible. The only downside is that the sockets in the dorms don't work, but everything else made up for that! Thank you! I'll be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jan 2017
9.1

Rossco had a really great atmosphere; the staff were helpful and friendly and all the other people staying there were kind and easy to get along with! The bedding suited the temperature (something other hostels in san cristobal lacked) so I was cosy the whole night. It's walkable from the town centre and I felt safe walking alone at night, too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Jan 2017
6.0

Just an average hostel. Bathrooms a bit dirty. A bit loud at night. Staff not overly friendly. The fire at night is nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Dec 2016
8.0

The hostel is nicely located close to the center of the city. We didn't like the lockers (outside the room) for charging the battery of our electronic devices. We almost miss a tour because we left our phone charging and we didn't have an alarm and they don't offer the wake-up service. Also important to write down everything they offer in the tours. They offered us at the front desk full transportation and at the end they left us in the center of the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.