X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Samesun Venice Beach Reviews

25 Windward Ave, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
2016 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Nice staff, nice location, nice atmosphere, great break fast as well!


97%

Great location, clean rooms and toilets would stay again! But a minus for the uncomfy beds could feel the steal springs through the mattress


83%

I had an amazing stay at Samesun! the staff and visitors alike were fantastic. I loved all the planned events each night.

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

This hostel is in an awesome location and the staff are super friendly. The showers and wifi here are THE WORST though (no hot water at any time of day, the wifi works in 1 specific corner of a hallway - which sucks if you're trying to book more travel etc, as its hard to know if something is confirmed when the wifi drops out mid-transaction). However, the place is clean, the breakfast is decent and everything in Venice Beach is at your doorstep

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

I thought the staff was ok but they never answered my questions or request right away. I always had to insist. I really enjoyed my private room with tv, fridge and an amazing view of venice beach.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback. We take pride in our customer service and we will definitely follow up to ensure that all questions are answered promptly and with as much information as possible. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the amenities offered! Cheers and safe travels, Sara GM

86%

Great hostel, nice rooms, best location in Venice!


77%

Good to stay in the beach and make friends. Not so clean but rooms have its own bathroom and it has an easy access to town if you have a car. Great free parking spots through the night

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

Please bring wifi to all rooms!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback. We started upgrading our wifi last week, and the project should be completed very shortly. It will help with making wifi accessible all throughout the hostel. Cheers and safe travels. Sara, General Manager

100%

I arrived in the hostel right after having landed in LA after a long trip from London, and I could not be better welcomed! Greg explained me everything there was to know about the place and the activities organized by the hostel. Immediately after I got to my dorm, I was invited to go out for drinks and playing pool and met very cool people! I even got a free surf lesson during my stay by a british guy. Just if you have a car, this is not the easiest place to get free parking.

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Given bad directions to the hostel as instructed on this site. Waited at the bus stop for 45 minutes before asking a bus driver if the bus was still running. Took a taxi (30 dollars) as the bus had stopped and received an apathetic apology. Other staff were very helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback.. Sorry to hear about this unfortunate situation. We have pre printed instructions on the majority of attractions - what buses to take, where to get on/off etc... to prevent any incident like this one. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience and will follow up with the front desk staff. Cheers and safe travels, Sara General Manager

100%

Staff really helpful!!!!


86%

Amazing location right on Venice Beach in the thick of it! Be warned there are a massive flight of stairs to get up to the hostel, great for security, not so good for weary arms!Overall nice place, common area to sit and meet people, they do events every night which would mean making friends is easy!They have a quiet time between 11 and 7 but I had some idiots in my room come in at 4am talking loudly but Prob just bad luck! I didn't get female only though I'd booked that so make sure you check


89%

Great staff and great vibe. Best location I've ever seen for a Hostel and the staff always have something for you to do. There's a great common room that everyone hangs out in and socialises and Dominic (the local Californian guy) is unreal at showing people around and making sure everyone enjoys themselves.

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location and great vibe! So glad we stayed here. The guy who checked us in was great, told us to mention him by name if we were happy with our service. We were 100% satisfied, but I forget his name! He was maybe Australian, long hair and very helpful and enthusiastic!

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

A friend recommended me this place last minute. Very friendly and helpful staff, Nic and the rest of the team. Prompt answer about check in time over email. Quite safe and easy accesible from LAX and Santa Monica. Decent common areas where one can meet bunch of cool people. Only small issue was cranky internet connection...

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Classic hostel experience with great friendly staff and while I was there one of them took us on an outing like cycling up the sea-front. Living room has a great view of the beach and is conducive to conversation - met lots of fun travellers!

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

If I do go back I will defiantly stay there. Everything was amazing. The only thing I didn't really like was that they ran out of coffee 2 days around 9am and bread on the 3rd day. I feel that if they say breakfast is 730 until 930 they shouldn't run out 3/4 of the way thru but other then that it was perfect.


80%

In need of a lot more bathrooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Just to clarify, the majority of the rooms have bathrooms within the rooms - the ensuite rooms. The shared bathrooms are for the remaining rooms that do not have this amenity. During peak shower time (right before check out!) is generally the busiest time - best to use them a little before! Cheers and safe travels, Sara, GM

100%

this is definetly a fun hostel with the most friendliest staff (Nic from 'stralia) I've met during my Cali trip. keep going guys


100%

This was my 2nd time staying at Samesun and it was even better than I remember! The staff are so friendly and helpful, big shout out to Abby and Sara who made my trip so great! The hostel is in a fantastic location steps away from the beach, the rooms are spacious and everything was super clean. Security at night made me feel really safe, you had to show your key before being buzzed up. The hostel activities were awesome and a great place to meet people.Amazing hostel! Definitely reccommend!!


(121 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback