X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Samesun Venice Beach Reviews

25 Windward Ave, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2245 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

Overpriced & dirty, one of the worst hostels I've been too. No idea how it has such a high rating. Stains on the carpet, white splotches on the headboard of the bed, strange smell, brown stains on the ceiling fan, short & uncomfortable bed, dusty...not a comfortable place to stay. Too make it worse, many of the rooms, including ours, had no window too the outside, only to a tiny indoor roofed courtyard (a few m2 in diameter). Few pros: location, decent breakfast, nice manager. Go somewhere else.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear about your stay with us. We have daily housekeeping to ensure the hostel is clean and well presented. Our carpets are cleaned monthly, however we are looking to upgrade the flooring to something more modern. As for the beds, they are standard size. We have, however, recently purchased new mattresses and should be arriving end of the month! Safe travels, Sara General Manager

97%

Just thought the pink purple hair chick was a bit rude but other than that (& the awful bed I was sleeping on) the hostel is unreal. Dominic is awesome, breakfast is pretty sweet, location is absolute mint - right on the beach. Jays surf shop next door pretty much made me fall in love with a Cali boy, dopest guy ever & super cheap rentals. I'll be back for sure!


97%

Dominic was awesome!!!


91%

Perfect location, clean rooms and easy to meet people. Really enjoyed my stay in Venice

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Rooms' temperature was very cold; they had no extra blankets; showers were hot only from 6 to 6.30am; no tables where to eat in the lounge room.

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

A great hostel and as well very cheap, just not enough bathrooms.

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I had a great stay, wish it could be longer! I definitelly recommend this hostel over the Samesun in Hollywood - better breakfast, better facilities. Venice Beach is beautiful and the hostel is almost right next to the Broadwalk. I stayed in mixed dorm with private batroom and it was good and clean.


91%

Enjoyed my stay at Samesun Venice, had a private double room. Fridge and tv in the room with our own sink was a bonus. All the staff were helpful and friendly, only disappointing part was during peak times the showers tended to be cold. Besides that would definitely recommend this hostel as it has a friendly vibe and great location!


74%

Great location, right on the beach, near a few bars. Facilities are good and kept clean, however it is a mile or so from the nearest laundry with no washing machines on site. Staff are friendly and answer questions when asked. Veinice hasn't got loads to do. So either rent a bike or find out about bus routes to see things.

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Seriously loved the pancake breakfast!!

  • 20th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff were always so helpful and all the other guests were lovely. The kitchen is always clean as were the bathrooms. The bedding was very clean and I genuinely felt very safe in the hotel. It's a great location if you want to be close to the beach and Santa Monica, it's a bit of a bus ride to Hollywood but doable. It is however quite a distance from Disney. Asides from that I loved it.

  • 18th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Absolutely fantastic location at a great price. Would definitely stay again. Note that even if you are a US citizen you need to have a passport with you at check-in.


71%

Stayed 3 nights, good location if staying during beach season, other than that no real dramas, they could do with some better events, even if it is just drinking.

  • 14th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. For those reading we have nightly activities that are hosted. Make sure to check them out and ask the front desk staff for information regarding these events. Most of them start around 6pm! Cheers and safe travels, Sara General Manager

100%

Great stay... Awesome for a party...

  • 10th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Greet location and awesome group activities. Great value for the money


94%

Everything you could wish for in a hostel. Stayed there a few different times and always had a good experience. Also want to give an extra thanks to Abby in the reception, you made our stay!

  • 7th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Loved this hostel! So close to the beach, you can see it from the common room. Staff were really helpful, there's activities each day and suggestions on what to do around Venice/LA. Really easy to meet people. Would recommend booking room with ensuite, otherwise there's only a couple of bathrooms on each floor. Would definitely stay here again!


74%

The Wifi is very poor. Rooms could do with better cleaning, Someone had stuck gum on the shelf beside the lamp in the top bunk that i was occupying , it had not been removed by the cleaning staff . windows were also filthy.


100%

Very clean, awesome location, awesome energetic and friendly staff! Great hostel recommend for sure


89%

This place is all about the location because it's fantastic. The hostel is right in the beach! Facilities are good and the staff are very friendly, would most deff come back if I'm ever in LA again.


(136 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback