X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Samesun Venice Beach Reviews

25 Windward Ave, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1623 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Had to give this a full rating! Amazing view from my window and common area window. Awesome atmosphere in such a buzzing location there's always something to do. Would definitely stay again! Rooms were warm but it's California, can't really complain about amazing sunny weather at the beach!


100%

What a hostel!! Right in the heart of Venice Beach. Super friendly staff that were happy to help with anything I asked! Lots of fun activities to get involved with around the city, or if you are feeling lazy the common room was a great place to meet new people and have a few drinks. Clean facilities and comfy beds, cannot wait to head back there!


86%

Excellent location, just in front of the beach, good staff and good rooms. Good experience!


97%

very friendly staff made for a very enjoyable stay

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Really didn't like this hostel. It was really unclean and dated. We stayed in a USA hostel before this and it was luxury compared to this one. The sheets were clean, that was about it. Towels were frayed and had holes in, the room had dust all around the corners. The bathrooms had mould in them and were not clean. No air conditioning and couldn't shut the window (there was a headache causing noise like when you keep one window open in the car). Also noisy. Not a pleasant stay at all!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback. We are staffed 24 hours a day to make sure all issues can be brought to our attention - cleanliness being one of them. We clean our hostel -rooms, bathrooms, common areas etc.. daily but please to don't hesitate to let us know of an area that needs our attention. Hopefully you enjoyed the rest of your time in Venice. Safe travels, Sara, General Manager

97%

Really nice location on Venice Beach. Great social atmosphere and really helpful staff.


66%

The location is definitely the selling point for this hostel. I've stayed in lots of hostels & this has room for improvement. Dorm was like an oven, could hardly sleep it was so hot. Only two bathrooms (and no separate toilets) per floor so always waiting. Small kitchen and living area. No laundry facilities though I believe there are plans to put these in. Dorm was an ok size. No secure room for leaving luggage - the room where you leave bags is open for anyone in hostel to access.


91%

very close to beach, good price, a lot homeless people in the night around


51%

Not very good value for price. Run down facility. No air conditioning. Dirty bathrooms. Disappointing breakfast. Staff had no idea how to make coffee. Very disappointed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback. Sorry to hear that you that you were disappointed. We value each and every guest and are staffed 24 hours a day to make sure everything is in order - cleanliness being one of them. For future guest reading: our breakfast includes toast, drip coffee, tea, oatmeal and oranges. Hopefully you were still able to enjoy what Venice has to offer. Safe travels Sara, General Manager

54%

although the room with bath was ok but to small for four Person. Also not nice the vending machine was in the stairwell and the heat of the Refrigerator was released to the stairwell what caused the stairwell to be hot.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback. To clarify, we do have our drink vending machine down the stairs near the entrance- accessible for departures and arrivals. We also have fans to help fight the Venice heat all throughout the hostel, the stairwell being one of them. Hopefully you spent more time on the beach than in the stairwell. Safe Travels Sara,

94%

All very personable. Any needs were worked out right away

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

This place is great. If you can afford to stay here you must. Stay in Vegas after to balance out the cost per night! Right on the boardwalk and by food places. Neat kitchen in hostel. My room had a great view of the sea, maybe you can request this! 2 hour bus journey (or 30 min uber) from downtown LA, but worth it - LA is a dump. Be careful around the greyhound, get a bus or taxi to the Main Street in downtown. This walk was the only place to scare a 22 year old guy in 7 weeks of travel.


91%

This was my first time staying in a hostel, and it was far better than I expected. It was very clean. The kitchen had everything I needed to prepare food. However, the lounge is fairly small for how many people they have staying there. But it's a small, older building, and I'm sure they did the best they could with the space they have.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

A brilliant location next to the Venice Boardwalk and the beach. Beautiful weather and great staff that helped me finding everything I need withing a 30 minute travel. They even arranged movie tickets at the AMC Dine-in theater which is a must see when you are around.

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

It is an expensive place for a hostel, but the location is excellent and the staf very friendly!!


100%

GREAT location steps away from the beach. The bathrooms were super clean and it was easy to get in and out during the day. A little loud outside during the day, but plenty quiet at night.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

We booked a mixed 4 bedroom shared bathroom for one night during July. There was one small window which opened to the center of the entire building, with no airflow. Air conditioning was not included throughout the entire establishment.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. With the summer months, Venice does get quite hot. We do rely on the ocean breeze and the fans to cool down the hostel-- we are a heritage building which means certain amenities aren't possible, like air conditioning. We are staffed 24 hours a day to attend to any issue and help where we can- this means providing additional fans when able. Cheers and safe travels!

91%

Had a very enjoyable night stay at Samesun. Staff are friendly, Facilities are good and a nice backpacker atmosphere. This place is 100x better than Venice Beach Hostel so if you are trying to make a decision between the 2.. Choose Samesun!


91%

The room was really clean and spacious. .breakfast was really good. .it is the best on Venice Beach


86%

Wonderful hostel - have stayed there twice now and would stay there again! Definitely better off booking the earlier the cheaper. Only downfall is the closest laundry is a 20 minute walk away.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(65 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback