Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Samesun Venice Beach Reviews

25 Windward Ave, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained


1783 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Arrived from a long international flight at 7:30 am and check in wasn't untill 3pm, but the manager was amazing and got us in early, even upgraded us to a private room.. Great location, helpful staff (except for the morning guy who pumps Kanye at 6:30am- that cray!!) clean, safe rooms. Perfect for what we were after


The only place you can get wifi is in the hallway next to the ATM. Is it that hard to get a few routers and place them near the rooms?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback. Unfortunately we did have some of the wifi equipment out of order (which was sent in to get repaired) for a little bit. The part that was sent in did help distribute the signal throughout the hostel. I apologize for this inconvenience, and that the wifi in the common areas was insufficient. Hopefully you were able to enjoy the Venice beaches and sunshine! Cheers, Sara


Stayed one night. The staff was friendly and the location is nice to explore Venice Beach. Overall a nice stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. Glad you enjoyed your time at the hostel and Venice. Cheers and safe travels, Sara GM


internet never works

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


Decent hostel, but it could do with a bit of a makeover... What annoyed me the most is the cold showers! By 10am, not hot water whatsoever.


Although this was an ok hostel I would not advise people because their wifi is so bad you can not call it wifi, they have a router but that's it you can not use it for anything. Therefor I think it is bad value for money because it is a ripoff if they not invest in a good internet connection for the traveler who has to plan a schedule everything online. It is 100 bucks per month to get good internet if they are not willing to do that it is bad customer service.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. We do have several routers and portals. Unfortunately we did have some of the wifi equipment out of order for a little bit. The part that was sent in did help distribute the signal throughout the hostel. During your stay it was out getting repaired, our attempt to fix the issue as quickly as we could, for the benefit of our valued guests. I do apologize for this inconvenience. Cheers, Sara


We had a great time at Samesun. Courtney at the desk was super helpful. We recommend this one to everybody who wants to chill out at Venice Beach.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback! It's great to hear the our staff were able to help you. Looking forward to your return. Cheers, Sara General Manager


Great hostel! The hostel is clean and tidy. The staff are helpful and fun! I would recommend this hostel for someone looking for a good location in Venice beach.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers for the feedback. It's always great to hear when a guest enjoys their time at the hostel and Venice. Safe travels! Sara General Manager


Will not find accommodation in Venice beach cheaper than this. stayed in a 4 bed dorm twice and both times had an amazing view of the beach and boardwalk. also if you skateboard the skate park is literally 100 metres away... highly recommended!!


Just go to Santa Monica! Trust me!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Venice is a very unique and eclectic community. The arts and culture, as well as the spectacle should not be missed! Make sure you stop by Venice even if you stay in Santa Monica. Cheers, Sara General Manager


Pros: great location, friendly staff, felt safe Cons: the bedroom was cold (apparently a problem with heating), there were no city maps available when I asked and there seemed to be no way to produce more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback. There were some unexpected cold spells in Venice this winter, as well as some heating issues which are getting attended to. New blankets have also been purchased. Glad that the staff were able to help you. There are no LA city maps, but we do have maps for both Venice and Santa Monica. Cheers and safe travels, Sara General Manager


My stay here was really awesome! Dominic, the director of fun, lead us on some memorable trips around the area including bike rides to Temescal Canyon for a hike and the next day, Hermosa Beach for lunch. Highly recommend Samesun Venice Beach!

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


Loved the free breakfast, especially pancakes! Activities during day seemed like great idea and taking out groups in the evening for food/open mic nights really lovely - would have taken advantage of this more had we been here longer but took a while to get over the jet lag! Showers temp was a bit dodgy. Wifi was great and staff were all really helpful. Would recomend and stay again.

  • 1st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great feedback. It's always great to hear when people take advantage of the daily activities that we offer. It's a great way to get to know Venice and meet new people. Cheers and safe travels, Sara General Manager


Most of the staff was friendly, but the manager(they reluctantly gave our her name Abby) was extremely rude and when we went back to pick up our luggage verbally attacked my son and said he had not stayed the prior night because he didn't have a key. The other workers informed her she was wrong and that we had both stayed in the hostel the night before, but instead of apologizing she told us to leave. Hostelworld is great, but should not be associated with Samesun Venice until Abby is fired.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback. To clarify to anyone who is reading the reviews - we do not allow unregistered guests in the hostel for security reasons. We knew that you and your son stayed with us for one night, but the young gentleman that you tried to bring up with you had not, which is why we had to ask him to leave. The staff are instructed to follow these policies - no unregistered guest. I apologize if this was made unclear, but it's a policy we have for the safety of our guests. -Sara


This hostel was pretty good! If you like Venice Beach, it's in a prime location. Having stayed at hostels in both Venice Beach and Hollywood, I would actually say I'd prefer Hollywood for its accessibility. Venice is pretty dead at night, and it's extremely time consuming to travel anywhere via public transportation. That said, no complaints about the hostel. It was comfortable, quiet enough to sleep, and had a decent common area. The staff wasn't overly friendly but they were accommodating.


The hostel is ideally located if you're keen on spending time around Venice Beach, Marina del Rey and Santa Monica, which are really cool areas. The facilities are clean and generally pretty cool and the beds are comfortable. The vibe at the hostel is also pretty great (the staff are all fun). My only criticism is that it is very expensive for what it is.


Hostel is nice enough, would recommend an end suite as fighting for bathrooms is a nightmare. Personally wouldn't stay here again, didn't feel there was much socially to bring people together. Location is amazing though and staff are helpful and friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback. We provide daily and nightly activities to help create a social atmosphere. These activities range from bike rides down to Hermosa Beach to open Mic nights in Venice. Don't forget to ask the staff or take a look at our activities board to see what's happening. Cheers and safe travels. Sara General Manager


Sink was blocked, kitchen is over crowded and the drying plates are really not clean. Cleaners were really friendly. Lots of people seemed to hang around outside our room and the reception area and were very noisy. Venice Beach is a little sketchy at night!


The people/atmosphere and its location is really what makes this hostel. It is exactly on Venice beach making the view from some windows very very beautiful. Only negative is that one of our showers didn't have a proper shower head and it wasn't SUPER clean and one of our rooms wasn't insulated enough and got quite cold at night. It is deffinitaly your place to be if you're an easy going person :)

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


We paid an excessive amount for a private room. In which we had a TV where we got to watch a great blue screen. A mini bar fridge bed side table that didn't work, and a door that took at least 5 minutes to unlock due to the faulty lock. Bathrooms were very unclean and the showers had minimal pressure. When trying to leave one of the desk staff was more interested in talking up one of the guests and taking up the whole stairwell rather than moving to one side.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback. The cable company is currently upgrading our boxes, which means that they are not at full capacity until the new boxes are installed, as stated on the tvs. I do apologize if this was made unclear. The lock on your room has been reviewed by maintenance - all seems to be working well now. Hopefully you enjoyed your time in Venice despite some of these issues. Safe travels. -Sara General Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(98 results)

View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback