Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Inn - Bauhaus Hostel Reviews

135-137 Langestraat, 8000 Bruges (Brugge), Bruges, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained


6181 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Hostel had a nice bar where it was easy to meet people which was a big thing for me as I was there by myself. Rooms very clean.


Really cool hostel- I really liked the bar here! It was like a tavern and had an awesome atmosphere! The food in the bar was really good and so were the beers on offer. Breakfasts here are surprisingly good for a hostel! It's fairly easy to meet people in the rooms but I guess it's harder to meet them at the bar.


This place isn't super modern, but it is a hostel in the truest sense of the world. Wifi isn't bad, showers are button-timed showers. Beds are quite squeaky and the place is in need of a bit of maintenance. That said, great social area on the ground floor that makes meeting people easy.


The hostel was going through a transition phase and we were placed in an older room that didn't have the st Christopher style of dorm setup (curtains on bunks, power point and light at each bunk, old bunk beds which were not comfy). The wifi is only available in the bar and not in the room. Food menu is only pizza or soup. Bathrooms were unclean and smelly. Showers were 1 stream of water hammering you. The "use it" maps provided were very useful for activities and sites. Would recommend

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank for leaving feedback about your stay. The hostel is indeed going through a transition, with a number of facilities improvements being added over the coming months. These improvements include expanded Wifi availability to all rooms/buildings and the renovation of our older dormitories to contain new beds and room facilities. The shower-head design is also under review to be altered as are some of the cleaning procedures. We appreciate your constructive comments. - The Bauhaus Staff


The hostel is located in a good place in the city. The employees are very nice but we didn't like the room neither the bathrooms. There were just a few toilets and showers for the number of people that stay there for the weekend. The breakfast was simple, but good. The room was clean but thigh. The bed was not so good also. We changed to another hostel in the middle of our travel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank for your review. It has come to our attention that, due to the layout of our building, some guests are having difficulty finding all of our showers and toilets. Because of this we are creating new facilities signs that will allow guests to more easily find the many showers and toilets we have available. We are also in the process of replacing any of our older bed frames, such as those that were previously used in your room. We appreciate your feedback - The Bauhaus Staff


Ok hostel. Not much atmosphere. Decor was cool. Breakkie was alright.


There is just one big problem, there is no internet in the rooms.

  • 22nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The Bauhaus is sandwiched between 2 bus stops that each stop at both the market square and the central station but if you want to walk to either (even with luggage) it really isn't that far. The bar has a good vibe even though it's the only place with WiFi and the rooms are decent. There aren't showers on the top floor but finding available bathrooms/showers on other floors isn't difficult. One downside is that you have to pay for luggage storage.


Really enjoyed my stay here. Rooms, beds, bathrooms, bar/reception area were all clean, comfortable and well planned. You have everything you need. I personally loved the location but just note it isn't right in the centre, a very easy walk to the main square though. Atmosphere was a little dull but I think that was simply my timing. Brugge is beautiful and this is a perfect base.


The complimentary breakfast was good and really fulfilling. The place is very happening with a bar at the entrance. Friendly staff made the experience even better. No WiFi in rooms but reception has a good wifi and a nice ambiance and a place to sit and access. The bathrooms and bed were clean and well equipped, a great option for bagpackers.


I had a one night stay here and it was really comfortable. The staff is very welcoming and they have a delicious breakfast menu. A bit far from the station but then in Brugges, nothing is too far. I had a great stay and would definitely recommend it to others .

  • 14th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The receptionist was very friendly.


This hostel was not for me. I found it difficult as a solo traveller to meet people, the atmosphere was not welcoming. The staff are too busy to help you or make you feel at home. The internet is also not available in the rooms, so you must use it in the common area which is often packed and difficult to find a seat in. Because of the large size, I found the people in my room very inconsiderate of noise and woke me up in the middle of the night on several occasions.


Nice hostel in a good location, only problem was Wifi didn't reach the rooms and several of the lockers under the bed were broken. The bar/reception was nice and the free breakfast was really good


Coming for RTW budget backpackers: + Location and price were good. The staff was pretty helpful as well. - Cleanliness. Bathrooms were very dirty, toilets were clogged nonstop both days, no toliet paper, rooms were dirty, showers not good. - Facilities aren't great. No laundry on site, no kitchen, free breakfast was not good (mmm... hardboiled eggs that were rotting). - Walls are paper thin and there is bar below. Police were at the hostel for some kind of domestic disturbance.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback and sincerely apologise for the standard of cleanliness during your stay. We have subsequently reviewed our cleaning procedures and re-trained the staff responsible. There is a self-service laundrette located next-door to the hostel hence us not providing that facility. For breakfast we only use eggs delivered one day prior to their use, which ensures that they are always fresh. Thank you for your comments. - The Bauhaus


AWESOME HOSTEL, great bar with a great happy hour, great common area , met tons of people. Very nice rooms , great location and value. Would come back here for sure!


loved this hotel, staff are fabulous great atmosphere, booked 3 nights stayed 5! thanks for everything


A good hostel with great structure! The only problem was no access to Wifi in bedrooms, only in the bar/reception. But totally reccomend!


nice kitchen.this saves heaps of money (self catering)


Reception dark and dingy, extremely noisy, no towels provided, no lift, only one toilet on the floor had to go upstairs or downstairs to find another toilet. Bed uncomfortable and room needed a painting. Breakfast very poor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. In the evening our staff dim the electric lights and light candles to provide a cosier atmosphere. For guests not staying in ensuite rooms, fresh towels are always available at reception for a small deposit. Unfortunately, due to the traditional architecture of our buildings we are unable to accommodate a lift. We are currently renovating our older dormitories with brand new beds and artwork. Thank you. - The Bauhaus Staff

(234 results)

View all Bruges Hostels

Please give us your feedback