X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Samesun Venice Beach Reviews

25 Windward Ave, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1778 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Stayed one night. The staff was friendly and the location is nice to explore Venice Beach. Overall a nice stay.


100%

We had a great time at Samesun. Courtney at the desk was super helpful. We recommend this one to everybody who wants to chill out at Venice Beach.


100%

Great hostel! The hostel is clean and tidy. The staff are helpful and fun! I would recommend this hostel for someone looking for a good location in Venice beach.


49%

Just go to Santa Monica! Trust me!


91%

Pros: great location, friendly staff, felt safe Cons: the bedroom was cold (apparently a problem with heating), there were no city maps available when I asked and there seemed to be no way to produce more.


97%

My stay here was really awesome! Dominic, the director of fun, lead us on some memorable trips around the area including bike rides to Temescal Canyon for a hike and the next day, Hermosa Beach for lunch. Highly recommend Samesun Venice Beach!

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Loved the free breakfast, especially pancakes! Activities during day seemed like great idea and taking out groups in the evening for food/open mic nights really lovely - would have taken advantage of this more had we been here longer but took a while to get over the jet lag! Showers temp was a bit dodgy. Wifi was great and staff were all really helpful. Would recomend and stay again.

  • 1st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

Most of the staff was friendly, but the manager(they reluctantly gave our her name Abby) was extremely rude and when we went back to pick up our luggage verbally attacked my son and said he had not stayed the prior night because he didn't have a key. The other workers informed her she was wrong and that we had both stayed in the hostel the night before, but instead of apologizing she told us to leave. Hostelworld is great, but should not be associated with Samesun Venice until Abby is fired.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback. To clarify to anyone who is reading the reviews - we do not allow unregistered guests in the hostel for security reasons. We knew that you and your son stayed with us for one night, but the young gentleman that you tried to bring up with you had not, which is why we had to ask him to leave. The staff are instructed to follow these policies - no unregistered guest. I apologize if this was made unclear, but it's a policy we have for the safety of our guests. -Sara

71%

This hostel was pretty good! If you like Venice Beach, it's in a prime location. Having stayed at hostels in both Venice Beach and Hollywood, I would actually say I'd prefer Hollywood for its accessibility. Venice is pretty dead at night, and it's extremely time consuming to travel anywhere via public transportation. That said, no complaints about the hostel. It was comfortable, quiet enough to sleep, and had a decent common area. The staff wasn't overly friendly but they were accommodating.


83%

The hostel is ideally located if you're keen on spending time around Venice Beach, Marina del Rey and Santa Monica, which are really cool areas. The facilities are clean and generally pretty cool and the beds are comfortable. The vibe at the hostel is also pretty great (the staff are all fun). My only criticism is that it is very expensive for what it is.


66%

Hostel is nice enough, would recommend an end suite as fighting for bathrooms is a nightmare. Personally wouldn't stay here again, didn't feel there was much socially to bring people together. Location is amazing though and staff are helpful and friendly.


71%

Sink was blocked, kitchen is over crowded and the drying plates are really not clean. Cleaners were really friendly. Lots of people seemed to hang around outside our room and the reception area and were very noisy. Venice Beach is a little sketchy at night!


83%

The people/atmosphere and its location is really what makes this hostel. It is exactly on Venice beach making the view from some windows very very beautiful. Only negative is that one of our showers didn't have a proper shower head and it wasn't SUPER clean and one of our rooms wasn't insulated enough and got quite cold at night. It is deffinitaly your place to be if you're an easy going person :)

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

We paid an excessive amount for a private room. In which we had a TV where we got to watch a great blue screen. A mini bar fridge bed side table that didn't work, and a door that took at least 5 minutes to unlock due to the faulty lock. Bathrooms were very unclean and the showers had minimal pressure. When trying to leave one of the desk staff was more interested in talking up one of the guests and taking up the whole stairwell rather than moving to one side.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback. The cable company is currently upgrading our boxes, which means that they are not at full capacity until the new boxes are installed, as stated on the tvs. I do apologize if this was made unclear. The lock on your room has been reviewed by maintenance - all seems to be working well now. Hopefully you enjoyed your time in Venice despite some of these issues. Safe travels. -Sara General Manager

97%

Loved this place! Best hostel we stayed at in America by far!


80%

The location on venice beach is brilliant. I had a room at the back so it was quiet but dark, which was good as I needed sleep. So much gping on in Venice beach, you may as well spend time out there. Staff very friendly.


94%

I only stayed one night, but it was a pretty good hostel overall. The room and bathroom were clean and the staff were friendly. There wasn't as much going on the night I was there, but the people were certainly chill enough. You can't beat the location though with beautiful beach views.


83%

Bit pricey for a hostel (maybe that's just LA). We stayed in a private room with a shared bathroom. Bed really comfy compared to other hostels. Shower not very hot. Free pancakes


97%

Best place, best people working there, good vibes!


100%

Amazing Location, Free parking all around the area very easy to find. Very friendly staff, 100%


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(93 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback