Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sol Atacama Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 482 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 482 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
30th Jan 2017
7.7

The hostel is a five-minute-walk away from the center and located in a quiet and safe area. The rooms are big and the beds are okay. The common area is simple and and a little bit untidy. The kitchen is small, but well equipped. The stuff is very friendly and helpful!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
5.7

This hostel is cheap and when you are in, you know why. I had hot water just once in 4 days. It's forbidden to smoke in the hostel even if it's outside. It's forbidden to drink a bear inside too. I had internet there just one day. There is just one locker outside. One guy in my room left the hotel because of bed bugs !! The kitchen is very small and don't drink the water (when you will see the color of it, you won't drink it). I was sick all along of my journey. I will not go back there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
12th Jan 2017
8.3

This is a small and quiet hostel very close to the bus station and a 10 minute walk from the centre. The staff is friendly and helpful. My flight got delayed and Marcello opened the door for me at 2:30am. The dorm beds are wide and comfortable. However there are some shortfalls: kitchen is tiny(I don't cook so not a problem), there is 1 bathroom incl. shower each for male and female: more is better. Limited lockers. Overall it is still a pleasant place to stay. I would stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2017
9.4

Staying at Sol de Atacama was like staying at a friend's house. Leo and Marcelo were very helpful in figuring out which tours were best for my time in San Pedro. The hostel was very small, but this made it easy to get to know everyone. The open courtyard was a great place to read and spend down time between treks. The kitchen is very small, but guests are accommodating to people who need to cook. The wifi worked very well and the hostel was in a great spot!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Jan 2017
7.1

Rooms were clean and had lockers, but not enough for number of people. Wifi was pretty good. Tiiiiiny kitchen though, no more than one person could fit in at a time, and the sink's tap was not above the sink but slightly to the side - ridiculous. Only 2 bathrooms - 1 for girls and 1 for boys. On the last day there was no water - though that's not their fault. Overpriced considering there's no breakfast - but that's San Pedro for you!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Jan 2017
8.9

Leo (the owner) will go at any length to help you and give you advice. He is very knowledgable about the town and tours (although this information is not displayed in the hostel - you just need to speak with Leo). Rooms and bathrooms were always clean, and linen smelt delightful. I was journeying from SPA to Uyuni and he gave me critical advice regarding the altitude - without it I would have been so ill but thanks to him I was fine! The hostel has everything you need.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Dec 2016
6.9

this is a small and clean hostel, the staff (leo and franco) were friendly and helpful. good location, 5 minutes from the bus station. rooms and beds are good, but the kitchen is bad and only 2 restrooms are not enough, i think it need 1 restroom more at least, and improve the kitchen urgentelly!!! I prefer take out the ping pong table and build a open and practical kitchen, and the current kitchen transform in a mix restroom. I like pingpong, but the table, raquets and Space are not good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • pviglietta15998
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
26th Dec 2016
4.3

Total dump. Even for San Pedro this place was pretty rough. There's no reception and the staff is often nowhere to be found. The kitchen is 6×5 feet and gross. Other guests wandering around and asking you questions as if you worked there cause the staff and owners come and go as they please and no one knows what is going on. Small, crappy common areas. I dont care how cheap it is, this place is abismal ..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Dec 2016
9.4

Fantastic hostel! The atmosphere was great! The owner continuously went above and beyond to make sure we had a great time. He organized a bike trip for free through desert and canyons, with whoever wanted to go from the hostel! Would definitely recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Dec 2016
8.9

The staff was great. Really friendly and helpful. Small hostel. Chill atmosphere. Clean. About a ten minute walk into town. Two minutes from the bus station. My only complaint was the bed wasn't very comfy :(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.