X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Samesun Venice Beach Reviews

25 Windward Ave, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2018 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Really didn't rate this hostel, common area was tiny so hard to meet people. Venice beach sucks in my opinion. hostel is very clean tland safe that's all I can give them.


94%

Location is perfect! I met some awesome people, staff are sweet. Breakfast was a good perk as well. Will stay here again.

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Excellent knowledge from staff on desk and very efficient

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Needs a chair and table in ensuite room. Tea and coffee would be nice if available in kitchen,.

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Awesome location. Very satisfied with the cleanliness and room layout. I thought the nightlife activity could have been coordinated a little better, as we got to the bar and it kind of felt like a "You're on your own." But the guy taking us on the tour asked me to buy him a beer which I thought a bit unprofessional (it's one thing for me to want to buy you a drink). That's really the only thing I can pick out of this place and at the end of the day it's not that big a deal. Good stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Glad that you enjoyed the hostel and the amenities! I will follow up with the activities department to ensure that there is a group/community feel during the activity, as that is the point - to enjoy Venice with the guests from the hostel! Cheers and safe travels! Sara General Manager

100%

We had a fantastic stay at Samesun. All the staff were great. They were friendly and very helpful. The location of Samesun is just the best! I would recommend it to anyone. Only small issue was that because of some renovations being underway the noise from the office travelled up to our room through the window but I'm sure that will be sorted soon enough. A unique experience for me as I've never stayed in a hostel before. Thanks heaps jan brown

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

My sister and I have both stayed in many hostels all over Europe & America, & this is by far the best! The location is the best & the atmosphere during the day is like no other!Rooms are cleaned daily & you feel safe and comfortable in them! The staff are the friendliest hostel staff I've ever met! Especially Jordan &the silver haired girl :D. I've stayed at the another hostel in Venice and also a hostel in SM, but this is by far the best!! In Fact we left our hostel in Hollywood just to come bk

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Friendly and professional staff created a great environment and encouraged meeting other travelers. Great hostel security too with staffed reception 24hrs which only opens the door for guests with a roomkey. Facilities are out-dated however, showers are pretty bad but that is my only issue. Would definitely reccomend :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback. We are currently in the process of updating the hostel - we have started with the private rooms and will soon be moving to the shared spaces and dorm rooms - new bedding, additional amenities and added items to the room to provide an updated service. Hopefully next time you are in Venice you'll be able to take advantage! Cheers and safe travels, Sara General Manager

74%

Great location


89%

I enjoyed my stay at this hostel and it had a good atmosphere. The location is awesome and the staff people are nice. Especially Jordan is quite a character and THE real living legend. I would recommend to stay at this place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback. Glad that you enjoyed your stay and the staff were a memorable part of your stay! Cheers and safe travels, Sara General Manager

91%

Very great location, learn to surf for 70$ right next door, guarantee to stand. Staff friendly n safe facility, may be frightening for some ppl if not used to ppl around all night. Our sink was clogged but it was fixed the next day but we had a bathroom n shower in our 4 bed dorm all female. Overall wonderful hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. Glad to hear the you enjoyed your time in Venice and took advantage of all the great activities - including surfing! Sorry to hear about the plumbing issue - I am glad that it was attended to quickly. Cheers and safe travels, Sara General Manager

97%

Lovely staff! And good location!


77%

Excellent hub for exploring the area. Decent showers and secure entry system to the building. Most staff are quite nice. This isn't a very social hostel,, alright if you are with friends though.

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. Glad you enjoyed your time with us. We do offer daily and nightly activities that help bring the guest together -such as sharing a jug at sunset (Monday night) or biking along the boardwalk (Wednesday day). Hope to see you next time you are in Venice! Cheers and safe travels, Sara General Manager

80%

The hostel is in a really good location, we just found our room to be extremely stuffy with no fresh air and the common room is tiny which makes it difficult to hang out in to meet other people staying at the hostel. And with no wifi in the rooms the common room was often crowded with no where to sit.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback. We have just upgraded our wifi network, with the ability to reach all rooms in the hostel, as well as provide a stronger signal. Hopefully next time you are in Venice you'll notice a difference! Cheers and safe travels, Sara GM

69%

The atmosphere was great in the common room however no hot water at all and the bathrooms were not the cleanest. Still good to be right on the beach though

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback. We are currently in the process of making changes to how we can improve the water situation, especially during peak times! Hopefully next time you are in Venice you'll stay with us and be able to experience the upgrades! Cheers and safe travels, Sara General Manager

69%

Okay hostel. A bit smelly and loud, but friendly staff and awesome location.


89%

Awesome location, had a perfect view of the beach from my room. Staff were hit and miss with regards to activities, the rooms were cleaned daily and to a good standard. Overall a good a good place to stay as long as you have done washing before hand as the hostel doesn't have laundry facilities.


100%

Rad location, met some awesome people. Staff were helpful. I'll be back here for sure.


57%

Despite the location it's not worth the money. Next time in LA I'll book another place.

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback. Sorry to hear that the hostel wasn't a good fit for you. Hopefully you were still able to enjoy LA and take advantage of what we offer - daily and nightly activities, free breakfast, wifi and helpful staff. Cheers and safe travels, Sara General Manager

100%

Great time!

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(122 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback