X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Samesun Venice Beach Reviews

25 Windward Ave, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, California, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1489 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

26%

This place SUCKS

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

if have more restroom is better~


94%

Great location directly on the beach, unfortunately they don't have a common area (e.g, a roof garden) where you could enjoy this marveleous place.


80%

The beds aren't very comfy but it is a hostel, the main problem tho is that the water pressure is so weak it's hard to shower and also the hot water wasn't hot it was barely warm so if that could be fixed if would be much better..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We will follow with these areas that need our attention. Cheers and safe travels! Sara, General Manager

83%

Nice hostel, however when we talk about breakfast... i'm so sorry but there isn't

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. Our breakfast is between 7:30 -9:00am daily, includes toast, fruit, coffee and tea. Cheers and Safe Travels Sara, General Manager

71%

Not enough toilets...and the room smelled awful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. Soon we will be adding additional amenities, such a more washroom facilities. Cheers and safe travels. Sara, General Manager

77%

FOUND THE STAFF TO BE VERY HELPFULL. I WOULD RECOMMEND SAMSUN VENICE BEACH

  • 11th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback. Hope to see you next time you are in Venice. Cheers and safe travels. Sara, General Manager

91%

Great hostel, with great people. Every night they have an event, so you get to know a lot of people in the hostel. It is about an hour walk towards Santa Monica pier, but it is a nice walk. There also busses nearby. At night they say it is not that safe, so you shouldn't be walking by yourself. They have a wonderfull security system and don't let anyone in they don't trust. Good kitchen, but also nice restaurants nearby. Breakfast was allright. One day they ran out of bread...


86%

Pretty good hostel overall. Easy to get to, fun activities at night and pretty good atmosphere. Mindful that 1.5 hours by bus from Hollywood. Staff are all pretty cool and laid back except one American chick at reception who was a bit rude (Abby I think). Otherwise great stay, highly recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback. LA is quite large and takes a while to commute between places. We recommend HostelHoppper - they offer a shuttle to and from Venice and Hollywood for $15 roundtrip. Cheers and safe travels. -Sara, General Manager

100%

Have been traveling around America for a while now and this is by far the best hostel we stayed at. Staff were excellent especially Kate who was always willing to help and organize social events. If you're traveling to LA do yourself a favor and stay here! Highly recommend! Marco polo

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for the feedback! Kate has done a great job as our new activities coordinator. Hope to see you during your next visit to LA. Cheers and safe travel. -Sara, General Manager

97%

Fantastic place to stay, pretty much right at the beach. Highly recommend.

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to hear such positive feedback! Hope to see you during your next visit to LA. Cheers and safe travels. -Sara General Manager

91%

Nice hostel right in Venice, some of the rooms even have ocean view. Staff is very helpful and nice. There is breakfast included, but it's nothing special. Overall a very nice and clean hostel, would recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. It is always a great to hear about our guests' positive experiences with us. Cheers and safe travels. -Sara, General Manager

100%

However, got a parkn tx in five min load zone when i ran upstairs for a FEW MINUTES ONLY LA TRAFFIC COP to get bag from storage closet at 4 pm on my check out day:(

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback. Sorry to hear about the parking ticket - the 5 minute passenger loading zone outside the hostel is generally okay! Please don't hesitate to contact the hostel directly if you need any assistance fighting the ticket. Cheers and Safe travels -Sara, General Manager

89%

Staff are helpful.... awful vibe can't really drink inside the hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. Hopefully you were able to enjoy the nightly activities that we offer, which start within the hostel, but then do head out to venues other than our common room. A Samesun favorite is Wednesday Night Improv Comedy. Cheers and Safe Travels. -Sara, General Manager

74%

we stay in a room of 8 people, and there was bevy bad smell, the room has no ventilation, beside that everything was ok, good place to meet new people at the common area. the personal was grate also

  • 13th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. We will be doing a follow up in regards to the 8 bed dorms. Glad that you were able to enjoy yourself in our welcoming atmosphere. Cheers and safe travels. -Sara, General Manager

97%

Chill atmosphere, location is prime, and the staff are unreal - shout out to Abbey! I had loads of fun here the week I stayed, and definitely heading back at the end of my trip.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. Glad that we were able to make your travel experience memorable. Your shout out to Abby will definitely be passed along. Looking forward to your return! Cheers and safe travels. -Sara, General Manager

94%

Awesome hostel. Super friendly staff and a great location. Met some really cool people there and had a blast. Even though the common room is small it is a great place too meet people and go out and get on it!!! definitely recommend.

  • 11th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback! Our guests are always good fun! Cheers and safe travels Sara, General Manager

100%

Looooooveeee this hostel to bits. Amazing location right on Venice beach. Close to everything you need - coffee shops, bars, shops and markets. Super friendly and awesome staff who were really helpful on providing all the info you need. We moved to west hollywood for a couple nights but ended up coming back to Samesun because of its great atmosphere. Will definitely be coming back soon!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome feedback! Our location definitely cannot be beat and it's always great to hear the our staff helped you out. Looking forward to your return! Cheers and safe travels -Sara, General Manager

100%

This was like a paradise right on the beach, the views were amazing! They offer awesome nightly activities to check out the city with other cool backpackers. Abby was so nice and helpful! I've had such a good experience with the Samesun hostels and this one kept up the reputation. Clean rooms, fun atmosphere and friendly staff right across the board. Thanks Samesun!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for the feedback! One of the favorite activities is the Improv on Melrose -cool backpackers enjoying star studded comedy! Cheers and Safe travels -Sara, General Manager

83%

The shower water is cold. Good location and friendly people.

  • 1st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. We recently had some issues regarding the water to building, which was attended to. We are monitoring the issue, and will continue to do so. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the location and the friendly vibe! Cheers and safe travels Sara General Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(47 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback