Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Samesun Venice Beach

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 3053 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 3053 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
9.1

Nice and clean, helpful staff, wifi speed could be a lot better

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2017
10.0

I was pretty nervous because I never have stayed in a Hostel. I was made welcome and I was pleasantly surprised by the accommodations. Clean and comfortable. I felt very safe. Just so cool that it was right at the heart of Venice! I'm very pleased. ~Michelle from Albuquerque NM

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • emma_rose2928
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
6th Jun 2017
8.0

I loved my stay here. The location was perfect and easy to bike around and up to Santa Monica pier. You can hire a bike from Jays cheaply right next door. The facilities were fantastic. And the area whilst right in the centre of Venice board walk was not at all too noisy. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jun 2017
7.1

Only 2 bathrooms (1 toilet and 1 shower each) on each floor of the hostel (only 2 floors too), this was very inconvenient since there are 4+ people staying in each room and tons of rooms on each floor. Very close to the venice beach boardwalk (very very crowded boardwalk). The hostel was doing some renovations to their stairwell so there was a lot of paint chips on the ground and dust. Breakfast was what you would expect at a hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback. The majority of the rooms are ensuite, meaning they have bathrooms in the room, so not all 100 guests are using the 5 bathrooms. The stairwell is currently getting a well needed strip from all the paint - the original wood is too beautiful to cover up, however we do apologize if this affect your stay. Hope you come back to see the finished product! Cheers and safe travels, Sara

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Jun 2017
8.6

Excellent location, 3 minute walk to the beach. Staff would help with any problems you had but wouldn't be overly excited to do so. Only 1 common room which is fairly small so quite easy to meet people. Would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st May 2017
7.4

Mediocre hostel in an excellent location with great staff. Breakfast is nice but a cramped common room and kitchen is annoying. Facilities aren't great. Location is excellent, which is the only reason to stay here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th May 2017
8.3

Right on Venice beach, a few km stroll from Santa Monica pier and right near plenty of places to grab a drink! Wish there were more group activities on Thursday nights because we were hoping to meet people and party with a crew (but all you can eat Tacos is a cute idea anyway!) Staff were pretty good, lots of cleaning going on all the time which was good for making it feel clean, but tricky because the number of bathrooms was limited! Breakfast was fantastic!! Such a good wake up idea!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th May 2017
7.7

Good location. Rooms were clean, however I was in a seven bed and therefore had a single bed. None of the plugs around me worked and everyone had extension leads attached to their bunk beds but I did not. When I asked why the plugs didn't work at the front desk, the workers response was "I'm not an electrician" therefore thought the staff were abit unhelpful Apart from this the hostel is nice and cheaper than other hostels in LA

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th May 2017
10.0

Great place to stay and experience the best of Venice Beach. Amazing views over the boardwalk and ocean, clean rooms with good wifi and free breakfast in the morning to start your day (pancakes included). Really friendly and helpful staff and will definitely be back to visit when I'm in L.A again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 53 reviews
28th May 2017
9.1

REally cool hostel right on Venice Beach. Breakfast was great and all the facilities you could need :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.