Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Sol Atacama Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 405 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 405 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.3
Sol Atacama Hostel Located at Ignacio Carrera Pinto 664, , San Pedro de Atacama.
Sol Atacama Hostel
Chile
San Pedro de Atacama 8340518 Ignacio Carrera Pinto 664
68% 405
-22.9150571 -68.1949603
Sol Atacama Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Jul 2016
8.3

I had a really great stay at this hostel! I was apprehensive because there were a few negative reviews, but the staff was very friendly and helpful and I had a really positive experience. I was warm at night, the water in the shower was warm (if it wasn't, the staff was quick to fix it), one of the staff members gave me a tour of San Pedro and was really helpful with figuring out what activities to do, and I met some really nice people at the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
6.9

This place was cold! I didn't have any hot water for the 2 nights I was there and not many blankets on the bed. The garden area is lovely though. It's a bit of a walk from the centre but that makes it nice a quiet. It's a cheap place to stay, but you get what you pay for...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
23rd Mar 2016
6.9

Get what you pay for. Staff never there but it's not the end of the world unless your stuck outside. Ting kitchen but can cook yourself. Bit like staying at someone's house as opposed to a hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2016
6.3

It's super cheap, so I guess you get what you're paying for. But staff often isn't around, wifi drops out very often, bathrooms were often out of toilet paper at night. Rooms weren't too well organized (I got woken up at 1am by someone saying I was in the bed they used the night before and I should move somewhere else).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th Mar 2016
5.1

Very poor hostel in terms of facilities and cleanliness (there are rats and cats on top of the roof and full of house flies). The kitchen is a joke. The staff are ok but are rarely at the hostel. Atmosphere is nice since it is such a small hostel. Location is not great but San Pedro is pretty small so you'll be fine (very close to bus terminal). It is a very cheap hostel, so you do get what you pay for. There are better but more expensive alternatives.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2016
8.6

Great hostel doesnt claim to be something its not. Would definitely go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2016
5.7

pros: the owner is very helpful, beds are comfortable and bathrooms are clean. cons: this hostel is among the lower quality hostels in latin america with little character, a ultra-tiny kitchen and terrible location on the edge of town. there are lots of house flies due to open garage in the kitchen. ok for one night if you can't book anything else. much better hostels can be found near the central area for less money

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • macca856009
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
12th Feb 2016
3.7

This is somewhere to go, for cheap, for a night, but longer than that would be hard as it has a very small kitchen and the fridge was not appealing. Toilets were flooding from drains and no one was at reception to meet us. However the staff were helpful when we were unable to pay for accomodation as we only had card and were happy to do a money transfer. Average distance from town, it's not a bad walk in.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Feb 2016
7.7

Good value for the price. Located close to the bus station and a 5-10 ten min walk from the main plaza. Good (mostly warm) showers and nice inner yard to hang out. We got good tips and loads of help with everything from Leo, one of the guys working there, which was great! The only cons are the kitchen (dirty fridge) and it was weird that the staff (mostly the owner) just disappeared for a while and thus sometimes there was no one of the staff when new people arrived or when you needed something.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
10th Feb 2016
5.1

There weren't enough lockers so we had to padlock our valuables in our bags and hope no one would take or slash the bags. The kitchen was absolutely tiny and stank. Although the courtyard was pleasant there was no atmosphere so it was uncomfortable to sit in. My bed was comfortable and the showers were fine. There was no reception, staff were often absent and slightly unhelpful and we felt pressurised to pay lots of money to do the tours through the hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.