X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Inn - Bauhaus Hostel Reviews

135-137 Langestraat, 8000 Bruges (Brugge), Bruges, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
5187 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

This hostel is in an amazing location and there is a great vibe in the bar/reception area with a mix of locals and travellers. The bar and reception area seemed to be always busy, mainly due to the fact that wifi is only available there. I was in a 6 bed female only dorm which had basic facilities, including only 4 working power points. Overall I really enjoyed my stay and met some wonderful people. I will definitely recommend this hostel!


54%

Showers had used pads, used condoms, and hair everywhere. Staff, when asked, said the cleaning people would 'get to it'. Hot water only sometimes in the shower, and water all over the floor in the hallway because staff couldn't be bothered to put up buckets for the leaky roof. Not cool! Our room was clean at least, though the door was wide open sometimes. Breakfast was decent, and the pizza from the bar was delicious. Sweet atmosphere in the common area. Work needs to be done!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Our hostel is located in the historical part of the city and our building is historical treasure as well. That's way we can't fix some things by our-self. But the professional plumbers work at the hostel right now and all work should be done really quickly! Feel free to come again and check it out! Thank you for your comment and I'm glad you enjoyed the atmosphere! And of course I want to apologize for all inconvenience! Safe travels!

94%

Bauhaus it's a good place2stay, seems like an historic hostel now under the brand of St Christophers, which assures quality, rooms OK but there are soo many of them you can get lost easily, common areas and bar OK, staff is nice and friendly, breakfast is all right with bread juice milk, pate and philadelphia cheese, nutella. Location is ok but not prime, you have to walk a little bit to reach city center. Close to city gates and cool windmills. Would stay again here, good value for money!!


86%

Good atmosphere. Some of the staff were so so nice. The guy making the 5 euro pizzas was a bit angry, and it takes ages to get them. Would stay here again though. The bar downstairs is an awesome place to hang out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your opinion about our staff! We trying our the best! I' pretty sure that the bartender wasn't angry! Probably he was busy but the issue will be raised internally! Sorry for that and hopefully next time he will have more time to talk with you :) thank you and take care! see you at the Bauhaus!

91%

for students and young people

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your opinion! Many different people stay with us and we are glad that everybody can find something nice for themselfs as you! Thanks and safe travels!

43%

the facilities are awful and suck, only two plugs in one room. BTW the waiters are nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there and thank you for your review, we are glad that you were please with our staff, this is really important to us. In the smaller rooms we indeed have less power sockets but you can always ask the staff to put up a multiplugs in you room if needed. We also have multiple power sockets in our common area where you can charge your device whilst using it. Thank you, safe travels.

74%

Good facilities with lockers under the beds and separate lights, plugs and a curtain for each bed. Our door wouldn't shut properly though and when I asked staff they didn't seem concerned and told us we could play with it to close it properly. Our food was allow extreeeemeley slow one night and what seemed to be the manager was very rude abouti it instead of accommodating. They had live music some nights and lots of people around so there was always lots going on!

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Its great to hear you had a good time at the Bauhaus. We have a pizza oven that can only hold 4 pizzas at the time and on busy period it can take a while for you order to come. Glad to hear you enjoyed our live events. Safe travels!

91%

Awsome place to stay, great staff and great atmosphere.


100%

Best hostel I've ever been to, really nice experience! Good facilities, awesome atmosphere and friendly staff. Additionally, the city is wonderful.


91%

good location, WC is very clean, the room was good, but the door was creaking very loudly


94%

Wonderful environment... You've got to stay here when you come to Bruges. Loads of activities sponsored by the hostel so it's very easy to meet people.


100%

Loved the atmosphere here and the people were awesome. The pub crawl group the night I went celebrated my birthday and made a lot of great friends.

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

There's no elevator so watch out if you're on the thrid floor with a big suit case! Hopefully, a member of the staff helped me!


66%

This was a good hostel. The staff were nice and helpful, the breakfast was pretty good and the bar next door was really cool. But the rooms and bathrooms were fairly dirty and broken doors everywhere. It was an alright stay for 2 nights but i wouldn't stay any longer than that.


86%

This place is amazing. Atmosphere and interest of staff also location are wonderfull. Especially music and place ıs very nice in the night. Thank you Crıstopher Inn Bauhaus. See you next time again.


94%

St. Christopher's Inn has a friendly and accommodating staff. It was a great place to stay during the off season (April 2014). The only suggestion I would have is to check the facilities a bit more often since I found a nasty band-aid in a particular shower stall, which was there throughout the day.


83%

Excellent stay. Fun social interaction with entertaining free walking tour, beer tasting and pub crawl. Good and clean amenities, comfortable beds, good basic breakfast. Walking distance to Bruges Central Square and Belfry. Highly recommended.


86%

Lotte was a lovely staff membe, though she has left, on the other hand one of the barmen was miserable and failed to reply to a 'how are you?' with more than a begrudging grunt. The lockers were those cage-draws that kind of suck since people could just reach through the bars. The curtained beds were awesome though! What pissed me off was that for some reason ~20 rude québécois 15yr old students were allowed to stay there with their teachers in separate rooms. Kids yelling at 7am isn't cool...


91%

It's a tossup between this hostel and the Kex in Reykajvik Iceland as to which one was best. Bauhaus is definitely the best one I've stayed at in Belgium (by far) and any hostel in the Netherlands. Privacy curtain on solid bunk, comfortable mattress, reading light, large shower, clean, free breakfast, 10-15 minute walk from Center, grocer 2 minute walk from hostel. Security drawer under bunks is spacious, bring your own padlock. Great hostel.


97%

This is a great place to stay in Bruges. There's a bar downstairs, friendly and cool staff, decent music and a good walking distance from everything you could want to see in town. We stayed in the private room that shared kitchen, lounge and bathroom with two other couples and it was fine. Really clean and everything worked just fine.


(227 results)


View all Bruges Hostels

Please give us your feedback