Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sol Atacama Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 495 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 495 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Mar 2017
8.6

only spent one night here but it had everything required for a stopover stay. The manager/owner is extremely helpful as well, recommending us a great hostel when he was fully booked. Room basic but comfortable, kitchen basic but did the job and bathroom clean. no issues.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
17th Mar 2017
7.7

Con: as others, we had to wait in front of closed doors for the owner, until a guest let us in. Tiny kitchen. Just a small place in general with only 12 people staying. A little walk into town. Pro: very clean and well taken care of. quiet & a good nights sleep. Certainly not a party hostel, as others suggested. Can be a very fun small place with the right people. On a budget, this is a good, clean, quiet place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
7th Mar 2017
6.9

It's an average hostel but about as good as you'll get if you want anything remotely cheap in Atacama. It's an expensive town and so it's about the cheapest you'll get. The owner is nice, rooms are nice enough and there is a very small kitchen and common area. Wifi is good. Only about 10 minute walk to town and five to the bus station

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
8.3

This is the cheapest hostel i could find in San Pedro and for me, was great. The rooms were clean and secure, the location was fine, just a 10 min walk from the central square and the atmosphere was peaceful (if not a little quiet). I would certainly recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Feb 2017
8.0

For San Pedro this place is perfect. Don't expect much when you get here. For what it's worth and the price I don't know if you will find something better. Very small hostel. Very small kitchen but it did the job. Owner and staff were very very helpful and friendly. There's only one toilet and shower but were very clean and there was plenty of hot water. It's about a 5 min walk into town. The private room was very big and spacious. And there was fast wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2017
7.7

The hostel is a five-minute-walk away from the center and located in a quiet and safe area. The rooms are big and the beds are okay. The common area is simple and and a little bit untidy. The kitchen is small, but well equipped. The stuff is very friendly and helpful!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
5.7

This hostel is cheap and when you are in, you know why. I had hot water just once in 4 days. It's forbidden to smoke in the hostel even if it's outside. It's forbidden to drink a bear inside too. I had internet there just one day. There is just one locker outside. One guy in my room left the hotel because of bed bugs !! The kitchen is very small and don't drink the water (when you will see the color of it, you won't drink it). I was sick all along of my journey. I will not go back there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
12th Jan 2017
8.3

This is a small and quiet hostel very close to the bus station and a 10 minute walk from the centre. The staff is friendly and helpful. My flight got delayed and Marcello opened the door for me at 2:30am. The dorm beds are wide and comfortable. However there are some shortfalls: kitchen is tiny(I don't cook so not a problem), there is 1 bathroom incl. shower each for male and female: more is better. Limited lockers. Overall it is still a pleasant place to stay. I would stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2017
9.4

Staying at Sol de Atacama was like staying at a friend's house. Leo and Marcelo were very helpful in figuring out which tours were best for my time in San Pedro. The hostel was very small, but this made it easy to get to know everyone. The open courtyard was a great place to read and spend down time between treks. The kitchen is very small, but guests are accommodating to people who need to cook. The wifi worked very well and the hostel was in a great spot!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
8th Jan 2017
7.1

Rooms were clean and had lockers, but not enough for number of people. Wifi was pretty good. Tiiiiiny kitchen though, no more than one person could fit in at a time, and the sink's tap was not above the sink but slightly to the side - ridiculous. Only 2 bathrooms - 1 for girls and 1 for boys. On the last day there was no water - though that's not their fault. Overpriced considering there's no breakfast - but that's San Pedro for you!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.