X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Christopher's Inn - Bauhaus Hostel Reviews

135-137 Langestraat, 8000 Bruges (Brugge), Bruges, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
6280 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Loved this hostel! We stayed in one of the older rooms which wasn't great, the lockers were all broken and the room was so cramped but the hostel itself is great. We loved the bar and the 5 euro pizzas, and it is in a perfect place to explore Bruges. And the staff are so lovely!!


86%

No wifi in the room, which was annoying, but apart from that I LOVED this hostel. The bar was full of locals, including one gorgeous black French bulldog who might just be the hottest tourist attraction in town. The rooms were small and the bathrooms not the best, but if you're looking for a fun and social experience then I can't recommend this place highly enough.


89%

It's got everything you want/need out of a hostel. Clean comfy beds and bathrooms. Cool bar which gives the hostel an awesome friendly atmosphere. Can't complain! A short 5-10 min walk to the centre of the city too.


94%

The lack of kitchen was annoying as well as there was no laundry facility. The beds were nice and private and clean.


86%

Good communal area although very old and tables and chairs need a makeover. Good free breaky, but add some yoghurt or fruit! My room was good with pod beds and lockers and own power points and lights with curtains but my friend had a 4 bed dorm with no curtain, no light it PowerPoint and no locker! Wifi was strong in common area but not in rooms which was a letdown. Easy walk into town but other hostels are closer. Good stay, but could be a little cheaper!


80%

Great hostel and great location! Our room was really humid though, with the window open it was great but we had to close it when we went out and each time we returned the room had a foul odour and was extremely hot!


89%

Great time had here. Excellent activities offered by the hostel. Especially the beer tasting and walking tour with Camilla. She was great and so helpful with tips and things to do. The apartment was nice and very spacious and clean. But no wifi in rooms. This would have been the cherry on top!


89%

Great stay amazing staff


100%

It is simply put an awesome place. Dont expect it to be very quiet though.

  • 31st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Hostel had a very nice atmosphere and staff were very polite and helpful. The beds were a bit uncomfortable and the bathroom and showering facilities were small and a bit grubby.


86%

The location is good you can easily walk to the centre of town. Rooms were clean and had lockers for bags, the wifi is only available in the common areas which wasnt too much of a hastle as they were nice and the pub was a good place to hang out.


74%

The look of the hostel is great, and the atmosphere at the bar in the evening is good. I was in a 12 bed dorm so had to walk through 2 rooms to get to mine which didnt bother me, but others in the first rooms werent too happy. The showers and bathrooms were clean but very awkward to use.


71%

The Bauhaus is a cool hostel no two ways about it but come on 1 shower and 1 toilet for at least 20 people on a floor?? The shower smelt really bad and was slimey on the floor. The beds were really comfy though and they have some good events running every night- beer tasting/ pub crawl ect.. The staff were all hilarious and really friendly and the location was great (5/10 minute walk to the main square) would recommend this hostel but just expect to wait for a shower and bring flip flops

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere and events here. Unfortunately due to the unusual layout of some of our corridors guests sometimes miss some of the available toilets and showers. We will review our signage and remind reception staff to explain in more detail where the closest showers to the room are on check-in. Thank you for your feedback, we hope you stay with us again! - The Bauhaus

66%

This was one of the worst hostels we've stayed in. The chill/ bar area was nicely furnished and really comfy, giving the illusion that the rest of the hostel would be the same. The bunk beds were creaky and when we arrived, one of our beds was unmade and had dirty sheets. Male bathrooms were dirty, the whole hostel smelt weird and the showers were bad. The ceiling leaked continually, leaving gross dirt patches on the ground. On the bright side, the free breakfast was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. On rare occasions where guests have been allowed to enter their room before check-in time there is a chance that the bed will not yet be made. We are sorry the receptionist did not inform you, as standard we do not allow early check-in for this reason, but it is sometimes more convenient for the guest The minor corridor leaks were due to unusually heavy storms and have been investigated by our maintenance staff. Thank you - The Bauhaus

86%

Great place. One let down was the smell in the corridor in the second building. Everything else spot on though.

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel is amazing, the atmosphere is great! The only bad thing is that they don't have a free luggage room...


74%

lovely hostel, however the dorms were very simple ... would definitely recommenced spending the few extra euro and staying in one of the rooms with the pods. slightly further out than some of the other hostels but bruge is small and its actually a nice walk! only downfall about the facillities is that there is no kitchen to cook your own food

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback, we are in process of constructing a guest kitchen as we understand that it is a useful facility and hope to have it completed as soon as possible. Thanks - The Bauhaus

94%

Great hostel overall. Slightly out of the way as it is on the opposite side of town as the train station, but in a small town like Bruges that hardly matters. Great beer selection at the bar and very friendly staff. Get a pod bed if you can, they're worth the extra price for the comfort of privacy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the great review, we hope you come and stay again in the future! - The Bauhaus

89%

The atmosphere at Bauhaus suits my style: artistic and rustic. They have a great bar with an extensive menu of beers. I did a walking tour with Niko; he was very friendly and gave good advice on where to go and where to avoid (he also knows the only good chocolate shop). Bruges is such a small place that I think two days is enough here. My favorite thing about Bauhaus was meeting people from everywhere: Morocco, Australia, Argentina, Turkey, and many other places.


74%

Pretty awesome hostel. Atmosphere is good, I wish the bar had a bigger beer selection though, kinda out of the way, but still a ton of fun. One complaint is that the halls in the second building smelled SO BAD. They need to air that out. The rooms were fine though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your review, we're glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and had fun! We were experiencing a slight problem with the city's street drainage that has now been repaired. We hope you come and stay with us again. - The Bauhaus

(154 results)


View all Bruges Hostels

Please give us your feedback