X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Samesun Venice Beach Reviews

25 Windward Ave, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1882 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Excelent place! Perfect location, would totally recommend it and I'm definitely staying here next time.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

It's a really good hostel with a great atmosphere. Especially if you're travelling alone you'll have a lot of people to connect with as there is a big common area where people gather. The free breakfast (Pancakes, Toasts, Oranges, & Coffee) has the very basics, but you wouldn't need more. The kitchen is well supplied and so you can also cook for yourself if you want to avoid the expensive but good Venice Beach fast food. You won't find a better deal when it comes to location+price.


91%

If you are looking for the full Venice experience this is the place to go. With great staff and atmosphere there is no question you will feel welcome at this place! Get ready make friends, party until the break of dawn and see the most beautiful sunset of your life. Location is as central as it could come and you will be safely locket away in the hostel for it's security and 24 hour reception is always on guard. If you ask me this is the LA experience!


100%

Seriously the best place! Great for anyone on their first time in la! Everyone is really friendly and it's accessible to so much, and the free brekkie is the goods.

  • 8th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Was a friendly place, facilities were kept clean and great location. Staff werr great recommending and helping set up uber of cheap cabs and helped answer any other questions.


86%

Arrived from a long international flight at 7:30 am and check in wasn't untill 3pm, but the manager was amazing and got us in early, even upgraded us to a private room.. Great location, helpful staff (except for the morning guy who pumps Kanye at 6:30am- that cray!!) clean, safe rooms. Perfect for what we were after


60%

The only place you can get wifi is in the hallway next to the ATM. Is it that hard to get a few routers and place them near the rooms?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback. Unfortunately we did have some of the wifi equipment out of order (which was sent in to get repaired) for a little bit. The part that was sent in did help distribute the signal throughout the hostel. I apologize for this inconvenience, and that the wifi in the common areas was insufficient. Hopefully you were able to enjoy the Venice beaches and sunshine! Cheers, Sara

80%

Stayed one night. The staff was friendly and the location is nice to explore Venice Beach. Overall a nice stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. Glad you enjoyed your time at the hostel and Venice. Cheers and safe travels, Sara GM

80%

internet never works

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Decent hostel, but it could do with a bit of a makeover... What annoyed me the most is the cold showers! By 10am, not hot water whatsoever.


69%

Although this was an ok hostel I would not advise people because their wifi is so bad you can not call it wifi, they have a router but that's it you can not use it for anything. Therefor I think it is bad value for money because it is a ripoff if they not invest in a good internet connection for the traveler who has to plan a schedule everything online. It is 100 bucks per month to get good internet if they are not willing to do that it is bad customer service.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. We do have several routers and portals. Unfortunately we did have some of the wifi equipment out of order for a little bit. The part that was sent in did help distribute the signal throughout the hostel. During your stay it was out getting repaired, our attempt to fix the issue as quickly as we could, for the benefit of our valued guests. I do apologize for this inconvenience. Cheers, Sara

100%

We had a great time at Samesun. Courtney at the desk was super helpful. We recommend this one to everybody who wants to chill out at Venice Beach.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback! It's great to hear the our staff were able to help you. Looking forward to your return. Cheers, Sara General Manager

100%

Great hostel! The hostel is clean and tidy. The staff are helpful and fun! I would recommend this hostel for someone looking for a good location in Venice beach.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers for the feedback. It's always great to hear when a guest enjoys their time at the hostel and Venice. Safe travels! Sara General Manager

94%

Such a fun place in a great location! Staff were amazing! Certainly a place I'd return to. They organise cheap dinners & events.


89%

Will not find accommodation in Venice beach cheaper than this. stayed in a 4 bed dorm twice and both times had an amazing view of the beach and boardwalk. also if you skateboard the skate park is literally 100 metres away... highly recommended!!


49%

Just go to Santa Monica! Trust me!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Venice is a very unique and eclectic community. The arts and culture, as well as the spectacle should not be missed! Make sure you stop by Venice even if you stay in Santa Monica. Cheers, Sara General Manager

91%

Pros: great location, friendly staff, felt safe Cons: the bedroom was cold (apparently a problem with heating), there were no city maps available when I asked and there seemed to be no way to produce more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback. There were some unexpected cold spells in Venice this winter, as well as some heating issues which are getting attended to. New blankets have also been purchased. Glad that the staff were able to help you. There are no LA city maps, but we do have maps for both Venice and Santa Monica. Cheers and safe travels, Sara General Manager

97%

My stay here was really awesome! Dominic, the director of fun, lead us on some memorable trips around the area including bike rides to Temescal Canyon for a hike and the next day, Hermosa Beach for lunch. Highly recommend Samesun Venice Beach!

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Loved the free breakfast, especially pancakes! Activities during day seemed like great idea and taking out groups in the evening for food/open mic nights really lovely - would have taken advantage of this more had we been here longer but took a while to get over the jet lag! Showers temp was a bit dodgy. Wifi was great and staff were all really helpful. Would recomend and stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great feedback. It's always great to hear when people take advantage of the daily activities that we offer. It's a great way to get to know Venice and meet new people. Cheers and safe travels, Sara General Manager

31%

Most of the staff was friendly, but the manager(they reluctantly gave our her name Abby) was extremely rude and when we went back to pick up our luggage verbally attacked my son and said he had not stayed the prior night because he didn't have a key. The other workers informed her she was wrong and that we had both stayed in the hostel the night before, but instead of apologizing she told us to leave. Hostelworld is great, but should not be associated with Samesun Venice until Abby is fired.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback. To clarify to anyone who is reading the reviews - we do not allow unregistered guests in the hostel for security reasons. We knew that you and your son stayed with us for one night, but the young gentleman that you tried to bring up with you had not, which is why we had to ask him to leave. The staff are instructed to follow these policies - no unregistered guest. I apologize if this was made unclear, but it's a policy we have for the safety of our guests. -Sara

(95 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback